BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Here I Go Again

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

LOVED THIS BOOK!! Jen Lancaster has done it again! I read this

LOVED THIS BOOK!! Jen Lancaster has done it again! I read this book in 2 days. I could not put it down. I laughed aloud! And, if you haven't read any of her other books, you MUST!!

posted by Bookworm40FL on February 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I have to say from the start that this book would _never_ be pub

I have to say from the start that this book would _never_ be published if Jenn were a new novelist. This is one of the worst books I have ever read--and I'm glad I used our library and spared the expense.

I first want to say that I have been a huge Jen Lancaster fan in...
I have to say from the start that this book would _never_ be published if Jenn were a new novelist. This is one of the worst books I have ever read--and I'm glad I used our library and spared the expense.

I first want to say that I have been a huge Jen Lancaster fan in the past, although my enthusiasm for her writing is diminishing rapidly. This one slid her further down my readability chart.

First, there's nothing original or new in this novel. She reached into her used writing bin and carted out bits of her previous memoirs: recycle, recycle, recycle.

The story reads like a VERY young reader novel with a completely unbelievable plot--there is no way a reasonably intelligent person could suspend disbelief.

The writing is recycled and the storyline is unbelievable. She should go back to memoirs because novels aren't her forte.

posted by alexandria7718 on March 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    I have to say from the start that this book would _never_ be pub

    I have to say from the start that this book would _never_ be published if Jenn were a new novelist. This is one of the worst books I have ever read--and I'm glad I used our library and spared the expense.

    I first want to say that I have been a huge Jen Lancaster fan in the past, although my enthusiasm for her writing is diminishing rapidly. This one slid her further down my readability chart.

    First, there's nothing original or new in this novel. She reached into her used writing bin and carted out bits of her previous memoirs: recycle, recycle, recycle.

    The story reads like a VERY young reader novel with a completely unbelievable plot--there is no way a reasonably intelligent person could suspend disbelief.

    The writing is recycled and the storyline is unbelievable. She should go back to memoirs because novels aren't her forte.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Getting predictable

    I enjoy Ms. Lancaster's books but they are getting predictable. Her heroines are the same, the issues and problems are the same and the resolutions are the same. She needs to break out of this rut and get some new ideas.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Essential Jen Lancaster

    If you are a fan of Jen Lancaster this is a wonderful addition to your collection. An excellent storyline that kept me riveted for two days until I finished the book. If you are not familiar with Jen as an author this book introduces you to her wit and expression before you meet the woman herself in Bitter is the New Black.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Fantastic!

    This book is not profound. There are many other books who share similar plotlines and/or have similar characters. And yet, just like "It's a Wonderful Life," "Here I Go Again" will definately become a guilty pleasure. It gives its lessons in morality gently and under layers of giggles and cringe-worthy moments.

    In a style that is uniquely Jenn Lancaster, "Here I Go Again" will make you laugh, make you cry, and maybe even learn something about the way the world works. And so maybe it is a bit profound after all.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    LOVED THIS BOOK!! Jen Lancaster has done it again! I read this

    LOVED THIS BOOK!! Jen Lancaster has done it again! I read this book in 2 days. I could not put it down.
    I laughed aloud!
    And, if you haven't read any of her other books, you MUST!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lissy Ryder, the gal who had it all, is within a few days shorn

    Lissy Ryder, the gal who had it all, is within a few days shorn of all her glorious toys and relationships. A graduate of a Chicago high school, she came from money, married money, and knew all the right people. Now, she’s just discovered that her mega-buck membership to a gym where only successful, notable people work out is canceled, her credit card is capped, her husband wants a divorce and no one has any sympathy for her at all. Why? Quite simply, she’s a notorious –itch; place whatever negative prefix on the word fits best!!!
    When you have nothing and have no skills to go anywhere with, in spite of thinking she’s the best PR person in town, what does a girl do? Fortunately, she has an acquaintance who rescues her in the form of a magical formula drink that enables her to return to the past, a Back to the Future scenario in which she hopes to redo the past. But is it possible for someone, who has insulted or wounded almost everyone she knew who was decent or who knew only other successful people who have no time for losers, to do it all over and recreate a new future? Lissy is desperate and has nothing to lose, so she decides to give it a whirl!
    But changing the past doesn’t promise precise consequences as Lissy discovers. In her journey that is so funny, albeit silly at times, and yet so sad, Lissy sets about with purpose but learns more about herself than she does anyone else. It’s a thin line between humorous retort and just plain nastiness. The balance is just right, even if the end seems rather contrived and stretches credibility quite a bit!
    In our day where so much importance is put on money, material possessions, reputation and connections, Here I Go Again, is light satire with a potent message that doesn’t get lost in the magical journey of “green wheat juice!” Cute story!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Awesome book, Jen is an amazing author. I went from absolutely

    Awesome book, Jen is an amazing author. I went from absolutely hating Lissy to loving her at the end! I wanted to read it again as soon as I finished.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings If you took the

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    If you took the movie 13 going on 30 and added a little cocktail twist, you would get Jen Lancaster's latest trip to fiction - for me it was one of the best books in her portfolio.  Lissy Ryder is the high school queen who led the rally of the Mean Girls and after a class reunion is regretting a few things that may have happened in the past.  Through an interesting encounter with a classmate she is given the opportunity to rewind the clock a bit and change a few things, will all the changes result in good?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Here I go again

    Once again Jen writes a clever book. I couldn't put it down until finished.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    I really enjoyed the book. It's very smart and funny. I think

    I really enjoyed the book. It's very smart and funny. I think many women can relate to jumping back to high school. Actually I listened to the audiobook read by the author, and she makes the story come alive. This is light read for me, and the second of Jen Lancaster books I read. Quite enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    Hilariously funny You will laugh out loud!

    Jen Lancaster does it again. This book has something funny on every page. She makes her every day life a comedic affair and you recognize yourself in her antics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Good Read

    I tend to like her memoirs better but this was enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    &-&_&69&60&heart&smile emoticon&square&Omega&pi

    Fd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Fabulous

    Love, love, love ANYTHING by sarcastic Jen Lancaster. Makes me laugh out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Sam

    Stands awkwardly to the side

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Jen

    Eric?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    BEACH

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    I loved this book by Jen and hope she continues to pursue her wr

    I loved this book by Jen and hope she continues to pursue her writing of the novels. I love her non fiction books but have also enjoyed her novels.
    You keep in stitches and tears flowing from laughing so hard.Thanks! CathyS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book!!

    This book was so awesome!! I had a hard time putting it down. I loved the story and it was so relatable. The main character is great. This is one of the best books I have read so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Here I go Again! Felt this book was much better than her first!

    Here I go Again! Felt this book was much better than her first! Can't wait for her next book - she is a great author! Couldn't put this book down for long. A funny, light read with some real points in life being taken. Thoroughly enjoyed this book and would highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3