BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Here Comes Trouble: Stories from My Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Thoroughly Enjoyed

I can reflect on my own experiences after reading Michael Moore's short stories in "Here Comes Trouble." It is easy to identify with his realistic views. Because of his honesty (and tenacity) I think he is a great asset to those of us who have questions that deserve t...
I can reflect on my own experiences after reading Michael Moore's short stories in "Here Comes Trouble." It is easy to identify with his realistic views. Because of his honesty (and tenacity) I think he is a great asset to those of us who have questions that deserve to be answered.

His genuine concern for the common man is unfailing. Thanks for keeping the price of this book within reason, which makes it available to all of us now rather than waiting for a "recycled copy" from a friend.

posted by qwizwizard on September 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

good news

Get a free $5.00 discount code in BN Books! Get in website: loveBN.tk

posted by loveBN on September 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Thoroughly Enjoyed

    I can reflect on my own experiences after reading Michael Moore's short stories in "Here Comes Trouble." It is easy to identify with his realistic views. Because of his honesty (and tenacity) I think he is a great asset to those of us who have questions that deserve to be answered.

    His genuine concern for the common man is unfailing. Thanks for keeping the price of this book within reason, which makes it available to all of us now rather than waiting for a "recycled copy" from a friend.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Highly Recomended- Must Read

    I really enjoyed Michael's book and to tell you the truth I couldn't put it down. To me it was like being down at the local gas station in the 1950's when I was a kid and listening to the stories older folks would tell about their lives and the people they had known and the wisdom I derived from it. It is sad how Michael and his family were treated and I could see things in my own life when I stood up for my beliefs and was put down for it and even some times beat-up for my convictions. When you take a stand for what is right and holy you can be sure the world will hate you for it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Great Book!

    This book is great for veterans and first time readers of Michael Moore creations! The book goes through a great era of time and explains his life through very controversial issues and it is hilarious! The Best Book i have read so far!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    I was amazed.

    I have read all Moore's books but in this one he writes something that goes beyond politics. There is something here to appeal to everyone. Whether you love Michel or hate him, buy the book. You will not be disappointed.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    This Is For My Grandchildren

    Michael Moore's writing reminds me of Jean Shepherd's work; the stories are written in a tone that's naturally funny. However, many of Michael's stories end sadly, and the roots of his activism against injustice and prejudice are evident here. Reading this book was like participating in a great conversation that I didn't want to end. Those who believe that a Christian will act as Christ did will understand and like this book. Ignoramuses who believe in death threats to shut people up shouldn't bother. Michael, I'm sorry you need to have bodyguards, but I'm grateful that you do. At a time when the truth often belongs to those who can buy it on Fox News, you are needed. And my grandchildren will see what can happen if they are not vigorous defenders of human rights.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Pure Michael Moore -- a must read!

    If you ever wanted to know how Michael Moore grew up to be THE Michael Moore so many of us respect and love, you'll want to read "Here Comes Trouble." Each of his very personal stories provides a piece of the whole of who he is. As usual, he minces no words. My husband and I found time, even on our vacation, to read this to each other. In turns we found ourselves crying then laughing then nodding "OK, then, that's why he _______."

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book and great read

    Love Michael Moore, this gets you to know him personally...

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    Very good book. I didn't want to put it down!!

    This book is great if you are interested in biographies and/or Michael Moore. I am a fan of both and have even started to retell the stories to my husband! I like it very much.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    One of the best books by Michael Moore.

    In these series of vignettes Moore reveals unsuspected accomplishments from his early life that are astounding. Between the humor, the pathos, and the excitement of one adventure after another - meeting famous and infamous people along the way - we see how his commitment to social and political reform got its start and its encouragement from both successes and failures. And also along the way, Moore has no compunction about admitting his insecurities and hesitations in the face of a burgeoning reputation as a "trouble-maker" by the established and often arthritic powers-that-be.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    Very good book much insight into our peoples fight for fairness highly recommend

    He tells the story of my childrens generation better than most. It is people like him that lay the framework for change in our country. So many things get swept under the rug be our mainstream media . We need a lot more Michael moores in this country to raise the awareness of what goes on without the general publics awareness. A must read for those who care about our childrens future

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Very interesting and informative.

    Moore reflects on his own life and his altruistic nature from childhood on. Love him or hate him his book tells of his commitment to fairness and his work in being true to that end. He had taken many hits to his personal reputation to help others. You cannot help but respect someone with that kind of passion doing what they believe in. This is someone who has taken action against unfairness even as a teenager.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Written in a very conversational style, the life events Michael Moore writes about are interesting, entertaining and enlightening. He is honest, funny, moving and real. Reading this book, for me, is like reminiscing with a good friend about many shared experiences. I enjoy learning how he became interested in making the statements he does with his documentaries and books. He lives his life from the heart, always striving to stay on the side of truth, even when the choices are pretty hard. He's also honest enough to talk about times he felt he let himself down, and what was learned from those experiences. The book is a fast read, and has plenty of humor, as well as thought-provoking content.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    never forget-and he probably never ate all his peas either

    Michael Moore was wrong. When Glenn Beck mused at length on TV about whether or not to murder him, finally asking himself WWJD,? when Bill O'Reilly considered the topic as well, and when Bill Kemmer posed this directly to Moore, live, on TV, at the 2004 Democratic convention, "I've heard people say they wish Michael Moore were dead,." Michael should have understood they were just expressing their opinion. Not setting off loons in TV ville. . The picture of Michael Moore as a toddler, on the cover, under the title, of HERE COMES TROUBLE is perfect. You should have learned better by now, young man.. After a time, he should have known what to say to Kurt Vonnegut when Vonnegut, who befriended him, wrote Moore was his "hero" and when John Lennon talked to him offering to help.. "You guys are passé. That stuff is gone, that part of my life is over. The ideals of America, the integrity of a person. Forget it. Believing if you are kind to someone they'll be kind to you, that you should be honest and willing to hear the other person. That they should do the same. That you should ask questions, especially the ones they don't want you to ask, see what's happening around you and write it down, read, all of this should have ended when you closed your dorm door for the last time and walked out into the world." He and a friend who needed to move on and let bygones be bygones should not have demonstrated at Bitburg when Reagan visited the Nazi graves. He should not have created a crisis line because of the horrors happening to his friends. When a man came in with a shot gun one night threatening to blow his own head off when Michael Moore was alone there, he should not have treated him like a hurt human being. He shouldn't have saved the guy's life. The guy , like Moore, was a coward. Let him die if he wants to. What would Beck have done if confronted with that? Michael Moore has caused trouble for himself all his life. It was his parents' fault. They were on his side all the way. Imagine. How could he not know this? To become a member of the school board when he was 18 all because he refused to take a vicious paddling is so sadly disrespectful. Of course, if he had listened to people all around him, if he had let others define him, when he received the Oscar for FAHRENHEIT 9/11, all those boos and curse words thrown at him by so much of Hollywood would not have happened.. No one would have keyed his Oscar. Of course he never would have won that Oscar. His film would not have been personally screened by the Bushes. He never would have made a difference in this country by somehow in his soft voice, with logic on his side, won so many millions over to him. He would not have had to hire ex-Navy SEALS to protect him, and they did, such a danger he, defending all those nefarious minorities, and seeing the irony and hypocrisy. But if he had not caused trouble by holding fast to what we all say we believe., this gentle compassionate, decent man would not have been able to touch the human heart as widely as does. PEACE

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2