Customer Reviews for

Here And Now

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2006

    You Have Got To Be Kidding.

    I am an African American Librarian and a voracious reader over 40 years of age. I have read countless novels. This was one of the worst books I have ever read. Unless you are just beginning to read novels there is NO WAY that you could think this book was so spectacular. Except for the mother, the characters spoke like they didn't have a clue. Raquel and her infertility drama had me nauseated at every turn. I kept hoping that her husband would leave her. Nick's anursym was unbelievable. Sharon's death was so not real that I didn't shed a tear, especially when Raquel and Marcella were having lunch and Raquel tells her how 'lucky' she is that Sharon thought about leaving everything to her, the mom and the kids. Excuse me, but the girl is DEAD and all you can say is how lucky your sister is to have her money, furniture and a new car. This was a waste of time. I will give Kimberly Lawson Roby another shot by reading another one of her books because I refuse to abandon the sister altogether.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Exactly Outstanding...

    Truth be told, I could not even finish this book. I tried over three times but to sate ny compulsion of knowing how it ends, I just flipped to the end. I was severely dissapointed. The writing did not attract my attention at all and the characters were unbelievably gray, no color. I wish I would've known before I selected this book to read. I hope the next book I choose from a selection of Kimberla Lawson Roby's writings, is much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Excellent

    I have read several of her books and all of the books that I have read of hers were excellent. This book was very good and I would recommend it to others. She is a very good writer and I look forward to reading more of her books to hopefully come in the future she is my favorite author!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    Excellent

    By the end of the book, I felt like one of the sisters. I cried for them when they lost loved ones. I laughed with them when they triumphed, and I yelled with them when they were angry. I loved this book and every other book Kimbra has written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    GREAT

    I had this book for the longest and decided to read it after I read her others. I am like the rest of the views. I cried, laugh and then some...EXCELLENT

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2004

    THE BEST BOOK I'VE SEEN

    THIS BOOK IS SO FULL OF EXCITMENT,DRAMA AND JUST THINGS PEOPLE DEAL WITH EVERYDAY I LOVE HOW EVERY THING PLAYED OUT AND I LOVE HOW KIMBERLA MADE SEEM SO REAL WHEN I READING THE BOOK IT SEEMED IF AS I WAS RIGHT IN THE RM AND I WAS MARCELLA AND PLAYING THE PT I JUST CAN'T GET ENOUGH OF THIS BOOK I'VE READ IT OVER AND OVER IT'S JUST THAT GOOD AND EVERYTIME I READ IT GETS BETTER AND BETTER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2004

    OUTSTANDING

    SHE IS THE GREATEST! I LOOK FORWARD TO READING ALL OF HER BOOKS PAST, PRESENT AND FUTURE. I CAN READ THEM ALL OVER AGAIN AND AGAIN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2002

    I enjoyed this so much I went out & bought Cast the 1st Stone

    I liked the story line being about everyday people and the traumas/dramas of their lives. After all what is more exciting than everyday life! I appreciated that there was no 'brand name' dropping. Through Marcella's life you heard of some of the difficults of single parent hood on a limited income (imagine not being able to take your child to the dr! here in the richest country in the world!) Through Kevin and Racquel you hear of the ups & downs of marriage and the toll that differing values can take. But through it all there was family and friends and in the final analysis isn't that what it is all about?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    depressing

    what author kills everybody in the book, okay only three people and a breakup, and a two no good fathers. so depressing i hated the way it ended the book keeps you going only for hope but gets worst. all the bad luck was unbelieviable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2001

    absolutely wonderful

    this was the best book i have ever read. i couldn't stop crying. in my opinion this beats anything by terry mcmillian or eric jerome dickey. kimberla really knows what she's doing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2001

    Sisterhood to the tenth power!

    The story line in this novel never failed. At each turn there was family, loyality, struggle, depression and a struggle to keep hope alive. This one is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2000

    A One day book

    This book was so great that I read it in a day and a half. The book really made you think of life and the way that things really happens, in everyday life. I laughed and I cried. I had to pass this book down to all of my friends so we all could laugh and cry about this wonderful book. This was the first book I read by this author and now I have read all of her books. I can't wait until her next book becomes available. Keep up the excellent work Kimberla Lawson Roby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2000

    EMOTIONAL

    THIS IS A MUST READ BOOK FOR SINGLE MOMS WHO THINK THEY CAN'T MAKE IT. LIFE IS A STRUGGLE FOR US ALL BUT WE ALSO MUST REMEMBER TO NEVER GIVE UP. REMEMBER TO GET THE KLEENEX. I HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2000

    OFF THE CHAIN

    I loved this book. I loved the way Marcella and her friend stuck together. The relationship they had was just awesome. If everyone could have a true friend like that, what a better place this would be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2000

    SO REAL ... HIT HOME

    Great story.. But it really hit home when Nick had an anurysm. I knew where she was going when his symptoms were written, since I to suffered a brain anurysm 2 years ago. Thank God I was fortunate and survived this almost always killer. I cried while I read this story in the Jury Lounge and had to go to the ladies room to regroup. Great Book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2000

    Here and Now

    THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ.KIMBERLY LAWSON KEPT ME READING TO THE VERY END TO SEE WHAT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN.THE RELATIONSHIP THAT THE MAIN CHARACTER HAD WITH HER BEST FRIEND WAS BEAUTIFUL. THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2000

    Excellent

    Here and Now was an excellent book I believe Kimberla Lawson is on her way to the same rankings as Terry McMillan. I thought the book was kind of sad and it had so many twists and turns that I couldn't help but to grab a tissue and I couldn't wait to pick it up again. The only thing that I did not like was the way the story ended other than that I can't wait to read her next piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2000

    Here and Now

    THIS BOOK WAS ABOUT A LOT OF COMMON STUFF THAT EVERY DAY PEOPLE GO THROUGH.BABY DADDY DRAMA,CHILD SUPPORT AND STRUGGLING WITH A JOB.BUT THIS BOOK STARTED OFF SLOW BUT KEPT YOU VERY INTERESTED AND WANTING TO SEE WHAT THE ENDING WAS ALL ABOUT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    Could Have Been Better

    Good story, but had slow start. Felt like I was starting in the middle of a soap opera with no exposition or explaniation of character's actions. Author has potential but needs to research her material and develop characters a little more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2000

    OUTSTANDING

    OUTSTANDING, A MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2