Customer Reviews for

Here, There Be Dragons (Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    A Unique and Fun Fantasy Adventure

    I am not a fantasy lover, normally. However, I was able to ditch those prejudices against dragons and magical pirates while reading this fun story. The story is set in World War I England, for one thing, and the characters are based on real literary masters of our world. I had fun picking out the characters borrowed from other stories (my favorite being Captain Nemo) and learn how they had an impact in shaping our history. This story begins with three men, John, Jack, and Charles, who are thrust into a fantastical dimension of this world. They are enlisted aboard the Indigo Dragon (a ship with a life of its own) to help fight the evil Winter King (a man with a striking resemblance to Captain Hook) and keep him from ruling over the many diverse, supernatural lands. John is made the keeper of the Imaginarium Geographica, a magical map of the world. It is a position that has been held by former literary masters, and it is his job to use this map to find out how to destroy it if it falls into the hands of the Winter King, than he will be able find his way to the ring of power, which will, he thinks, make him invincible. James A. Owen seems to borrow character sketches and elements from other works (Captain Hook, Lord of the Rings¿ Ring Wraiths, power rings, etc) but as you continue to read you realize that these seemingly borrowed elements are the reason for this fantasy world. It¿s set in the past so authors of the future actually borrowed from this story. It becomes a prequel of the stories we grew up with. The story moves like any other fantasy novel, sticking to the canon fantasy-lovers have come to expect, but its history of literary figures is what makes this book unique. It is very cleverly written, and my favorite part is the end, when the real identities of the three heroes are revealed. This story is a fast read and doesn¿t contain any offensive material. There is a tiny bit of swearing, mostly toward the end. A twelve-year-old or an adult could read this story, and both would be drawn in to the fast-paced adventure story, and would be craving the sequel to find out what happens to the characters we have always loved.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Amazing Book

    I am writing in reply to a review I read that said the author had not done his research. This review stated many errors that you may find if you had not read the complete series. For instance, this reviewer pointed out that Jack was not given his nickname by his brother, it was his own idea. But if you were to read the second book, you would find that Jack does confess to this fact. I suppose the reason for this review is to remind people not to write off a series due to some inaccuracies. Because, as it is a series, one book (especially the first) has the purpose of opening doors for future books to come. This series is incredible, do not give up on it if you did not like the first book. The series is fascinating and causes the reader to think. You will thoroughly enjoy this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Great Book Overall

    I read this book very quickly. The plot us very quick and at timesit is very confusing. YOU SHIULD NOTE THAT THIS IS A 13 YEAR OLD READING A BOOK WITH ALL-ADULT CHARACTERS. So be aware that my review is from a teenage boy. Overall though, great book, great story, four stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    excellent fantasy!!!

    Good as a stand alone, but sequels work well, too. You will find little tidbits thru-out, referencing mythologies of various cultures, as well aslegends, folklore, refernces to literature (you don't get Bert's full identity till one of the later sequels!), and famous people thru history. Encourage jr hi on up to read and check out anyone they don't recognize. I recognized John & Jack immediately. (smirk)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    By the time I had read the first third of this book, I began for

    By the time I had read the first third of this book, I began formulating an equation in my head to describe the story.  I had to adjust my proportions slightly as I read further, but I was delighted to find that by the time I had read the last page, my equation was justified.
    Here is my equation:  This book, text and illustrations, is two parts C.S. Lewis; two parts Jules Verne; two parts mythology (all mythology); one part H.G. Wells; one part T.H. White; one part Tolkien; and one part Victorian fairy tales and fiction (which would include George MacDonald, J. M. Barrie, Conan Doyle, Dickens, Arthur Rackham and the PreRaphaelites).  And all tied together with humor and a fresh and unique voice.
    Other readers might adjust their numbers, and probably with their own personal bias.  But no matter how the math is done, the parts should add up to a perfect 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Doesn't Live Up To It's Potential

    I was really disappointed with this book. The theme was excellent, the "world behind the veil" was inciting and interesting, the characters had serious potential... but thats just it. Nothing was completely fleshed out or described. This one book alone could have been a series of at least 3 books, but it just left me hanging. I wanted to get lost in this world, but James Owen didn't give me enough details and descriptions to do so. I was so disappointed I will not read anything else from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Super book

    One of the best books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Man only if

    Man only if i could read his other book2 well i am right now he is awsome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Another Great Classic

    I love this book and the whole series! If you like the following authors you will like it too...Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Barrie
    This series reads like the (exciting) classics, and includes mythology, mystery, and adventure in every book. The audio for these books are great as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Search No More, "Here, There Be Dragons"

    This review comes from an avid reader of many fantasy novels. Most of the novels that I have read span anywhere from Lord of the Rings to the Wheel of Time, but nothing, nothing was quite like the journey I embarked upon on "Here, There Be Dragons." James A. Owen has done a marvelous job at producing a piece of work that inspires you to look back and reflect upon certain events in history and to challenge the common point of view placed on such events. Throughout the story you meet many colorful characters spanning from the legend of Arthur Pendragon all the way to modern day characters of Charles Dickens. This novel is a quick read for those of you who are more familiar with lengthy fantasies such as the Wheel of Time, and it is for this reason I believe that I enjoyed it so much. It was such a great change of pace for me that I found myself turning page after page; I NEEDED to know what was going to happen next. With all this being said, the novel stands great as a standalone novel. Upon finishing the book there is no cliff-hanger leaving you to run onto the next in an instant. With that said, if you are looking for a great single fantasy novel that will keep you hooked and interested to the last page, "Here, There Be Dragons" is the novel you have been looking for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Best book.

