Customer Reviews for

Here Comes Science

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A TMBG Kids' Classic

    Simply put, if you dug They Might Be Giants' previous kids' albums (No!, Here Come the ABC's, Here Come the 123's) you're going to dig this. John and John give their usual infectious nerd-pop the science treatment and it comes out every bit as interesting as anything Schoolhouse Rock came up with. It does skew older - this is more for the third grade set than the kindergarten set - but it's enjoyable through and through. One caveat for the super politcal or religious: as you might expect from an album dedicated to science, it doesn't give any creedence to the non-scientific. The first song, "Science is Real" gives openly sides with evolution and the big bang, and lumps in angels with stories of unicorns and elves. Frankly, I'm proud to hear a children's album speak so freely - it's what I'd tell my children - but it might be a turn off for some parents.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    I'm at work and I've got a sound in my head. Put words to it - it is Here Comes Science. I love it but I really love that when I turn off the car in the middle of Solid, Liquid, Gas my daughter keeps signing. My daughter asks if glue is a liquid why does it get hard even if it doesn't get colder when you pour it out of the tube. She is only 6 and loves the album. My four year old and six year old are talking about it. They frequently request that we watch the DVD - which was a real bonus.
    Someone asked "Painful music?" but it's TMBG. It is totally them. It is quirky and fun. I like TMBG before but even still I think I would have like this disc set.
    I had to get used to the hipped up version of "Why Does the Sun Shine." I love the correction that follows. I learned stuff, too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    One of my all-time faves

    Been listening to this disc for nearly a year. Catchy and intelligent music that is fun to listen to and dance along with over and over (and my kids, 7 and 10, do listen over and over...) Interesting and thoughtful instrumentation to boot. I consider the DVD a bonus, as the music stands on its own, but the DVD has creative, quirky, and thoughtfully produced animated videos which complement the music (watch some on YouTube to see; try My Brother the Ape). By the way, I'm over 40 and listen to it by myself also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Family Favorite

    This is my favorite They Might Be Giants children's CD. My 5 year old son often has one of these songs "stuck in his head" and my husband and I will sing along with him. Some of the songs have interesting facts in them that my husband and I have never thought of like iron is a gas on the Sun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They Might Be Giants...finally I group I feel comfortable sharing with my child. :)

    My 5 year old daughter loves this CD/DVD combo set, and has learned quite a bit from it. I have always been a fan of They Might Be Giants since I was a teen, so the music along with the clever educational lyrics is just as fun for me. It's also easy on the ears for adults who may not have heard of them or their music before.

    Highly recommended, particularly for those parents who are wanting to give an accurate exposure of science and the scientific method. They even discuss differing theories on the nature of the sun (via two songs) exemplifying the current debate. And Pluto is not considered a planet within the lyrics...but it is explained why.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Beats to Jam To

    They Might be Giants delivers another fantastic CD/DVD for the senses. We love listening to this catchy and fun group who give some great drum beats and tunes that even us adults enjoy. Our two children, 2 and 5 sing all the songs and are provided a little bit of learning fun in the process. Not a bad song in this mix, from some of our favorites like Electric Car and The Bloodmobile, to a really cool song about The Elements. To top it off, there is a great DVD to give the kids a visual experience that goes along with this quirky music!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    We're addicted!

    In our house, our addiction started with the "Here Comes the ABC's" dvd/cd combo. I swear my daughter learned her alphabet from it and my 22 month old is currently doing the same. We then bought the "Here comes the 123's" and found the same results. So needless to say when "Here Comes Science" came out we had to get it and have everything good to say about it. I think my kids are going to know their elements and the difference between a solid,liquid, or gas by the age of 5! Our children were drawn to watching all the dvds everytime we put it them in. We keep the cds in the car and they love hearing the same music over and over again - fortunately as parents we don't mind it either. The music is very catchy and the unique lyrics are amusing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining AND Educational!

    Great music from a great group! TMBG brings pizzaz to science for kids with funky tunes and humorous but informative lyrics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    They Might Be Scientists

    As a fan of They Might Be Giants I'm always in awe of how they can continue to write such catchy tunes while still incorporating cleaver lyrics and this children's CD is no exception. This disc is probably their most enjoyable kids CD to date with Go, ABCs, and 123s under their belt already. Although the CD might be a little top heavy with the better songs appearing in the first half - this is exactly what you would expect from a group trying to gain attention to a new ADD infected generation of kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    "Here Comes Science" Rocks

    My 5 1/2 year old is enthralled by TMBG's "Here Comes Science". He now knows what a paleontologist is, how blood flows through the body, the elements that make up everything around us, and even understands the concept of computer-assisted design. The DVD's animation is beautifully done, very hip, and yet perfectly illustrates the lyrics and lessons of the songs. This album and DVD has spurred his interest in a subject that confounded me in school, so much so that he's asked to be taken to the Bodies exhibit, the New York Science and Liberty Science centers, all in one week. Once there, he found it all very engaging. Thanks, John and John!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Fun

    I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Gift item

    Sent to grandchild as Christmas gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BRILLIANT!

    Very original, interesting and fun to listen to. My kids are 2, 7, and 9 and all of them sing along & think this album is great. It covers LOTS of material my son is doing this year in 4th grade science. Songs have great musical arrangements and are fun for parents, too. A real winner! And, what a bonus to have the DVD, it's hillarious! IF you were ever a Bill Nye the Science Guy fan, you'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another great album by TMBG

    My just-turned-2-year-old loves this album! She sings along with it constantly (mostly in the car), and she has memorized most of the songs already, as well as the planets! (I didn't have those memorized until 9th grade!). She has learned a lot of science for a toddler (for example, the other day she said "Juice is a liquid!" because of the solid/liquid/gas song. I do have to mention, however, that my husband (a chemistry teacher) was a bit annoyed that the song states "Steam is a gas." So he always explains to our daughter that steam is actually microscopic bits of water suspended in a gas..." <sigh>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great disc.

    My kids, and my husband and I, are huge TMBG fans. It is great to find "kids" music that the parents can love too. Wonderful music and the kids have been applying the science lessons to everything they can find. I love the update to the sun song.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A child's CD that parents can rock out to.

    This is another amazing educational children's album that both myself and my 2 1/2 year old son love. The tunes are clever and fun. I am so happy that one of my favorite bands has created something over which my child and I can bond.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    TMBG puts out another great cd!

    This is an amazing kids cd that parents won't get sick of! Fun & pop-filled beats that keep kids singing along too. Check this out if you have any school-aged children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Painful ?music?

    Is this supposed to be music? I'm serious. Is this simply trying to be lessons on science by guys who can't sing? I don't get it.
    The rhythm is off, the melody / harmony is like the cacophony of 1,000 creaking doors. Is this ?music? just used as a way of learning some facts? Is this a form of atonal music? Difficult to listen to. The lyrics are stilted as if to teach a lesson.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2