Customer Reviews for

Hereafter (Hereafter Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

great

I love reading this book. It has a story that will keep you entertained for a few hours

posted by laura24 on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Well-written

I've grown somewhat weary of the paranormal romance books because they all tend to read the same, but Tara Hudson has a fresh voice. The story was at times predictable, but the writing flowed so well, and the characters were so believable, it kept me hooked. There is pl...
I've grown somewhat weary of the paranormal romance books because they all tend to read the same, but Tara Hudson has a fresh voice. The story was at times predictable, but the writing flowed so well, and the characters were so believable, it kept me hooked. There is plenty of romance here for all you die-hard romance fanatics, and just enough supernatural tension to keep the story interesting. One particular aspect that kept me reading was that we learn about Amelia's past as she does. It didn't feel rushed, or drawn out. I had some problems with the instant romance that blossomed between Josh and Amelia, as well as his immediate acceptance of her being a ghost, but it was forgivable. All in all this is a descent read and I would recommend it to any fan of paranormal romances.

posted by OtotheD on May 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Books to the Sky Reviews: Great mystery!

    There was so much mystery in this book, I seriously couldn't put it down. I HAD to know what was going on in this story and it kept me glued to the book.

    Amelia has no idea who she is. All she knows is that she's dead and she hasn't seen another dead person in a long time.

    As the story goes on more and more of the mystery surrounding Amelia comes to the surface. Josh seems to be the one triggering Amelia's memories, or at least helping her start to uncover them.

    I don't want to give away too much of the book, because I want people to read it. But I will say this, my heart hurt for Amelia and I was angry at the fate she was handed.

    This is the first book in a series (from what I can see on Goodreads there will be 3) and I will most definitely be reading the rest of the series to find out what happens.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    BookWhisperer Review: Hereafter by Tara Hudson

    Tara Hudson debuting novel offers a must read for 2011. Hereafter is a unique story about a young girl struggling in the hereafter. When she finds herself face to face with a young man living her same terrible death; her immediate reaction is to save him from the tragic ending that her life met. Incredibly this story is like nothing I have previously encountered in other paranormal novels. Regretfully, I have to admit to a feeling of abruptness in this book. While Hudson is a very detailed writer I found that some aspects of the book felt more pushed than I would have liked. For example the budding relationship of Tara and Joshua is very intense, but the initial feelings did not seem to flow effortlessly. On the other hand Eli is a truly terrifying character, and the author's description was justly portrayed for the reader to feel this emotion clearly. Over all the story carries a very urgent feel of impending doom, with Joshua Grandmother and Eli's possession issues, the reader will be carried through this book of suspense easily. In wrapping up the conclusion leaves the story on a cliff hanger that will leave readers wondering about what it to come. Tara Hudson has offered a bag of tricks with this incredible story. Readers will finish wondering what will come of this talented author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Good Read

    Very intriguing, you get pulled in quickly, but I didn't feel a deep connection with the characters and am not rushing off to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    good

    I liked most of this book there was a few thing that I didn't liek but fro the most part I lieked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Great

    This book had an amazing storyline and plot that was developed fluently and perfrctly. Amelia is a strong character with will, power and independency.

    Mystery combines with love and fantasy in this book. Although the story was very thought out and nicely written, I think the romance blossomed too quickly. The book is definetly a one-time read, so I suggest renting it from the eBook library.

    But, overall, this book was amazing. There was action and suspense at every corner. I wanted to know more and more about Amelia's past and this kept me captivated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Good

    I liked the concept, storyline and writing style of this book, I was however a little disappointed in the supernatural powers she acquired at the end, up until then it seemed very realistic and believable. Overall, it was a good read and I am looking forward to reading the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Great

    Sad but very good. I always love stories about ghosts or things of that nature. I wished they had solved more problems but the big issues were resolved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Adult Reader and Mother

    I personally loved this story, but my daughter showed no interest. Its an interesting take on the afterlife and human attractions. I was routing for this couple the entire book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    A Unique Love Story The main character in this book is Amelia,

    A Unique Love Story

    The main character in this book is Amelia, and she's dead. So if you don't want to read a story with a ghost protagonist then this book isn't for you. On the other hand, I don't really consider this a "ghost story." Amelia is not spooky or scary. She's a girl trying to figure out what happened to her. I read this like fiction, just like I would a story with wizards, vampires, or talking animals.

    I was enthrolled with the story line at the very beginning; it's so unique. The writing is beautiful. Amelia is 18 "living" near an Oklahoma river she drowned in and has been in a mental haze since her death. Then one day she helps rescue a boy named Joshua from drowning in the same river. Her life gains some meaning. Joshua can see and touch Amelia. The love story is so great. Joshua is so charming and sweet. He could have run away screaming that he saw a ghost, but instead he builds a beautifully unique friendship.

    The bad guy in the book is so intriguing, but he is also extremely creepy and scary. There aren't a lot of other side characters since no one else can see, hear, or touch Amelia. The focus of the book is the romance. There was some profanity in this book, see my content ratings for details.

    I really enjoyed Hereafter. I'm looking forward to the release of book two in the series! Arise is expected to be released on June 5th, 2012.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    Wasn't sure at first, but enjoyed the journey.

    I enjoyed the concept and the story line. I'd follow this author and really enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    If you believe in ghosts...this is for you.

    I thought it was interesting...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Recommend

    Good read for an escape from reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Spellbinding

    This book literally had me putting it down because it was so hard to tell how it was going to end. I love that about a book when the ending is not predictable. It was a fantatic ghost story from an author I had never previously read. I would highly recommend this book to teens and adults. It really was entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    goo Good read g Good read. Im glad theres going to be a sequel...

    The romance between the two was a bit rushed for me but still a good book. I was annoyed by how many loose ends were left thinking this was meant to be a single book, not a series... but there is a sequel "arise" avalible for preorder!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Good book.

    The cover &title caught my eye while browsing. Liked the book overall but the story did drag a little at times. Even so, I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Vgygg

    VERY good book. I read it in literly 3 hours it was so good.

    It was sort of confusing in some parts but, i still LOVED it!

    I can't wait for the second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    A

    The page wouldnt turn but if you go to content and go to chapter 1 you can start reading it.......very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Recommended

    This book was very interesting and well written. I really liked it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Love after life?

    How sad to love something you can never completely have. Makes you truly appreciate the things in life you do have. Amelia and Joshua are destined to be together and be without all at the same time. Live love after...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Awesome! but...

    Its really good but i was kind of wondering what haappens at the end. I think it leaves you hanging. Really good though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3