Customer Reviews for

Here Today

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Here Today, Don't Leave Tomorrow!

Ann M. Martin tells a story of Eleanor (Ellie) Dingman, a girl living in the 1960's. Her mother, who is struck by fame, abruptly leaves for New York, where she thinks that she will further her acting career. Now, what does an eleven year old girl do with no mother, a fa...
Ann M. Martin tells a story of Eleanor (Ellie) Dingman, a girl living in the 1960's. Her mother, who is struck by fame, abruptly leaves for New York, where she thinks that she will further her acting career. Now, what does an eleven year old girl do with no mother, a father who is a workaholic, and a younger brother and sister? She takes on the role of her mother. She cooks, cleans, and watches out for her siblings. Hearing about Mrs. Dingman's abandonment of the family, the children at school quickly make the Dingman children outcasts. They are abused verbally and even physically by their peers. Luckily, Ellie has Holly, a girl in the neighborhood also with a single parent. Ellie and Holly become best friends, and fight the torment at school together. This determines Ellie to reunite her family, and she takes a trip to the Big Apple. Although not the quite outcome she expects, Ellie gets the family bond that she had been thirsting for since her mother left. In my opinion, this story is fabulous, and Ann M. Martin has amazing writing talents. One thing I liked was the twist at the end. You are expecting one out of two moods- sad or happy. But most never anticipate that it could end as a mixture of both. Another element of the story that I thought was well thought out, was Holly. I think that if the story did not include Holly, the mood and tone would be very dark and depressing. Ellie would virtually have no friends, and would be alone through her 6th grade year. Everyone should read this book, teens to adults, boys and girls, because it makes you think. It makes you realize how different society was just 40 years ago, and it gives you a better understanding that you are very fortunate to live in the community you do today. I would give this book 5 stars, because it is an exceptional read, and it is written creatively. It is a tasteful book with courageous characters and an interesting plot.

posted by Hannahcpeterson on December 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This is a great story but I thought in the beginning of the stor

This is a great story but I thought in the beginning of the story it was very confusing to understand

posted by Anonymous on February 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Hi

    It took an hour to read. Is a good book. It made me cry.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good book

    This book is really good for people how like historical books. I really like this author. She has such a good taste of words.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    this is the best book

    this is my officially favorite book and i know good books i dont like the preveiw because it doesnt show the excitment and the emotion that this book truly holds i have read it a gazillion times and it is just so good i think everyone would fall in love with it one way or another

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    a reviewer

    Ellie is wonderful. All here life she really has had alot of responsability. Her mom does not relize how lucky she is with the family she has. So..Ellie ends up really taking over the job her mom is supposed to do-be a mother. Ellie cleans, cooks, and cares for her two younger siblings. All this for a tween. And to think.. how the kids at school treat her :( If I was her I would be SO overwelmed. What a brave girl.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    went through the same thing as elinor

    this book made me cry because i had some events happen to me like this.I'd read this book again!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Favorite book in the world!!!

    Loved this book. If you don't like realistic fiction... Dont read this! Loved Ellie and Holly. Love Ann M. Martin!!! Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Anonymous

    One of my favorite books ever!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    Tammy moves to town and Ellie┬┐s mother runs off to become a movie star. Now what?

    Eleanor Roosevelt Dingman¿s life has now been officially messed up. Her mother, Doris, stirs up the town by organizing beauty pageants, parades, and cover girls, with herself as the star. As Doris fusses over her looks and skills, Ellie is caught in a heap of trouble at school. Nancy, Maggie, and Donna, the most popular 'and meanest' girls in school were bad enough, but when Tammy moves to town and joins the group, trouble as it was would now seem like none at all. Tammy preaches to the whole grade that Ellie is ¿weird¿ and ¿the enemy¿. She teaches them the art of ¿slamming¿, so now, wherever she goes, Ellie is plowed over and pushed to the ground. When Tammy has her fill, she snaps her perfectly manicured fingers and just like that, Ellie¿s classmates decide she is invisible. Just when Ellie chooses to tell Doris about her ¿slamming bruises¿ and the unbearable invisible-ism at school, Doris is up and running to New York City to be a star. ¿It¿s where I belong,¿ she says. So now, motherless, Ellie and her brother and sister are forced to give up the things they love to get what they need the most. This book might start off slow and confusing, but it gets WAT better. The situations in this book could happen to anyone, and anyone could relate to it. Watch out, because Here Today is here¿ today!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    This Book Is Great!

    This was an excellent book! I loved it and couldn't put it down. The great story will keep the pages turning and your eyes glued to the pages. I loved and now I'm hooked on Ann M. Martins books!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2006

    a SAD yet HAPPILY SURPRISING book

    this book is full of surprises and is sad. but the main character over comes fear and makes the ending happyer than ever! I'm even doing a book report on this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    One of the Greatest Books I've Read in a While

    I always link Ann M. Martin to the Babysitters Club, and I thought of the series as realistic and great to read. But when I finished reading Here Today, I didn't see Ann M. Martin the same way. I guess it's sort of a shock when you picture someone who's written short, not-exactly-novels-but-good books. And then you read something as touching, realistic, original, and incredible as Here Today. There's no happy ending, but instead a bittersweet one, which is a relief, because the happily-ever-after thing is so cliche. After typing this review, I only have three words for you: read Here Today.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    Here Today

    This was a great book. It was very suspenseful. It was very sad in some parts, but in others, happy. If I do find any other books by this author I will read them. I gave this book five stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    Very good book, Very bad mother

    Here Today takes place in the sixties, when president Kennedy got shot. The main girl is Ellie, whose life is definitly not perfect. An outcast in school, Ellie resorts to the love of her neighborhood, which is not the nicest. Her mother is known throughout the town as an attention- seeking wannabee who will do anything to get her big break. Ellie, who is the total opposite of her mom, must deal with her mom's very important descision. Great charachters and an interesting plot makes this book a must-read and a soon to be classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2005

    Hooking and Beautifully written, it's like a song

    Here Today is unique and a very good book, with many sad things and suspenseful moments, like when all the teachers were crying- I was reading so fast! When Doris decides to leave the family, her choice didn't surprise me, but I thought she was going to win Circus Girl. A lyrical, wonderful book! 10 A 97

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    Best Book Ever

    This was an amazing book. I have to say, I didn't think I was going to like it that much. Our class needed to pick out a 'realistic fiction' book, and rushing out I grabbed this one. It turned out to be great. Not only was it funny, but a great plot and character descriptions that are short of supply in most books. Characters will take a place in your heart almost instantly. The plot was magnificent, and you could almost feel the emotion in every character. People can really relate to what goes on in this book, and maybe not from personal experience, but from things they've heard about or know about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    NOT A DISAPOINTMENT AT ALL!

    This was so good! It was 'moving' and it took me 2 days to read-that's all. It is SOOO good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1