Customer Reviews for

The Heretic Queen

Average Rating 4.5
( 242 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(166)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    I like it!

    I am still reading this book, but I am really enjoying it. It has a bit of history, some romance, and a strong female character. Not typically the geographical area of history I choose, but have been pleasantly surprised that I look forward to reading it in bed each night. I wish it wasn't so short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2014

    Good read.

    This is the fourth book I read by this author. Very good and interesting book about Egypt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    It was very good till the end. The end was not as good as I was

    It was very good till the end. The end was not as good as I was hoping

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Excellent

    This is the third book I have read by this author. All three have been wonderful and I would recommend them. However, her biggest downfall is her endings. The conclusions I have read in her books feel forced and awkward. While the stories themselves are wonderful, the endings always leave me with a "so, where is the rest?" feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Loved it!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Good Book

    If you enjoy historical fiction you will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Journey

    'The Heretic Queen' covers a period several years after the timeline of previous novel 'Nefertiti'

    Once more, the author is taking us into a fulfilling journey through time with her simple and beautiful prose. This historical fiction recounts the life of young Nefertari, niece of Nefertiti, from her orphan years in the court of Seti 1 through the days after her coronation as Queen of Egypt.

    It is clear from the start that the story although based on facts is highly romanticised for appeal. The author has let her imagination fill the gaps in history with creative speculation to grasp the reader's attention and plunge him into the Ancient Egyptian world of Ramesses the Great with all its splendour and tribulation.

    Through the ups and downs of life, Nefertari narrates how although a Princess she is first treated like an outcast but her love for Ramesses since childhood and her determination to succeed will be her triumph. By 15, fluent in 5 languages and highly educated, this young woman not only wins the heart of a future Pharaoh but also of a nation, her skills and wits made her a successful Queen admired and respected by her followers.

    This novel is a heart-warming love story and a delight to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    Very Good

    A very easy read with great descriptions that really make you feel in time with the characters. Don't bother reading just for the Moses/Exodus tale though (it's a retelling from an Egyptian perspective)...there isn't much importance placed on it (especially from the Hebrew standpoint) and you are over 2/3's of the way through the book before it's even mentioned. All in all an entertaining read well suited for killing 3-4 hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    As the Sphinx Turns

    Although there's a bit of a soap opera element to Heretic Queen, that doesn't make it any less enjoyable. Princess Nefertari, an intelligent and educated young woman, has low credibility in the Egyptian court due to her connection to the heretic pharoah Akhenaten (he was her uncle). However, due to her lifelong friendship with the current pharoah - the great Ramses II - she's a front runner to become not just his queen, but his Chief Wife. On her side is the high priestess of Hathor. On the other side is the gorgeous Iset, who also becomes his wife, and the evil and ambitious high priestess of Isis. Let the machinations begin! Author Michelle Moran has clearly researched the time period, and a map at the front of the book along with a glossary and author's note at the back increased my appreciation of a lively and well-told tale which cleverly builds on the few facts known about this era.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Heretic Queen is a fabulous read.

    The author has done her homework to aptly and eloquently describe the court of the King Ramses and his Queens. Although fictionalized the work is based on much research and Michelle Moran brings to life the Egyptian court. Love, deception, war, death, betrayal, revenge - there is so much to enjoy about this book. From the first chapter, I was hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review From One Book At A Time

    I've always loved the history of ancient civilizations. But, history class is just facts. It does not make you feel like you are there. It does not give you a taste of what life might have been like. Michelle Moran does. I can not imagine the research that goes into her work. The minute you open the cover of one of her novels, you are there. I love the settings, the characters, and the story itself. I like how she takes what is known and weaves into her story, so in the end you are not sure if the book was fact or fiction. I also enjoyed that in both books I've read, she has included biblical references. And, I've completely missed them until I've read the author notes in the back. Michelle Moran leaves me talking about her books long after I've read them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    Light Easy Read

    Enjoyable, great travel book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!

    I loved this book from the start. The writing style is right up my alley, appropriately descriptive without being excessive, with lots of dialogue. This was my first novel from the Egyptian culture and the days of the great rulers. I wondered what I would think of such a storyline. I found I loved it!

    This is the story of Princess Nefertari, most of the storyline taking place before she became queen. The author took a lot of liberties with the storyline, since there are so many gaps in Egyptian history. In this story, Nefertari is the niece of the deceased Queen Nefertiti, who was viewed, along with her husband, the Egyptian Pharaoh Akhenaten, as a heretic for turning against the Egyptian gods and worshiping only the sun god Aten.

    So when Princess Nefertari becomes the wife of Pharaoh Ramesses II, the people and court are not happy with a relative of Nefertiti on the throne, as Nefertari is cursed to carry her family's reputation as a "heretic". However with the support of Ramesses' aunt Woserit, a high priestess, and driven by a fiery and determined nature that takes her into battle with her husband, Nefertari goes on to become the queen of Egypt, and known by the people as the Warrior Queen instead of the Heretic Queen.

    This was a very enjoyable read, full of adventure and excitement and intrigue. I would highly recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    You Can Almost Taste The Dry Air

    They way this book is written, you can almost feel the heat and smell the insence in the air. It's almost poetic, and the charcaters are engaging and endearing.

    There are sometimes when Nefertari has down time to think-that it gets a little boring and it drags on for a bit, but it usualy picks up after a few pages of intropescion.

    The begining, pushes you right into the world and wastes no time in explanations of characters and their history-and saves those explanations for later in the book. The first couple of chapters are a bit melodramatic-but as soon as you hit chapter four, everything takes off.

    A lovely book that I could not put down. I will definately be reading Moran's other works

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3