Customer Reviews for

Hereafter (Hereafter Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

great

I love reading this book. It has a story that will keep you entertained for a few hours

posted by laura24 on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Well-written

I've grown somewhat weary of the paranormal romance books because they all tend to read the same, but Tara Hudson has a fresh voice. The story was at times predictable, but the writing flowed so well, and the characters were so believable, it kept me hooked. There is pl...
I've grown somewhat weary of the paranormal romance books because they all tend to read the same, but Tara Hudson has a fresh voice. The story was at times predictable, but the writing flowed so well, and the characters were so believable, it kept me hooked. There is plenty of romance here for all you die-hard romance fanatics, and just enough supernatural tension to keep the story interesting. One particular aspect that kept me reading was that we learn about Amelia's past as she does. It didn't feel rushed, or drawn out. I had some problems with the instant romance that blossomed between Josh and Amelia, as well as his immediate acceptance of her being a ghost, but it was forgivable. All in all this is a descent read and I would recommend it to any fan of paranormal romances.

posted by OtotheD on May 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I love reading this book. It has a story that will keep you entertained for a few hours

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Books to the Sky Reviews: Great mystery!

    There was so much mystery in this book, I seriously couldn't put it down. I HAD to know what was going on in this story and it kept me glued to the book.

    Amelia has no idea who she is. All she knows is that she's dead and she hasn't seen another dead person in a long time.

    As the story goes on more and more of the mystery surrounding Amelia comes to the surface. Josh seems to be the one triggering Amelia's memories, or at least helping her start to uncover them.

    I don't want to give away too much of the book, because I want people to read it. But I will say this, my heart hurt for Amelia and I was angry at the fate she was handed.

    This is the first book in a series (from what I can see on Goodreads there will be 3) and I will most definitely be reading the rest of the series to find out what happens.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    Well-written

    I've grown somewhat weary of the paranormal romance books because they all tend to read the same, but Tara Hudson has a fresh voice. The story was at times predictable, but the writing flowed so well, and the characters were so believable, it kept me hooked. There is plenty of romance here for all you die-hard romance fanatics, and just enough supernatural tension to keep the story interesting. One particular aspect that kept me reading was that we learn about Amelia's past as she does. It didn't feel rushed, or drawn out. I had some problems with the instant romance that blossomed between Josh and Amelia, as well as his immediate acceptance of her being a ghost, but it was forgivable. All in all this is a descent read and I would recommend it to any fan of paranormal romances.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    This Book Is a MUST read!!!!!!!

    OMG I love this book and instantly fell in love with it right after i read the back of it. It's amazing how Tara Hudson turns a ghost story into an amazing love story!!! I would highly recommend it!!!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    One of the BEST books I ever read!!!!!!!!!! You must read it

    This book is about a ghost falling in love with a human and can only touch,feel,or even move HIM and nothing else. Both of them go on a quest to find out who killed the ghost and who the ghost even is!!!! But there are also people who want the ghost too...

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    I love books that jump right into the center of the action, and this one did just that. Amelia is waking up to her nightmare of drowning, only she drowned long ago. This time someone else is drowning and she is able to save him. This starts a relationship between a ghost girl and the boy she was able to save from a similar fate.

    Let me say that I really liked Joshua from the outset, and although I did like Amelia as well, Joshua captured my heart a little because he was so eager and open. I don't typically see that in the books that I read. Amelia was a mystery for a good portion of the story, only because the reader was left to discover Amelia's circumstances as Amelia discovered them. I find myself liking that the author chose to do it that way. She kept Amelia's origins and backstory a secret from even Amelia and then let her discover it a little at a time. This definitely kept my interest, helped out by the fact that Joshua is there with her trying to help her find out who she truly is and to help keep her safe from...

    Eli. He was a good villain. He was evil, but had human motives that made him real. Although I felt sorry for him at times, I nevertheless rooted for his defeat so that Joshua and Amelia would be safe.

    If I had any complaints at all about the story, I would say that the romance fell a little flat for me, only because I felt the author rushed things too much. I would have liked to have seen the relationship develop a little more. Joshua seemed to be smitten a little quick for me, and I wasn't sure if I liked that.

    All in all, however, this was a really good and entertaining book that I really enjoyed reading. Kudos to first time YA author Tara Hudson. I look forward to seeing what's up next from this new talent!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Best Ghost/Love Story EVER

    I loved this book and couldn't put it down! The mystery made me anxious. Every time I turned a page something exciting happened!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    A little slow....

    It took me pushing through the first 100 pages or so until the story picked up and then had a very flat ending. Won't be rereading this one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK

    This book is so good and keeps you reading. It is cute and suspensful. I loved it and finished it in one day. I would highly highly highly reccomend this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Wow.. this book is blowing me away

    Do yourself a favor and buy this book. I'm halfway through it and i was in love since the first page. It was so hard to put it down. Hudson writes beautifully and descriptively, and she really just pulls you in to this Hereafter world. I fell in love with the main dead girl, Amelia. She's dead, can't remember the past too much, and its a story of her fighting from submitting into evil and darkness and fighting to remember herself and who she was before she died and struggling to stay with the guy she loves, the only person who really woke her up from her fog of death. Beautiful. Worth every penny.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It is an OK read!

