Customer Reviews for

Here's the Story: Surviving Marcia Brady and Finding My True Voice

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

SHOCKING, EMOTIONAL, AND EMPOWERING

She knew she definitely wasn't in Kansas any longer shortly after the hit television show The Brady Bunch ended. Maureen McCormick had played the part of the flawless elder daughter, Marcia, from 1969 to 1974. While she was Miss Perfection on the small screen she was ...
She knew she definitely wasn't in Kansas any longer shortly after the hit television show The Brady Bunch ended. Maureen McCormick had played the part of the flawless elder daughter, Marcia, from 1969 to 1974. While she was Miss Perfection on the small screen she was quite the opposite in private life.

One of four children she grew up in a dysfunctional household - her father was an abuser who ran around. This disharmony left her with deep feelings of inadequacy and insecurity. Despite the overwhelming popularity of the Marcia Brady character she portrayed Maureen did not feel liked much less loved.

Maureen had begun playing Marcia at the age of 14, and when the show closed she found herself a young actress in Hollywood with evidently nowhere to turn. What she did turn to was drugs. She became the ultimate party girl going to the Playboy Mansion and Sammy Davis, Jr's house. Sad to say she sank deeper and deeper into the quicksand of addiction until she offered sex for drugs.

However, more than happy to say that she is a survivor. It has taken the better part of her life but with the help of friends, medicine, and countless therapy sessions she has learned to accept who she is and find contentment. While her story is painful, frequently shocking, it also gives hope and courage to those who suffer. Listeners will be especially touched when they hear her voice tell us quite frankly how it was then and how it is now.

- Gail Cooke

posted by GailCooke on October 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Almost great

PROs : For some reason I am a big fan of reading stories about celebrities who become addicted to drugs and have other issues like that. She goes into detail about some very personal issues, particularly her battle to locate and maintain a relationship with her father...
PROs : For some reason I am a big fan of reading stories about celebrities who become addicted to drugs and have other issues like that. She goes into detail about some very personal issues, particularly her battle to locate and maintain a relationship with her father. There is some really tragic stuff that I won't spoil for you, but it will probably make your OWN problems seem a little less severe.

CONs : She completely glosses over the Brady Bunch era. It felt like maybe half a chapter is spent talking about the behind the scenes stuff. Her writing style didn't really grab me. There was a LOT of name dropping throughout the whole book to the point where I'd just roll my eyes whenever she'd mention another B-level celebrity's name. I kinda skimmed through some paragraphs about Christianity.

CONCLUSION : I really wanted to like this book and when I started I thought for sure it was gonna be a four-star story. But I was very disappointed that she practically skipped over her Brady Bunch years. I was looking forward to hearing about that era. But if you can live without detailed stories about "Marsha", and if you like stories about celebrities who have screwed up personal lives (I love stuff like that!), then give this book a try because it'll be right up your alley.

posted by Greedo on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    SHOCKING, EMOTIONAL, AND EMPOWERING

    She knew she definitely wasn't in Kansas any longer shortly after the hit television show The Brady Bunch ended. Maureen McCormick had played the part of the flawless elder daughter, Marcia, from 1969 to 1974. While she was Miss Perfection on the small screen she was quite the opposite in private life.<BR/><BR/> One of four children she grew up in a dysfunctional household - her father was an abuser who ran around. This disharmony left her with deep feelings of inadequacy and insecurity. Despite the overwhelming popularity of the Marcia Brady character she portrayed Maureen did not feel liked much less loved.<BR/><BR/> Maureen had begun playing Marcia at the age of 14, and when the show closed she found herself a young actress in Hollywood with evidently nowhere to turn. What she did turn to was drugs. She became the ultimate party girl going to the Playboy Mansion and Sammy Davis, Jr's house. Sad to say she sank deeper and deeper into the quicksand of addiction until she offered sex for drugs.<BR/><BR/> However, more than happy to say that she is a survivor. It has taken the better part of her life but with the help of friends, medicine, and countless therapy sessions she has learned to accept who she is and find contentment. While her story is painful, frequently shocking, it also gives hope and courage to those who suffer. Listeners will be especially touched when they hear her voice tell us quite frankly how it was then and how it is now.<BR/><BR/> - Gail Cooke

