Customer Reviews for

Here if You Need Me: A True Story

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Book Where Gems Fall Like Diamonds From A Mine

Although I thought the fact that the author embraces a much different religious tradition than I do, after a few pages, it became clear, that this was not what the book was all about. I also thought this book would be filled with stories about either the exhilarating li...
Although I thought the fact that the author embraces a much different religious tradition than I do, after a few pages, it became clear, that this was not what the book was all about. I also thought this book would be filled with stories about either the exhilarating life of a minister or a book about pastoral burn out. To assume these as the central themes of the book would be to sell a great book short. This is a book which allows the reader to walk along side the author, as some of the most tragic and heart-wrenching events a person could encounter. To find among the many broken people and heart-rending situations the many gems this books contains made it a book I could not put down. After starting this book, I could not find a place where I could put it down. I read it straight through in the matter of only a few hours. In telling her 'true' story, the author opens wide the doors of understanding, knowledge and experience dealing with people who are facing, will face or have faced what would be best described as probably the most difficult circumstances they will even have to encounter. Demonstrating through her daily experiences, in the course of her day-to-day life, the author applies pulls us into the souls and hearts of the people she must help, while remaining a shoulder to cry on, a ear to listen with and a heart to reach out and offer hope, comfort and reassurance. As the author herself confronts the tragedy of tragedies, the reader is brought into the most innermost part of her mind and heart as she struggles to work through her many emotions. While at the same time experiencing the aftermath with and through her children, the author shows that there is a dawning after the dark. She shows that there is indeed a time to cry and a time to laugh. To see that out of the ashes of nearly complete devastation a ¿new person¿ can emerge, a person with a purpose and a reason to be and a mission to fulfill. I recommend this book for the style of writing, which is first-class the insights and techniques needed to succeed in general ministry, in crisis counseling and when called upon to answer those questions, when asked, for which there are no right answers. From a book I thought I pretty much knew what it would contain, I was very wrong. I was pleasantly surprised at he depth and range of ideas and perspectives this book delivered. This book was an excellent read and one which sneaked up on the reader, dropping jewel after jewel of wisdom opening door after door of new ideas and vault after vault of treasures which can be applied to everyone¿s life, personally, professionally and spiritually.

posted by Anonymous on August 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Mixed feelings about this book.

I think the author is a wonderful woman, who was thrust into a horrible tragedy with small children and strived to make her life, the life of her children and that of her late husband's really matter. That's the part I really liked. The part I have difficulty with is t...
I think the author is a wonderful woman, who was thrust into a horrible tragedy with small children and strived to make her life, the life of her children and that of her late husband's really matter. That's the part I really liked. The part I have difficulty with is that I really feel that the reason she became a minister was basicly to finish something that her husband started. I found some parts of the book, although an honest description of her beliefs and feelings, to be disturbing on another level. It made me wonder how many ministers are there just to tell you what you want to hear, and not what is a true belief for them.

posted by Anonymous on October 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2008

    Very Mixed feelings about this book.

    I think the author is a wonderful woman, who was thrust into a horrible tragedy with small children and strived to make her life, the life of her children and that of her late husband's really matter. That's the part I really liked. The part I have difficulty with is that I really feel that the reason she became a minister was basicly to finish something that her husband started. I found some parts of the book, although an honest description of her beliefs and feelings, to be disturbing on another level. It made me wonder how many ministers are there just to tell you what you want to hear, and not what is a true belief for them.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Not My Favorite

    I'm sure this author is a very nice person. I could feel that she was as she read through her book (I listen to audio books), but by the third c.d. I had enough--this story was just too boring for me. Although I found myself actually looking up some of the words she used because I'd never heard them before, the story never caught my ear or made me want to know more about her life. She did use very descriptive writing and I could imagine being in that place for a moment. I try to finish the projects I start, but I decided this book was just not for me and I shelved it due to lack of interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not a book I would recommend.

    I found the book to be very depressing, despite the authors enlightenment. There was so much death in the book. I did find it interesting to learn about the wildlife search and rescue wardens though. It was not riveting, it was a chore to read.

    If you're looking for something about spiritual growth, I would much rather read something like The Shack.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    This was a really great read! Although not outwardly religious, I find it exciting to read about those who live their lives trying to follow God's plan. For Ms. Braestrup, that involves working as the chaplain for a group of Wildlife Search and Rescue Operatives.<BR/><BR/>This book isn't just about religion -- it's about the author's desire to both follow her heart and honor her deceased husband's dream, and about helping others in the only way she knew how.<BR/><BR/>Very encouraging and uplifting, this is basically just an all-around good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2008

    I keep re-reading this book

    Thank you, Kate, for writing this book. It is funny, wise, poignant, and real. I keep going back and re-reading passages from it, and I love your depiction of 'miracles.' I don't usually read books concerning spirituality, but this is also a memoir and a fantastic narrative, so beautifully written. I generally rely on Book-Crossings to launch and share my books, but this time, I'm going to keep my copy and buy another to give away. Again, thank you for all that you share in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    Warm & Sensitive Approach to Grief and Loss

    I picked up this book after hearing the author's public radio interview on 'Speaking of Faith.' Kate is a talented writer, and her love and compassion radiate throughout the book. As a single parent, I could immediately relate to the challenge of integrating her calling with raising 4 children. Kate sprinkles her storytelling with humor and wisdom. She successfully balances the lighter side of her memoir while writing about the intimate moments of her own loss and her walk with others experiencing personal anguish. I finished the book this morning and passed it on to a friend who recently lost his 21-year-old daughter through a senseless tragedy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    If only we all had her strength and courage.