    Amelia is a dead girl who saves Joshua from drowning. He can now see, talk and touch Amelia. Joshua helps Amelia navigate the memories she can't remember from her life.

    Amelia is unable to do most ghostly activities. She can't affect the physical world or pass through objects. She relies on Joshua to open doors, turn pages of books, and drive her places.

    This is a story of girl that meets a boy she can never have. She is dependent on this boy and gives little to nothing in return.

    I found this story slow to develop. The ending was not satisfying either.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Heartfelt and heart-pounding - Loved it!

    Hudson's version of the afterlife was very imaginative and unique. The ghost world was a strange place filled with secrets, hopes, desires and sadness. Amelia had no memory of her life before death. She had no identity. I loved every moment that I shared with Amelia. She was an unforgettable ghost, wandering around the river and the bridge, watching. She has never been seen, touched and heard until Joshua came. As she matured as a ghost, she noticed changes in herself that would help her understand the life she had, her death and her future.

    Amelia's relationship with Joshua was full of life, hopeful yet heartbreaking. Amelia felt alive when Joshua noticed her. He was the first human to do so ever since Amelia woke up. Together they tried to put together the bits and pieces of Amelia's life. Joshua was gorgeous. He was thoughtful, sweet and understanding. He was into sports and he was the kind of guy that got the attention of girls in his school. I was thankful that he was unlike other male main characters. He had a natural humor that was really endearing.

    Hudson's writing was amazing, beautiful and breathtaking. I found myself sucked into Amelia's world, hypnotized by her story. Amelia's narrative was easy to adjust to. Her musings were interesting and never boring. She had so many questions that a terrifying fellow ghost, Eli, could answer. Eli has been around for a long time. He knew things about Amelia - things that Amelia herself did not know. But more importantly, could Eli be a friend or an enemy? My heart ached for Eli. He had his own past, his own losses and his unattained desires.

    Joshua's town reminded me of the Gatlin of Beautiful Creatures, a town with secrets. The only difference was that there was a higher mortality rate in Hereafter. The dead could not seem to leave the living alone. When Amelia's freedom and future hang by a thread and by Eli's word, could Amelia save herself with the help of Joshua and make sure that no one else gets hurt?

    Hereafter has the charm of Before I Fall and the sweetness of Shiver, a tantalizing story in a dark, frightening world. I loved every page of this heartfelt, heart-pounding, heartbreaking novel. I highly recommend this to fans of paranormal romance!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Loved this book!

    The entire story was wonderfully written, I enjoyed every second of this book, I wish there was more!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Blank

    I found this boring. I didn't even finish because I got so tired of it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Not amazing

    Didnt hold my attention a lot. Nothing special.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Book lover

    This is an amazing story of life and love after death. It tells of Amelia's struggles after she died. She tries to find a way to stay with her human love, Joshua Mayhew.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    BookWhisperer Review: Hereafter by Tara Hudson

    Tara Hudson debuting novel offers a must read for 2011. Hereafter is a unique story about a young girl struggling in the hereafter. When she finds herself face to face with a young man living her same terrible death; her immediate reaction is to save him from the tragic ending that her life met. Incredibly this story is like nothing I have previously encountered in other paranormal novels. Regretfully, I have to admit to a feeling of abruptness in this book. While Hudson is a very detailed writer I found that some aspects of the book felt more pushed than I would have liked. For example the budding relationship of Tara and Joshua is very intense, but the initial feelings did not seem to flow effortlessly. On the other hand Eli is a truly terrifying character, and the author's description was justly portrayed for the reader to feel this emotion clearly. Over all the story carries a very urgent feel of impending doom, with Joshua Grandmother and Eli's possession issues, the reader will be carried through this book of suspense easily. In wrapping up the conclusion leaves the story on a cliff hanger that will leave readers wondering about what it to come. Tara Hudson has offered a bag of tricks with this incredible story. Readers will finish wondering what will come of this talented author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    AMAZING!

    I could not put this book down. I've always thought, if a book doesn't capture me in the 1st Chapter then I can't stay with it. This book captured me at the 1st page. I was so happy when I got to the end of the book and found out there was another book and that the story continued. I'm going to recommend this book to all of my friends. It's worth the investment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    This book is one of my favorites! I finished it within 2 days an

    This book is one of my favorites! I finished it within 2 days and Arise is even better!! You MUST read both of the books!:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Ordinary...

    Hereafter was just an okay read. The progression was slow and not much was resolved beyond the main antagonist being conveniently dealt with. Amelia and Joshua seemed to fall hard for each other in the time span of what, 2 weeks? The imminent threat Ruth posed to Amelia dropped without revisitation upon Jillian being saved. The plot of ghost and seer falling in love was rushed and underdeveloped. Overall it was an ordinary easy read; there's nothing spectacular about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12