Customer Reviews for

Here Burns My Candle

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

So Good!

Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs was written prior to Mine is the Night. I read Mine is the Night first and FINALLY had the opportunity to read Here Burns My candle. These are two books that I will definitely be reading again. They are written so well and the ch...
Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs was written prior to Mine is the Night. I read Mine is the Night first and FINALLY had the opportunity to read Here Burns My candle. These are two books that I will definitely be reading again. They are written so well and the characters are developed very nicely. It is easy to get right into the story. Liz Curtis Higgs does a wonderful job incorporating historical fiction into her writing. She engages her readers from the very beginning.
As I mentioned in my previous review for Mine is the Night these books do not have to be read in order, however, Here Burns My Candle does set up the next story. It was nice this time to be able to have some of my questions answered and to have more background information for some of the Scottish History. I have read many historical fiction books and it is always nice to view different locations and the history that is present there.
I highly recommend both books!

posted by Kellie4 on December 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

In Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs, you are introduced

In Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs, you are introduced to the Kerr family: dowager Lady Marjory and her sons and daughter-in-laws, Donald and Elisabeth and Andrew and Janet. The story mostly focuses on the three women and is a retelling of the first half of the...
In Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs, you are introduced to the Kerr family: dowager Lady Marjory and her sons and daughter-in-laws, Donald and Elisabeth and Andrew and Janet. The story mostly focuses on the three women and is a retelling of the first half of the Biblical story of Ruth. This retelling is set in Scotland in 1745 during the Jacobite uprising. The family is entrapped in a web of family secrets that destroy the family and bring about major changes in the lives of the characters.

Did I like this book? Yes and no. It honestly wasn’t my favorite. I did enjoy the Scottish setting, as I love books set in Scotland, and the time in history it was set in was interesting. The story line it’s self was interesting and the overall story was well written. But I did find it a bit dry and it certainly is a long-ish book. All of the characters were flawed and that felt more true-to-life than some other Christian fiction where the main character is often too good to be true. Lady Marjory is manipulative and spoils her sons. Donald is a serial adulterer and I absolutely did not like him. Elisabeth is a closeted pagan and long forgiving wife. Janet is self-involved and selfish. Andrew is spoiled. The most likeable is Elisabeth and she does prove to be the “glue” that holds things together as their lives spin out of control, but in regards to Donald, she is a doormat that he walks all over.

I love historical fiction, but honestly I did not enjoy reading this book. From the number of positive reviews, a lot of folks did, but it just wasn’t my cup of tea. I think Liz Curtis Higgs is a fine writer and I may try reading another of her books in the future, but I just had an awful time getting into this one.

NOTICE:
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher, WaterBrook Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

posted by FindingBeauty on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    So Good!

    Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs was written prior to Mine is the Night. I read Mine is the Night first and FINALLY had the opportunity to read Here Burns My candle. These are two books that I will definitely be reading again. They are written so well and the characters are developed very nicely. It is easy to get right into the story. Liz Curtis Higgs does a wonderful job incorporating historical fiction into her writing. She engages her readers from the very beginning.
    As I mentioned in my previous review for Mine is the Night these books do not have to be read in order, however, Here Burns My Candle does set up the next story. It was nice this time to be able to have some of my questions answered and to have more background information for some of the Scottish History. I have read many historical fiction books and it is always nice to view different locations and the history that is present there.
    I highly recommend both books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    A novel rich in historical detail, love and loss

    A novel rich in historical detail, love and loss you will definitely want to read on in Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs. Recently I received Here Burns My Candle to read and review. When I first began the book I was afraid this would not be the book for me. I had trouble adjusting to the style at first. However, after just a few pages the book took me to a different era, a different place all together. Why I love reading it can transport you into a whole new world in only a few pages. Here Burns My Candle takes place in Scotland in 1745. Elizabeth Kerr a Highlander, marries above her standing and marries Lord Donald Kerr. The Kerr family has good standing in society and are ladies and gentlemen who follow the auld ways. Lady Marjory is the head of the Kerr family since the passing of her husband mother of two grown sons Andrew and Donald. Andrew is married to Janet a young lady his mother picked for him. Donald married Elizabeth a woman his mother felt was not good enough for him. In truth Lord Donald may just not be good enough for Miss Elizabeth. The couple struggle with town gossip some true and some not and the secrets Lord Donald keeps from his wife. Prince Charlie and his army of Rebels ride into Edinburgh in 1745. The Kerr family gives loyalty to the King except for Lady Elizabeth. Lady Elizabeth is a Highlander and a Jacobite. She supports the Jacobite Rising, at first hiding this from the Kerr family except for her husband . Her dear brother Simon faithfully fights for the Prince, and it is not long before a shift loyalties take place in the Kerr household. As you read on you are swept up with the battle and the pain families share when their loved ones go to war. You watch them struggle for standing in society , with adultery, and love, grief , forgiveness, and financial set backs. Two women struggling to hold on to what they believe. Your feelings will change about these characters as the evolve in this novel. In truth every character in this story has something to hide. The changes in these women are great in every way. They grow and change spiritually along the way as the story unfolds. Higgs takes her time unfolding the characters and letting you get a good feel for who this family is. You step back into time and follow along with these women. If you like to step back in history into a different time you will enjoy this book. I did enjoy this book I gave it a 4.5 stars rating and would give it a thumbs up recomendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Seventeen century history