    This book catches you from page one. You will be comforted by her strength and honesty. She is an excellent writer. Talented woman, strong woman. I wish it rubbed off onto me while I held the book in my hands. Run, don't walk to get this books. cindy c

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    From start to finish, I dont think there was a single point in this book that I didn't find enjoyment in. The first chapter just throws the reader right into the thick of the books heart wrenching, funny, soulful experience. This might come as a surprise to those who know me, because thopse who know me know that I do not have any religious aspirations. I do support religion, however. The reason I loved this book so much 'apart from the fact that my beloved momdog wrote it' was that there was no point at which I felt like the book was preaching. The entire time i felt as thought the message was 'This is what I belive, this is how I overcame, and this is here I stand.' I strongly dislike it when something i read tells me that it is true and the sooner I accept it the better. The entirety of the book just felt like someone putting themself out there for anyone to see, to judge, to learn about, and to learn from, which I feel is the most enjoyable type of literature. Great book, I cant wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    Immediately wonderful!

    I read this book in an afternoon and loved every moment of it. Kate Braestrup has a wonderful knack of serving up real life with her very interesting job, raising four kids without the man she loves and helping those find comfort in the unknown and death. This book should effectively touch your heart and make you realize we are all vulnerable. Her writing is real and I felt as though I knew her instantly. I'm going to insist my best friend put this one at the top of the things she must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    Could barely make it through this book!

    After seeing that this book was getting five stars, I thought it was going to be great. I was highly disappointed and wanted to close it forever after a few chapters. I skipped many paragraphs and found it redundant and boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    I had to give it away!

    After the first chapter of this book, I knew I'd have to give it away to my best friend. It is a moving, evocative, transforming story that must be shared. I have already thought of others to whom I shall give this lovely book! Federal Way WA

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2007

    Wonderful story told in a wonderful voice

    I hesitated before I bought this book on CD. I tend to avoid anything overtly religious - I'm easily annoyed by the too prevelant strident rightousness on the topic. But Kate Braestrup brings a warmth and openness to her story that is soothing and inspiring. Read this book, or listen to it - you won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    A Book Where Gems Fall Like Diamonds From A Mine

    Although I thought the fact that the author embraces a much different religious tradition than I do, after a few pages, it became clear, that this was not what the book was all about. I also thought this book would be filled with stories about either the exhilarating life of a minister or a book about pastoral burn out. To assume these as the central themes of the book would be to sell a great book short. This is a book which allows the reader to walk along side the author, as some of the most tragic and heart-wrenching events a person could encounter. To find among the many broken people and heart-rending situations the many gems this books contains made it a book I could not put down. After starting this book, I could not find a place where I could put it down. I read it straight through in the matter of only a few hours. In telling her 'true' story, the author opens wide the doors of understanding, knowledge and experience dealing with people who are facing, will face or have faced what would be best described as probably the most difficult circumstances they will even have to encounter. Demonstrating through her daily experiences, in the course of her day-to-day life, the author applies pulls us into the souls and hearts of the people she must help, while remaining a shoulder to cry on, a ear to listen with and a heart to reach out and offer hope, comfort and reassurance. As the author herself confronts the tragedy of tragedies, the reader is brought into the most innermost part of her mind and heart as she struggles to work through her many emotions. While at the same time experiencing the aftermath with and through her children, the author shows that there is a dawning after the dark. She shows that there is indeed a time to cry and a time to laugh. To see that out of the ashes of nearly complete devastation a ¿new person¿ can emerge, a person with a purpose and a reason to be and a mission to fulfill. I recommend this book for the style of writing, which is first-class the insights and techniques needed to succeed in general ministry, in crisis counseling and when called upon to answer those questions, when asked, for which there are no right answers. From a book I thought I pretty much knew what it would contain, I was very wrong. I was pleasantly surprised at he depth and range of ideas and perspectives this book delivered. This book was an excellent read and one which sneaked up on the reader, dropping jewel after jewel of wisdom opening door after door of new ideas and vault after vault of treasures which can be applied to everyone¿s life, personally, professionally and spiritually.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2007

    Search & Rescue: Death, Love and More in the Maine Woods

    This down to earth account of one woman's search for meaning will make your heart soar. The author reacts to her state trooper husband's tragic death by becoming a search-and-rescue chaplain for the Maine State Warden service and she recounts the dramatic unfolding of several real search missions and their outcomes. It's funny, reverent and irreverant in about equal measure, and offers everything a good 'and true!' story should have: mystery, drama, pathos, humor, even a love story that begins with the author's four children making a list of attributes that their mom's prospective boyfriend should have. Don't miss it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Recommend

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    I really enjoyed this read

    This is the second book I have read from her and while I enjoyed the first one more, this was excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    loved it!

    only compaints...the author got a little 'preachy' in a couple of places, and it was too short...i wanted to hear more about the searches and missing folks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    Wonderful

    We loved this book. Intimate, real, deeply sacred, compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    A good read

    I definitely thought that the book was a good one to read. It was a good easy read. I finished it pretty quickly with only reading for a half hour a day. There's not really much suspense in the book but it's definitely enlightening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    Great feel good read

    I could relate with the author. At times I had a hard time getting back into the book. Would have liked her to continue telling about her life now!! Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3