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Trying to Find Herself

    Here's the Story: Surviving Marcia Brady and Finding My True Voice, by Maureen McCormick, is a memoir of a woman made famous by her role in the Brady Bunch, as the eldest daughter, Marcia. The Brady Bunch aired from 1969-1974, when Maureen was 13-18 years old. The Brady Bunch was a wildly successful show that ran on Friday nights--I know, I looked forward to it every week.<BR/><BR/>McCormick struggles most of her life because of her role as "Marcia, Marcia, Marcia." (This now infamous line was uttered by the middle daughter, Jan, because she felt her older sister got all the attention.) McCormick writes: "Imagine being shadowed by a younger,prettier, more popular you," referring to her role as Marcia.<BR/><BR/>I mentioned that I looked forward to watching The Brady Bunch every week--now, I was 8 years old when it started and it was the first show of its kind. But, it was always a bit dippy and moralistic. For example, whenever one of the kids did the slightest thing wrong, the whole family had to gather and mom and dad would lecture. GAG.<BR/><BR/>The reason I mention this is that McCormick had a thing about being "imperfect" her entire life compared to the "perfect" Marcia. Now, I was a kid, but it was pretty obvious this was a TV show--not something real.<BR/><BR/>On the other hand, I would have killed to look like Marcia---thin, with long, straight, blond hair. Maybe that was the perfection part.<BR/><BR/>McCormick provides details of what it was like on the Brady set,including crushes and such. I felt that there were too many details--do we really care about when she first got her period and how it happened? Or that she was jealous that Eve Plumb developed breasts before her?<BR/><BR/>The book is enjoyable, don't get me wrong--but it gets 4 stars, not 5 because it should have been edited more. Too many details throughout, the book drags at times.<BR/><BR/>McCormick reveals her family history (her mother's dad had syphilis and passed it to her mother) and her own life that included drug use, bulimia, and depression.<BR/><BR/>When McCormick turned 50, she agreed to be on the Celebrity Fit Club, a reality series in which the stars try to lose weight. McCormick is very successful at losing weight and feels good about herself. She writes: "After spending my life worrying about what people thought of me, what they might think of me, and trying to present a certain image, I gave up and was just me."<BR/><BR/>Ultimately, Maureen McCormick was brave to share this revealing memoir with the world. If nothing else, it shows that perfection is an illusion and that we would all be much better off if we could simply accept ourselves for who we really are.<BR/><BR/>Nice work.<BR/><BR/>By the author of the award winning book, HARMONIOUS ENVIRONMENT: BEAUTIFY, DETOXIFY & ENERGIZE YOUR LIFE, YOUR HOME & YOUR PLANET.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Interesting! Nice to hear her side...

    I like reading autobiographies of actors/entertainers so when I found this one, I knew I had to read it! She's been through a lot. Nice to see she turned out okay...Now, I need to read the Barry Williams one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A very interesting story. I was moved by the author's demons and

    A very interesting story. I was moved by the author's demons and battle to conquer them. Not much info on the Brady Bunch though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Yeah Marcia-um, Maureen!!!!!!