    "Here Burns My Candle" is just as good as Mine is the Night. As Lady Marjory Kerr and her daughter-in-law Lady Elizabeth Kerr were leaving the city and their home where Lady Marjory had already had to bury her husband and her two sons were living in the castle with her alone with their wives. There was a loud sound in the night as they were notified that the Bank was bring all the money to hide in the Castle, but Lady Marjory didn't have their gold in the bank unknown to anyone, her husband Lord John Kerr had never trusted banks. She pulled up some boards and got a bag of gold out for their needs and put the rest back in.



    This was set in Edinburgh during the Jacobite Rebellion in the year of 1745. The two sons went to help defend their city, and this left the women alone. But the son Donald was not as he seemed to be, he ran around on Elizabeth, and wanted her to forgive him every time. How many more times could she do this.



    As the uprising begin to come closer to the castle and both sons "Donald and Andrew" were killed the women had to flee and had lost everything Lord John Kerr had earned except what they could sew in the hems of their clothing.



    This book is a great read and I think Liz did a lot of research to go back to the seventeen hundreds to be able to write this book. She seemed to know what she was writing about filled our heard with this history, romance and adultery.



    This book was sent to me by Waterbrook publishing for my review, These opinions are mine alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Almost as good as the Outlander series

    This was a clean story set in Edinburgh during the Jacobite Rebellion in 1745. It was interesting to see the uprising from this point of view, and the struggles with faith during the turmoil were very easy to relate to.

    This novel is well-written and enjoyable to read, but does jump from character-to-character a bit.

    Overall, I'd recommend this to any fan of historical, spiritual fiction, as well as fans of Gabaldon's Outlander series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is quite a story.

    Review by Jill Williamson

    In Scotland, in the fall of 1745, bonny Prince Charlie and his rebel army ride into Edinburgh, intent on capturing the crown. In the midst of this historical event, one family struggles to choose which side to support. Lady Elisabeth Kerr is a Highlander by birth. Her husband, Lord Donald, is aware of her loyalties to Prince Charlie, but if her mother-in-law discovered it, she would be livid. And Lord Donald has secrets of his own that threaten to tear apart their marriage.

    Wow. This is quite a story. Liz Curtis Higgs can really write! Her characters are flesh and blood. I was sucked into their lives and I just couldn't put this book down. The history was fascinating, as was the way the society dealt with what was going on. Even with Lord Donald's terrible secret, I still found myself longing for him to change. I realize that this story parallels a biblical story, and I don't want to give that away or you will know how the story will end. I am happy to report that there is a second book where we can find out what becomes of Lady Elisabeth and her mother-in-law.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A must for Jacobite-era historical lovers

    Here Burns My Candle is a lovely, emotionally intense story about two women: the Dowager Lady Marjory Kerr and her daughter-in-law Lady Elisabeth Kerr. While Marjory's family has always been loyal to the English crown while living in Scotland, and have titles to prove as much, Elisabeth is a Highlander relocated to Edinburgh with her husband. She truly loves her husband and they married against Marjory's wishes, while his brother's wife was chosen for him.

    Liz Curtis Higgs mixes two major plots seamlessly into one. The first is the relationships between family members and how Marjory must come to understand the true meaning of things as they are, away from privilege and cultural rules. Issues of politics, betrayal, loss, and respect plague both women and both handle them from their own perspectives and upbringings.

    The second is the Jacobite rebellion, in which followers of Scotland's own Prince Charles Stuart decide to try to restore him to the throne over England's King George. Higgs has a wonderful grasp of the minds of the people at the time, as to why they followed who they chose. It is a story that can reach easily into modern times and make us consider why we follow who we follow and what happens when politics separate us.

    Beyond that, there is the subplot of Elisabeth's "moon worship" passed from her mother and her learning of the Bible combined with Marjory's Christian raising now tarnished.

