Customer Reviews for

Here on Earth

Average Rating 3.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    Morose Without Redemption

    Disappointed with this book. Had high expectations. A little Wuthering Heights but in reality I could no more sympathize with the main heroine than I could with the hero.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Have to agree with the previous post

    I was getting into it until around the middle when it turned into Wuthering Heights. Pretty much the exact same story.... really is there nothing else to write about?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    Beautiful....as are all of Alice  Hoffman's  amazing, magical bo

    Beautiful....as are all of Alice  Hoffman's  amazing, magical books are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Disturbing and thought provoking

    First rate story. Beautiful prose

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Love this book!

    This exceptionally well written book is an update of Wuthering Heights with a twist. It is the story of March (CATHY) returning to her hometown after being in California for many years. Once home, she meets up with Hollis (HEATHCLIFF). Will she embrace her second chance at a first love?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Just ok

    Just ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Not her best

    But good for some mindless reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Not a fan

    This was the first book that I read by Alice Hoffman. I haven't decided yet whether it will be my last. Usually a book that was on the Oprah book club list is a homerun. I did not care for this book. The charaters were weak and pathetic. The storyline didnt flow and there were a lot of "dead ends" to several plots. The particular edition that I read contained both spelling and grammatical errors.I may give something else of hers a try. Perhaps something newer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    I love this book! I totally recommend it!

    I read this book when I was 14 or 15 yrs. young, (: I've always enjoyed reading, but for some reason I couldn't close this book. I would read to late hours of the night under my sheets with a hand flash light! When my husband got me my nook the first book I ever bought was this one! Great job to Alice Hoffman!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    give me a break-

    wuthering heights is the original and much better done-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Heartbreaking love story

    Makes me think of a modern take on Wuthering Heights.. except the characters are a lot easier to like and relate to in this book. I loved every part of this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    modern day version of Wuthering Heights

    This book is great for young people that would not understand or appreciate Wuthering Heights. Almost everything from this story is taking from Emily Brontë. The only difference being the ending. If that romance ended differently, this is how it would have ended. I bet this would be great if one was going to compare the two in a book club or in a school setting. So, if you were upset about how Brontë ended her novel, then pick this up and give it a go. I enjoyed it but it just wasn't original.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    A Creative Passionate Novel ****

    Alice Hoffman,the author of Here on Earth really grabs you by her moving novel and first she touches your emotion by ger character March, who is in her late 40s, and going back to her past by taking a trip to her old town Fox Hill where she grew up. March is attending a furneral of a dear friend, Judith Dale who, took care of her when she was growing up. She brings along her daughter Gwen, who at the time is a teenager or should I say a rebellious one at that.<BR/>This is a powerful story of March's journey into her past and her connection with lost friends while embracing a love that was somehow buried inside of her, however it would soon turn into be a serious encounter that would also change her in a way she would never dream of.<BR/>Gwen would also be changed by her mothers decisions, and she would discover a passionate romance that would make her reflect on her old ways<BR/>and, meanwhile a husband and father wait in California for the outcome of these events of, his wife and daughter returning to Fox Hill.<BR/>These cahracters lives are teansformed by this event which brings love and sorrow with it, yet this story had me at the end of my seat with the reflective and imaginative tone. Here on Earth will leave you in the end with a bizarre twisting turn that with spark your minds curiosity a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Different

    This book was interesting. However, I couldn't connect with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    Real Life

    I was bored At lunch when I was at work, The book caught my eye so I started reading it and couldnt put it down. I could relate with March because Im in my fortys and think about past loves and also have a fifteen year old daughter with the same attitude. I think March should of put her daughter first but she didnt and look were it got her. The book just proves there is romance after 40. I just loved it!! and so do my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    A Fan and avid reader

    I found this book on accident. I couldn't put it down. March and her lover were real. Most people in real life are selfish. It's a 'be careful what you wish for story'. I loved it and now I'm a big fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    Hated it!

    I have never read Alice Hoffman's work before, so I'm not at all familiar with it. But... I hated this book! The main character, March, is one of the weakest, most selfish characters I have ever come across in a novel. I just wanted to shake her and tell her to get over it already! The only reason I gave it one star is because I thought that the subplot with the daughter was interesting and the only reason I even finished the book (aside from hoping that maybe, just maybe, March would wake up and stop being so idiotic!) was to see what happened to her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2005

    good story but dumb characters

    The story is okay, passable which still made me turn the pages. The problem here are the characters, they're all selfish. March is a character that you would want to knock in the head, she lets herself wallow in her lust rather than giving importance to the family that she has. Gwen's character is centered on knowing herself, she doesn't even mind to stop her mom from ruining their family, she doesn't even showed a slight hint that she cared for her family. It's sad because there are really family who suffers in this kind of situation but I think those ones are just people too selfish to think of others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    'Wuthering Heights' Rip-Off

    Save yourself the time (and agony) of plodding through this book with it's annoying, unlikeable characters and read 'Wuthering Heights'. There is no imagination or talent here. The author simply took a classic piece of literature and ruined it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    Great book!

    I love Alice Hoffman. I think she is an outstanding author with a unique writing style. I love all of her books and this one was a book I was unable to put down. I really recommend this book to anyone who loves to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5