Customer Reviews for

Here Be Dragons (Welsh Princes Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Tired of the Tudors? Immerse yourself in an unfamiliar court!

    This fascinating novel is a must for any lover of court intrigue. It's based on the life of Joanna, the illegitimate daughter of King John. She is married off at an early age to help cement the peace between her father and Llewelyn the Great, king of Wales. Once in Wales, she must establish herself as a wife and a queen in a culture whose rules are quite different from those of England. What follows is as captivating as any romance novel. Even better is knowing that the story, though fictionalized, is based on real people and events.

    "Here Be Dragons" is highly recommended for readers of Philippa Gregory and anyone who likes their historic fiction to be firmly grounded in historic fact.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    Fictional History at it's best

    Read this book at least 3 times. I am from Wales and just loved how the author described the Welsh people and Landscapes, all so true. A really good read into life of the 12th century.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Stunning!

    Beautiful read...simply sorrowful to put it down. (Deep and satisfied sigh)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    Fabulous read!

    This was the first Penman novel I read and it's a whopper. I had serious doubts about it in the first chapter...I wasn't certain I'd be able to keep all of the historical figures straight and my unfamiliarity with anything Welsh made it difficult to follow at first. But as it turns out, after that first chapter, I simply could not put this book down. This is not a cheap romance book, folks. Rather, it is an extremely compelling historical novel in which Penman takes real-life people and fills in the historical blanks (personal details which we have no way of knowing for certain). Her research is absolutely meticulous and where historical mistakes are made, she acknowledges them on her website. Whether you are a medieval historian or just curious about this period of history, Penman will deliver a first-rate history lesson and a great tale at the same time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    A great historical novel.

    This is one of my favorite books. It was great to reread this book. She is a really good and writes historical fiction with the best of them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Couldnt put it down.

    Only read this if you can dedicate the hours it takes to complete the book. It is an amazing time suck. Sadly I learned more about history (minus the authors character liberties) than sitting for an entire semester through Western Civilization pt. 1

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Interesting

    Loved this book, it was so interesting and informative. Never had I realized what Wales went through at the hands of the British--I thought it was just Ireland. It was a book I found hard to put down. I love historically accurate novels and this is one of my favorites.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    Wonderful

    Sadly I never knew much about Wales and now I am fascinated. This story and the entire saga was addicting from start to end. I couldn't get enough. Sharon Kay Penman has out done herself again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    amazing author

    I have been reading historic fiction since I was about 12. Penman has ruined me for any author. She is that great. That fact she uses so very few fictional characters makes her books all the better. I always say she does not romanticize the story, but instead humanizes these people from the past and makes them so alive. I believe they said and did these things she has written. Her woman are so contemporary and vital. The men so human, flaws and all. I hate whenever I finish a book, but love to start the next. Unfortunately, I've read them all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Sharon Kay Penman is an absolute master of historical fiction

    I stumbled upon Sharon Kay Penman's books when looking for historical fiction about Eleanor of Aquitaine. What a find! I am only sorry that I have now read most of her books, so don't have too much to look forward to. She brings the characters and medieval times to life and I have a real problem putting her books down. If you enjoy historical fiction, you will love this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2005

    Incredible

    I saw all those reviews of people who had read this book only three times and well I have read it so much that the book is falling apart. I absolutely think that this is the best book for someone needing a good get away read. The characters are enchanting and their lessons still hold true today.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    OMG!!! what a book.. must read

    After reading the 3 books in the trilogy I confess that I can't forget Llewlyn and Joanna.... What an amazing story...I keep saying to myself "he took her back". I wish that every queen could be so loved. I am ready to read the books again. I did not want it to end. The series is informative and interesting with enough romance to be engaging. What a view of history. You will laugh and cry and talk to yourself and you will love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Penman never disappoints -- another page-turner.

    Penman never disappoints -- another page-turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    Sharon Kay Penman writes a wonderfully rich story. She makes th

    Sharon Kay Penman writes a wonderfully rich story. She makes the scenery come alive. In this story she has made history an easy read. I definately recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Really enjoyed it

    Really enjoyed it. You can tell she researched her material thoroughly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    Highly recommended - a must read!

    If you love rich characters in a historical setting, this book is absolutely great! My wife and I have been reading this to each other and keep saying to one another how much we are enjoying it. Don't pass this book up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Enjoyable.

    I+like+reading+fiction+that+is+based+on+history.++

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Why can't I get this as an eBook

    This was the first of Penman's books that I have read. I have since read and loved them all, but this is my favourite. Have had to purchase this book once because I wore the first copy to shreds from rereading and again when it was lost during a move.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth the read

    I will admit that it took about 75 pages before I started to 'get into' the book but once I did, I could not put it down. I am now wanting to read the other books in this series. Penman does a great job of bringing a history with spare written accounts to life. I enjoy reading historical novels and overall was impressed with her ability to write an intriguing story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What can I say....

    Excellent and I just did not want the book to end. I realize this is historical fiction, but I loved the way Penman developed the characters and I can't wait to read the rest of the trilogy. I find myself googling a lot of the events in the book just to get more background and Penman is always right on target with the historical events. I knew nothing about Welsh history until I started this book, which has caused me to look up more information on the time period and events. I will say I'm glad I read the Penman's Henry and Eleanor of Aquataine trilogy first because it helped a great deal to lay the ground work for the Welsh trilogy and a glimpse of the Welsh history prior to Joan going to Wales. My goal is once I finish this trilogy is to read the rest of Penman's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5