    I love Marcia Brady. She is the girl I have always dreamed of being-smart, stylish, athletic, pretty, popular, and with an extremely groovy and equally as awesome older brother, Greg, whom I have kinda always crushed on. I was a little reluctant to buy this book-i knew marcia had abused cocaine-but judging by the title of this book, I figured she would focus mainly on the Brady Bunch and not reveal her own personal and very private issues and information. Well i bought it and whoa. Although a very strong, generous, and loving person, maureen seems to feel it necessary to share every personal detail of her life and fling her doors wide open, starting with her mothers syphillis and her fathers affair to her own personal struggles with meth, cocaine, abortions, and bulliemia to her fiery temper and then-abusive control over her husband. Marcia, Marcia, Marcia! Maureen airs her dirty laundry so frequently it is almost innopropriate.
    On the plus side, as I mentioned before, Maureen is a kind, sweet, and gentle person in general, throwing no one under the bus and spreading happiness to the less fortunate. She knows she made some bad choices and presses on, ever lovingly, and her sweet motherly tone is difficult to abhor.
    My conclusion? Three and a half stars, but I'm rounding it to four. Maureens tale of helplessness and self-loss is sure to leave you sobbing into a mountain of Kleenex but her conclusion of joy and love is guaranteed to put a smile in your heart and prayer for her future as you realize we can do it after all if Marcia, Marcia, Marcia can.
    Reviewed by littlehousegirl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Anonymous 1/12/12

    Really enjoyed the book...could not put it down. MAUREEN A VERY STRONG WOMAN. Her husband Michael a great and loving person. Loved the Brady Bunch growing up. Happy she is in a better place now. Left wondering how her father and Kevin are doing though. Great book. Written well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    Really Liked This Book!

    If you're anything like me, you grew up with Maureen Mccormick and the Brady Bunch. This book gives you an insider's look at the real Maureen - aka Marcia - and her ups and downs as a child star and also as a grown woman trying to find her way in the world. It's a super-interesting read that is well worth the small investment. The behind-the-scenes of the Brady world makes the book totally intriquing, and learning about Maureen's rise to fame and struggle with substance abuse makes this a well-rounded story to read. You won't be able to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    here's the story

    I HAD NO IDEA MAUREEN HAD SUCH A TROUBLED LIFE. I'M GLAD SHE'S DOING WELL NOW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book to pick up.

    I appreciate Ms.McCormick's honesty and candidness. Through the many difficult experiences in her life, she has somehow triumphed and can be an inspiration to many. We can all learn lessons from her story and I find I am more enlightened for reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good read

    I grew up watching the Brady Bunch so of course when I saw this book, I had to read it. When watching a show like the Brady Bunch, you never know what goes on behind the scenes and in the lives of the actors. In the book, Maureen talks about her real life crush on Barry White(Greg Brady), her jealousy over EVE(Jan), and her insecurities with her moms disease. The most moving topic she discusses is her addiction to cocaine. She talks about her highs and lows and how she got her life back on track.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Good read

    I grew up watching the Brady Bunch and still watch it today with my own kids. Growing up I never knew the struggles that Maureen went through. I'm glad that today she has been able to get her life back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    I purchased this for a friend

    I purchased this for a friend who really wanted to read it, so I have no actual review. She loved it, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Great, Honest Biography

    I was hesitant to buy this book for fear that it would be a one sided tell all book. However, Maureen McCormick tells not just about wonderful things in her life but the hardtimes and strife that she suffered. After reading this book I have more respect for an actress who was tossed into the mania of stardom without having any idea where she was headed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    A snap into reality.

    This was a good book. It tells of the story of most people in this world...a world where we need to be perfect in order to be reconized. The book however had a few too many details that otherwise seemed irrelavent. Overall America got an impression of Maureen McCormick as "Marcia Brady" the perfect person. Everyone wanted to be like Marcia yet so very few people are even close to what Marcia Brady was in the Brady Bunch. Everyone sees the so called glamourous life of Hollywood but do not realize the damage that it causes to most of the people who make up Hollywood. Maureen McCormick has become a "survivor" and is very lucky to have a network of people to have helped her face her challenges in life. People always paint an image of someone and never look further than that image. It is a shame. She did a great job of telling in detail what it was like to be a Hollywood star (the ups and downs of it!). We forget what happens off screen and that these people we "envy" so much are just a human as your next door neighbor.I grew up watching the Brady Bunch and occasionally I still watch it with my own children. I recommend this book to anyone who watched the show and grew up with the Brady Bunch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2