    I truly enjoyed the historical facts weaved into the story. There were a few times at the beginning when I felt the writing was a bit stiff and a few times toward the end where things were unnecessarily repeated. There was also a favorite character who seemed to suddenly change too much and did something rather uncharacteristic. Overall though, I enjoyed the read and it kept me pulled in with very nice characterization and plenty of conflict. In fact, I now have to find Mine Is The Night in order to follow Elisabeth into her next phase of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book! I would recommend this to anyone who likes historical, Christian fiction.

    I have been waiting for this book! Her previous series is my absolute favorite so I have been waiting a long time for this book to come out.
    It was wonderful, but I admit not as good to me as the previous books. There really wasn't a plot or story to follow so to speak, so that disappointed. It did get repetitive and so was challenging at times. A lot of it was about the main character's husbands unfaithfulness and it did get old. But Liz Curtis Higgs is a great story-teller so I was engrossed. Her knowlege of Scottland and history is remarkable. I felt like I was transported into the past. Though at times it was hard to follow the history - who was who and fighting who got confusing at times.
    Though this wasn't my favorite it was still good and I intend to purchase the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Higgs Succeeds Again

    Liz Curtis Higgs fans can rejoice. Her newest book, Here Burns My Candle has arrived. No disappointments here; as always, Higgs treats the reader to a marvelous tale set in Edinburgh, Scotland in 1745.

    The reader is immediately immersed into the Kerr family's world, a world laced with secrets. Lady Elisabeth Kerr and her husband Donald live with Donald's mother, the widow Marjory Kerr. Donald's brother Andrew and his wife Janet complete the family in residence.

    Elisabeth, a Highlander by birth and a Lowlander by marriage, has secrets hidden in her heart and past. Donald's secrets are in danger of being revealed, and one of Marjory's secrets is buried under her bedroom floor. But wait! There are other secrets, and they are revealed as the story weaves its way around the events in which these intriguing characters find themselves. Marjory has not completely accepted Elisabeth into the family as Elisabeth's heritage as a Highlander stands in the way. Elisabeth struggles for acceptance and to find true peace in her heart.

    To further complicate matters, Bonny Prince Charlie aims to capture the crown, and comes to Edinburgh as part of that quest. When Simon, Elisabeth's brother, appears on the scene, the plot thickens, much to Marjory's dismay. Will the ensuing emotional and physical battles take their toll on the Kerr family? Of course they do, for it would not be a classic Higgs' tale otherwise!

    Joy and heartache and trials and triumph make this engaging story a pleasure to read. Readers will ponder their own faith, desires, and challenges as they venture forth into this historical tale. Higgs' fans will enjoy this, and new readers may find another favorite author. It's a lovely work of fiction from which we can learn much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    Great retelling of the Book of Ruth

    This is a wonderful book to add to your Spring reading list! I love historical books and this one does not disappoint in its authenticity and detail. This book is a retelling of the Book of Ruth from the Bible, from an 18th century Scotland time and place. What an interesting concept! I was drawn to the book by that alone. I was not disappointed! The characters are very well layered and real. You will be gripped from page one to the very last page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review of Here Burns my Candle

    On the surface, this appears to be a book about a woman, Lady Marjorie Kerr and her two sons and their wives, Janet and Elisabeth. The setting is 18th century Scotland during the uprising of Bonnie Prince Charlie and his subsequent defeat at the hands of King George II.

    This is unlike any Christian historical novel I've read - which was refreshing. The characters are full of flaws and, as a result, very real. There was no large amount of preaching and no "perfect" behavior, although Elisabeth bordered on it at times.

    It wasn't until I finished the book and finally checked things out a bit more that I realized that nagging thought that had accompanied this book while I read it was recognition of the story. This was, ultimately, a re-telling of the story of Ruth and Naomi.

    Beautifully written, filled with sadness but still hope, I'd recommend this novel to anyone seeking out a historical novel dealing with Scotland. A fascinating look at the time period, the class distinctions and what it must have been like to be a Jacobite - along with a message of faith and hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    Here Burns My Candle

    Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs is a fictionalized account of the Biblical story of Naomi and Ruth set in 1700s Scotland. Ms. Higgs has really done her homework. The authentic language and detailed descriptions makes you feel like you are right there. You follow a cast of delightfully drawn characters as they watch the fight for the throne as it happens. You see the shifting alliances, the changes of heart and character and the love that grows between the characters. You feel like you are in Edinburgh watching all the turmoil.

    Don't miss out on the first book in this new series. It's a real page turner that leaves you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1