Customer Reviews for

Hereafter (Hereafter Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 236 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

great

I love reading this book. It has a story that will keep you entertained for a few hours

posted by laura24 on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Well-written

I've grown somewhat weary of the paranormal romance books because they all tend to read the same, but Tara Hudson has a fresh voice. The story was at times predictable, but the writing flowed so well, and the characters were so believable, it kept me hooked. There is pl...
I've grown somewhat weary of the paranormal romance books because they all tend to read the same, but Tara Hudson has a fresh voice. The story was at times predictable, but the writing flowed so well, and the characters were so believable, it kept me hooked. There is plenty of romance here for all you die-hard romance fanatics, and just enough supernatural tension to keep the story interesting. One particular aspect that kept me reading was that we learn about Amelia's past as she does. It didn't feel rushed, or drawn out. I had some problems with the instant romance that blossomed between Josh and Amelia, as well as his immediate acceptance of her being a ghost, but it was forgivable. All in all this is a descent read and I would recommend it to any fan of paranormal romances.

posted by OtotheD on May 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    Well-written

    I've grown somewhat weary of the paranormal romance books because they all tend to read the same, but Tara Hudson has a fresh voice. The story was at times predictable, but the writing flowed so well, and the characters were so believable, it kept me hooked. There is plenty of romance here for all you die-hard romance fanatics, and just enough supernatural tension to keep the story interesting. One particular aspect that kept me reading was that we learn about Amelia's past as she does. It didn't feel rushed, or drawn out. I had some problems with the instant romance that blossomed between Josh and Amelia, as well as his immediate acceptance of her being a ghost, but it was forgivable. All in all this is a descent read and I would recommend it to any fan of paranormal romances.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    I love books that jump right into the center of the action, and this one did just that. Amelia is waking up to her nightmare of drowning, only she drowned long ago. This time someone else is drowning and she is able to save him. This starts a relationship between a ghost girl and the boy she was able to save from a similar fate.

    Let me say that I really liked Joshua from the outset, and although I did like Amelia as well, Joshua captured my heart a little because he was so eager and open. I don't typically see that in the books that I read. Amelia was a mystery for a good portion of the story, only because the reader was left to discover Amelia's circumstances as Amelia discovered them. I find myself liking that the author chose to do it that way. She kept Amelia's origins and backstory a secret from even Amelia and then let her discover it a little at a time. This definitely kept my interest, helped out by the fact that Joshua is there with her trying to help her find out who she truly is and to help keep her safe from...

    Eli. He was a good villain. He was evil, but had human motives that made him real. Although I felt sorry for him at times, I nevertheless rooted for his defeat so that Joshua and Amelia would be safe.

    If I had any complaints at all about the story, I would say that the romance fell a little flat for me, only because I felt the author rushed things too much. I would have liked to have seen the relationship develop a little more. Joshua seemed to be smitten a little quick for me, and I wasn't sure if I liked that.

    All in all, however, this was a really good and entertaining book that I really enjoyed reading. Kudos to first time YA author Tara Hudson. I look forward to seeing what's up next from this new talent!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    A little slow....

    It took me pushing through the first 100 pages or so until the story picked up and then had a very flat ending. Won't be rereading this one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    To whom may concern: here is my rate and review on the novel titled Hereafter

    To whom may concern: Goodmorning, here is my rate and review on the novel Hereafter. I enjoy this book a lot it remind I Of Meg Cabot books the medater exaped darker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amelia doesn’t remember her past. She can’t remember

    Amelia doesn’t remember her past. She can’t remember her last name, who her parents were, when she died, how she died … She only remembers that she died in the river underneath High Bridge. And then all that changes when she meets Joshua –

    Hold up a second. Does this sound like deja vu? I mean, maybe not exactly, but don’t you think it’s a little cheesy that everything starts piecing together once — ooh — the hot love interest walks in? Very Twilight-esque, I’d say. Or maybe just corny.

    But, believe it or not, Hereafter is actually pretty unique. Maybe I’m just saying that because I don’t read that many ghost stories, but at least it isn’t the same old, same old. The plot is actually decent; instead of focusing entirely on the romance of the story, it’s put off a little bit to the side. Instead, the plot focuses on how Eli, another ghost who wants Amelia to help him capture souls, pursues Amelia, trying to convince her to be his apprentice. In fact, he wants to convince her so badly that he might capture her and banish her to become just another of his little minions if she doesn’t.

    I wasn’t the biggest fan of Amelia though. I adore kick-butt heroines, and though Amelia was pretty strong-minded, she wasn’t kick-butt. Which disappoints me greatly. (Spoilers for this next sentence.) I know, I know, she broke High Bridge with her mind and could glow like a firefly, but she didn’t know how she did it. And that rules out “kick-butt.”

    And Joshua … Joshua irritated me. He seemed like just another Marty Stue, just another pretty boy who falls in love with the pretty girl. That bores me. I mean, I could find nothing wrong with his character! And though most people would shout for joy for finding someone like that in real life, that’s not the case in books. ‘Cause it’s not realistic. Or, well, realistic even with ghosts.

    But if you want to know who my favorite character was … it was Ruth. No offense to Amelia and Joshua, but any grandma who can see ghosts — and exorcise them — is pretty awesome. (Now that’s a kick-butt grandma.)