    Literally i cannot descibe how amazing this book is. It is simply the best book i have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Pretty Good

    An interesting read if you know or have read books by different older authors. (Classic type ones) Three men, John, Jack, and Charles, (whose identity as authors are revealed at the end of the story) are brought to another world by Bert who is Caretaker to an important book of maps. Bert wants to train the three men as Caretakers. They travel into another world where old classics seem to come to life, but in reality, all old classic stories were based on the place. Soon, a villian comes into the story who eants to steal the book and use instructioms inside to summon dragons and become the ruler of the Archipelago (the land). John, Jack, and Charles have to figure out how to stop him with the help of some interesting comrades, including a boy named Bug, Captain Nemo, and a talking badger.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Imagination for Adventure

    Here, There be Dragons is a captivating tale filled with adventure, pirates, kings, elves, talking animals, and, most importantly, dragons. Taking place in England during WWI, three young strangers are swept away into a land of imagination called Archipelago. These strangers-John, Jack, and Charles-become the caretakers of a book known in this magical world as the Imaginarium Geographica. It is a map that contains all the lands but some are starting to vanishing into shadow. With the help from a former caretaker, Bert, they set off to find out what is causing the lands to disappear and to restore order to Archipelago. A long the way, the companions run into some pirates, an evil overlord, a young knight, and other interesting characters.
    I enjoyed the twists that James A. Owen brought to the book and how he made the creatures of well beloved myths to be his own creation. The description pulls the reader in and pulls them through the story. It is one of those stories that is hard to put down, making the reader feel like they are apart of the adventure. I found it to be a fast pace and easy reader, suitable for any age. It is a welcome addition to my book collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Here, There Be Dragons Review

    In England, three men, Jack, John, and Charles, are chosen to be caretakers of an extraordinary world know as the Archipelago. They are the holders of the map of the entire place, the Imagenairium Geographica. With this, the three must go on a life changing adventure to stop the Winter King, and evil ruler trying to take over the Archipelago. His goal is to take the Geographica and unlock its power to summon the dragons for aid in his conquest. Will these three men defeat him, or is the whole Archipelago doomed? This book has a vast amount of positives. I truly enjoy the plot as it uses many allusions from other stories. Most of the characters are from literature stories. I also like the description. It helps me visualize the story in my head so I can see things clearly. Though a very nice book, it also has its share of negatives. For starters, the beginning is VERY confusing. As you get on in the book, things clear up and you then understand. I also didn't like his character's choice of words. They could be saying easier things, but they sometimes say all these fancy words. Other then that, great story. James A. Owen is mainly a fictional storywriter. He has written graphic and fantasy novels. He used 3rd person omniscient for this story. He has a very clear and descriptive writing system that is easy to enjoy. His sentences are usually short. In his writing, I find many different tones. I recommend this novel because it is a great story, filled with action and adventure. People enjoy this story from James's little twist in putting all of these allusions in the novel. At the end of the book, it all makes sense. So if you need an adventure fantasy, go out and try this book. If you enjoy this story, you will LOVE the Chronicles of Narnia. Kind of the same story. Kids go to another world and have to defeat an evil queen trying to destroy and rule. I HIGLY recommend this book if you too enjoy fantasy adventure such, as "Here Be Dragons".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    Dragons are mostly NOT there

    The premise of the book is interesting, with the fantasy worlds of books actually existing somewhere, but the writing does not make one really care about the characters. Then again, I will be reading the rest of the series. (Note, this is at a slightly higher reading level than many currently published fantasy novels with regard to vocabulary and sentence structure.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series

    These books are fabulous. I bought them for my 10 year old. He loves them, I love them, we buy them for presents for his friends and THEY love them.
    Very smartly written books. Wonderful stories. Future classics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    all books should be this awesome

    i just got this book and already i can't put it down with all the fantasy and the adventure. so far the book is awesome.B)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    Great Book to Take You Away.

    If you like The Lord of The Rings, Chronicles of Narnia, or even the Harry Potter books, you will find these books intrigueing. The author has created a world of fantasy and adventure with imperfect characters who sometimes make mistakes, but learn from them and grow. These are books that a parent can read and enjoy and share with their kids. Everyone needs to get away sometimes and a little adventure, fantasy and the occassional dragon is a great way to do it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    A unique fantasy delight

    any jr.r. tolkien or c.s. lewis fan will love this book. why? read the book. you will absolutely love this book. just read it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5