Customer Reviews for

The Heretic's Daughter

Average Rating 4
( 232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Heretic's Daughter vs Physick Book of Deliverance Dane

I read this book and the Physick Book of Deliverance Dane. What a contrast! Heretic's Daughter is 99.9% based on actual fact, while the other books is a complete distortion of history which slanders the memory of the victims of the witch trials. It is truly depressing t...
I read this book and the Physick Book of Deliverance Dane. What a contrast! Heretic's Daughter is 99.9% based on actual fact, while the other books is a complete distortion of history which slanders the memory of the victims of the witch trials. It is truly depressing to me that the Physick book is so wildly popular (almost 300 reviews on B&N alone), while Heretic's Daughter is much less so. What a commentary.

One of the things I liked about the Heretic's Daughter is that it takes the focus away from the trials. I don't know of another book or non-fiction that examines the impact of the event on the thousands of relatives of the accused nor reveals the ordeals of the accused who were "merely" imprisoned. Some people died in prison and they are as much victims of the witch hunt as the ones who were hung. Some were literally deranged by their experience, like the 5 year old Dorcas Hoar, who not surprisingly, was never "right in the head" after the experience. What an awful event, ministers of God accusing a 5 year old girl of being a witch and throwing her in prison. A truly horrible period in our history, which is respectfully and truthfully dealt with in this book. It is well written, poetic at times and does honor to the memory of the innnocent men and women who were victims of the hysteria.

posted by John_Haledescendant on March 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Glad it's over

One of the most boring books I have ever read. It drags on forever and never gives you anything new. Pass on this one!

posted by Qui0330 on May 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    LOVED THIS BOOK!

    If you're a fan of historical fiction, this is definitely a great read for you. I have always been fascinated with the Salem Witch Trials, so having a story that successfully sucks you into the time and place was a dream come true. In history classes you're always standing on the outside looking at the events that occurred rather than truly understanding what it would have been like to have been there. The trials were such a devastating part of our nation's history and this novel helps commemorate the memory of people that should never be forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Dry and depressing

    I look forward to a historical story with likable characters. This was a dull miserable story with flat characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very good read.

    Very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Dreary and dark

    Although I enjoyed the first few chapters of Heretic's Daughter, by the time I got halfway through, I had lost interest and couldn't sustain enough enthusiasm to finish. The book wandered, got too wordy, and lost it's momentum.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review: The Heretic's Daughter by Kathleen Kent

    Kathleen Kent's story although on the surface is one about the Salem witch trials.is actually more a story about life in 17th century New England and familial relationships. The first half of the book builds slowly as we learn more about life in Puritan New England, its hardships and its joys, than we might expect. We not only learn about the difficulties that life in the 1600's brings but we experience them firsthand through the voice of Sarah our 9 year old narrator. When first her mother, then her brothers and finally she herself is accused, arrested, and taken to Salem jail.the burden that she must carry to care for and protect what remains of her family is inconceivable for modern times. Perhaps even more intriguing and heartbreaking is what we learn of her relationships with her family and extended family (in particular that of her Mother and cousin) and how those relationships are tested and forged within the construct that is the Salem Witch Trials. If you are looking for a Halloween type retelling of the Trials then this is not the book for you.but if you love Colonial history and books with themes of persecution, conviction, and love.then I recommend The Heretic's Daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Wonderful!

    Kathleen Kent's novel highlights a tragic period of American History transporting the reader into the town of Salem in 1692.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Wanderer

    When I started this book, I thought it was going to draw me in. The first several chapters had a purpose and was going there. Then it just wandered and wandered and wandered, never knowing where I was or where it was going. Finally I thought, "She's figured out how to end this." Well after wandering the author seemed in a HUGE rush and in less than 10 pages takes you from age 11 to age 50. No kidding. Don't snooze, you'll be confused.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A different look at the Salem Witch Trials

    Kent takes readers on a journey through the horrors of the Salem Witch Trials through the eyes of the daughter of one of the so-called "witches." The story is a fictionalized account of a very real event.
    Kent's style is breezy while keeping with the sentiments and language of the times, whenever possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    COUNT YOUR BLESSINGS!

    GREAT BOOK. REMINDED ME TO COUNT MY BLESSINGS. DON'T TAKE FAMILY FOR GRANTED. ALL KINDS OF LESSONS IN THIS BOOK! DON'T PASS IT UP!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Boring

    This+book+could+have+been+great%2C+but+it+was+long+and+drawn+out.++It+could+haave+been+written+differentlyand+been+so+much+more+enthralling.%0A

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Great Book

    Wow. This is a very good book. The author puts you behind the eyes of a child who experienced the nightmare of the Salem witch trials and doesn't let you blink. I highly recommend this book and it's author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    SLOW read!

    Kent's diction is beautiful; however, this novel reads slowly. I was not impressed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Salem Witch Project

    Everyone, I'm sure, has heard of the Salem Witch Trials from the history books or their own curiosity. Innocent people were convicted and sentenced to death for their supposed practice of witchcraft. The mass hysteria was caused by a few teenage girls having fun and/or out for revenge. They were the original "Mean Girls." Today, the crimes these girls committed (and got away with) also have a modern day reference in news stories involving Facebook/MySpace bullying. "Remarkable that with a few words maidenheads become like reputations. Easily broken, easily mended."

    THE HERETIC'S DAUGHTER tells a story of that time period from the perspective of Sarah Carrier, daughter of Martha Carrier, one of the women convicted of witchcraft and hanged for her supposed crimes. The author offers a detailed background about life in and around Salem, Massachusetts in the late 1600s to help set the mood for the somber tale to come. Like life in the late 17th century, the novel unveils itself at a slow pace. Occasionally, unfortunately, a bit too slow for my liking. The novel probably could have been condensed and edited and still been a decent tale.

    While well-written, THE HERETIC'S DAUGHTER didn't really go anywhere or reveal much that I didn't already know. Many times, I thought the author was building up to something, but too often, nothing happened. Everything was very anticlimactic. Even the trials, hangings, and people's reactions to these horrific events were glossed over.

    So, while I think the author did a fantastic, five-star job of capturing life in America in the late 1600s and created an Anne Frank-type likeable character in Sarah, I don't think she provided much of a forward-moving story that would hold a lot of people's interests.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    I. Loved this book

    What a great book of History!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great historical fiction

    I really could not stop reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Captivating

    A great book! Very well written. It was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Rambling and a little boring

    This book started off pretty well but it didn't keep going. Especially towards the middle. It would just ramble on one topic for too long with no build up and then just sort of stumble into the next part of the book. The storyline unfortunately didn't keep my interest which is a shame because this could be such an interesting topic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Heretic's Daughter

    I loved this book. Wonderfully written. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I loved the book! Reminds us of what unregulated fundamentalism can cause! A lesson for all in todays world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Addictive Must Read

    I absolutely loved this book! I found it on the sale table at my local BN store and I really don't know why it was there because it is such a great read. Who hasn't read the Scarlet Letter but this book delves deeper; taking a look at a family marred by the absurdity of the Salem witch trials. Through the eyes of the main character, a 10yr old girl named Sarah Carrier, the reader sees a view of what it was like to live during the late 1600's near Andover and the towns directly affected by the Salem witch trials. Our history books have taught us one thing but this book, though fiction, gives us an opportunity to imagine the reality of individuals subjected to the harsh hotbed of lies, deceit, jealousy and false piety that resulted in many men, women and even children being wrongly accused, jailed and hung. Here is the story of Sarah, her family, her town and her struggle for survival. I was so touched by this book, I remember sitting on the bus reading it and almost crying. I too am my mother's daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 12