    Hereafter was a haunting love story with a sappy romance, but the intriguing plot — though not perfect — made up for it. I wouldn’t say that I absolutely adored it or loved it, but I generally enjoyed reading and watching as Amelia discovered her past … and her future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Hmmmm

    Ok, its a cheap book so one can expect crappy writing but if you need something to read, this will keep you distracted for awhile!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Easy supernatural read.

    Sweet and sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Good read if u just can't find anything else

    Its a good story but its one of those wanna be stories. U know the ones trying to be just as good as twilight. Forbiden love, mistical creature ad such. Its all been done before

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    I enjoyed it

    I liked and couldnt put it down at times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Not bad.

    It was a pretty good book but I think one of my teenage daughters would have enjoyed it more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Definitely worth a read.

    A quick, easy read. The plot is a bit ‘far out’ but it attempts to answer one of life’s most pressing questions – viz., “Is there sex after death?”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    very good

    After starfting this book i couldnt put my nook down. I wonder though is there a second book to this. There was realy no ending just somthing that leaves you hanging. But all in all a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Entertaining enough

    A good read but kind of hard to follow at times. Some concepts were not explained well enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    It was ok

    Some parts were kinda slow....but it was overall a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    It was ok

    I received this as an ARC from the publisher through NetGalley.
    Tara Hudson first book Hereafter was an okay read. This book took me longer to read than I would of liked it too, I never felt a real connection with the characters and I was not hooked to story.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Shows promise, but...

    (From an ARC received from netGalley) Amelia Ashley has spent ten years being dead. The victim of a drowning, she isn't actually sure for most of that ten years that she is dead, but she has frequent nightmare-like sequences where she relives the horror of drowning over and over and cannot seem to get anyone else to acknowledge her existance. She drifts around in what is later referred to as "the fog", a kind of non-existance. All that comes to an end, however, when she witnesses the near drowning of a boy in the same spot where she herself died. Somehow Amelia manages to make Josh see her and encourages him to escape his watery fate. From that point on, they start a relationship of sorts, in which Amelia struggles to discover who she is now and what she can do and Josh tries to help her figure out who she was, all while trying to avoid Eli, the sinister ghost who seems to have evil plans for Amelia, and Ruth, Josh's seer grandmother who believes Amelia herself is evil and must be exorcised. Throughout it all, the more time she spends with Josh, the more Amelia finds herself able to feel and experience--even though as a ghost she's not supposed to feel anything at all. What does it all mean?

    I wanted to like this book more than I actually did. The premise is interesting, though the rules of Amelia's plane of existance got a bit confusing at times. It's never made exactly clear why she can start to feel things and why as the book progresses she's able to be more affected by various things--tripping, for example, and being grabbed by Eli--perhaps this will become clear in a sequel? My biggest issues were that Amelia seemed awfully ineffective as a heroine (even for a ghost) and that Josh was just pretty...clueless. How is it possible that he didn't know from the beginning that something wasn't normal about the girl he saw by the river? Near drowning aside, it just made him seem dense. Amelia spends a lot of time running around trying to find out things without actually managing to discover much of anything at all. Neither really inspired me to care too terribly much about what happened to them. I kept waiting at the big climactic scene for Ruth and her clan to at least show up if not make a difference, but they didn't. It just all felt a bit unfinished at the end. I'll probably read the next book, if there is one, in the hopes that the author will flesh out her characters more and succeed in making us care about them more. There is definite promise here, it just wasn't fulfilled in this novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Slow but nice...

    I received this as an ARC from the publisher through NetGalley. This in no way affected my review.

    First off I'm going to say that I loved the cover. That is the first thing that pulled me in. I was somewhat disappointed in this book. I had high expectations for this and it just didn't happen. I'm giving Hereafter a 3 Star rating because it was alright.

    It starts out with this girl Amelia who is a ghost and died when she was 18. She relives her death in nightmares and wanders around always ending up back at the bridge where she died. One night while wandering at the bridge she sees a young man, Joshua in the water and saves him. He is the first person human or ghost that has been able to see her. It is love at first sight. A short time later Joshua returns to the bridge of his near death and sees Amelia again. From then on they spend their days together and continue to fall more in love. All the while Eli, an evil ghost is watching and waiting to bring Amelia over to the dark side with him. Then there is Joshua's grandmother who is a seer and can also see Amelia and thinks she is evil and wants to exorcise her.

    It sounded like it's was going to be really good with a love story and action filled but I didn't think it was. It's really slow moving and not much happens. It was like the same things happen over and over throughout the book. Amelia is not like other ghosts, she can't walk through walls, car doors or really do anything supernatural. We didn't really learn much about either of their families or about Amelia's past. I'm hoping that in the next book we learn some more. I will read the next book to see what happens and I'm hoping for some more action and romance.

    Overall it's a nice calm and relaxing read. I liked it, just didn't love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    fails to deliver

    Tara Hudson's new novel, Hereafter, promised to deliver an enticingly unique young adult book, different from the rest of the watered down love stories on the market. Unfortunately, it didn't deliver.

    Amelia, a ghost who doesn't remember anything except her first name and parts of her death, wanders around aimlessly, as do the first 50 pages of the book. I forced myself to contune reading, waiting for the book to pick up and deliver the facinating read that would have me on tenderhooks. After finishing the 400+ page book, I'm still waiting. The story seemed contrived and lacking, although the book cover is hauntingly appealing.

    Disclaimer: A copy of this book was provided by HarperTeen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2