Customer Reviews for

Heritage: Book Three of the Grimoire Saga

Average Rating 5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Disclaimer: I was lucky enough, that I was given the opportunity

    Disclaimer:
    I was lucky enough, that I was given the opportunity to read this book as an ARC. This will in no way influence my review.
    This is a spoiler free review.
    ----
    This book will be Available November 5, 2013
    ----
    Synopsis:
    Kara Magari isn't normal, even by Ourea's standards--and in a world of shape-shifters and soul stealers, that's saying something.
    To the royalty, she's a loose cannon.
    To the masses, she's a failure. But Kara's arrival in Ourea started a war, and she's going to end it.
    An ancient isen named Stone takes an interest in Kara's training, and it turns out he has more answers than he originally led her to believe.
    In an effort to unearth a secret that might end the bloodshed, Kara instead discovers an ugly truth about her family--and how much
    she has in common with an infamous mass-murderer.

    Braeden Drakonin has slowly rebuilt his life after the betrayal that tore it apart.
    His father wants him dead, and frankly, his so-called allies wouldn't mind that either.
    Private alliances are formed. Secrets are sold. Tension is driving the armies apart.
    A single battle will end this war, and it's coming. Braeden may be a prince, but it will take more than that to survive.
    He must take the fight to his father's door--and win.

    Review:
    Starting with the dedication- I'm already in tears. I could only hope for a love like this. Boycey your way with words is perfect.
    On the technical side, I will say I love the writing style and it makes me hunger for more. It flows seamlessly and is without flaw.
    Onto my thoughts.
    I have waited.... What seems like eons but is really not even a year, the wait was excruciating! In the beginning, back in the days when
    I first read "Lichgates" I was searching for a reason to be attached to the characters. Well, at this point, I'm so attached to all of them
    they can't make a move without an emotional response.

    That's the thing about this book, it is evocative. It makes you smile when they smile, cry when they cry, make random expressions that
    are relative to the character that you are reading at that time... it sucks you in and you can't leave until you are done.
    If there is one thing I hate, it is reflection. I have read authors who take CHAPTERS to reflect on how we got where we are for new
    readers or as a refresher for those of us who haven't read the books in awhile. Thankfully, that was not the case in "Heritage".
    The reflection was non-existent and she jumped right into the story. However, writing in a style that if a reader had not read "Lichgates"
    or "Treason" after reading a few short pages they'd be on track with what was happening. I love how she jumped right into the action!
    Not wasting a sentence or a line on anything but rather diving head first into the story! As expected I was drowning in my love for the
    storyline before the end of the first chapter. When I was on page 101 of 200 in PDF format I had loved it. I was dreading the end.
    It's like some piece of rare knowledge you fall in love with, and are so eager to learn more of that you can't ever get enough.
    Or, if you've read the hunger games, Katniss' "hollow days" where no matter how much you eat you're still starving....
    that's what reading this book was like to me. Page after page I just absorbed as much as I could, but it was never enough - right down
    to the very startling end. I am an avid reader. It takes much, to say the least, to take my breath away and yet that is what S.M. Boyce has
    done with "Heritage". 

    The vibrance of Ourea has never burned brighter, and the characters never more colorful. There is a raw intensity that jumps out of the
    pages at you and makes you forget this is a story - in a book - It's ok. She makes you forget all of that.
    What is interesting to me is that the characters never stop developing; they grow as the story grows and that is a wonderful thing to
    watch. To see Kara come into her powers, and Braeden wield his political savvy, the cunning of the bloods, the ignorance of some
    that cost others their lives, the beauty of alliances forged under the most trying of circumstances... It is an amazing thing to read as it
    unfolds before me. The ending. I never saw that coming, I didn't suspect it in the slightest, and when I realized during the epilogue
    what had really happened during the Stelian attack on Braeden and his recovery, I nearly fell out of my bed in shock and awe.
    The question is, where now will S.M. Boyce take us, on the road to "Illusion." Because illusion it is, and illusion it shall be.
    To quote BFF, Evie, "If I die, please bury me in Ourea." That is how much we love these books.

    So I have it in PDF format, now, November 5, I must obtain the physical book for my collection.

    Thank you, S.M. Boyce for the mental stimulation, and the entertainment, and the roller coaster ride. And thank you, for Ourea.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    S.M. Boyce has definitely captured myself into the world of Oure

    S.M. Boyce has definitely captured myself into the world of Ourea. I was excited to get the book and could not put it down. The Grimoire Saga Series is by far my most favorite to read and will definitely reread every one of them again.

    I absolutely love Kara and Braeden. The tribulations they must go through to be together and everything Kara must overcome within her new self. The two together are unstoppable and I look forward to seeing how things turn out for the two of them in the next book.

    This is by far my favorite of the series and can not wait for book #4. The series is an absolute must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    S.M. Boyce's epic fantasy series is so highly addictive. I chall

    S.M. Boyce's epic fantasy series is so highly addictive. I challenge everyone to try and stop reading once they're pulled into the world of Ourea.
    Heritage is the third instalment and in my opinion, the best of the three.  Boyce stands among Tolkien and Martin as a creator of great worlds with warring factions. The political intrigue is simply riveting.
    The story twists along until the inevitable, awe-inspiring moment when everyone in Ourea learns just how powerful Kara is. With an ending so deeply satisfying, Illusion could not come soon enough!
    Anyone who loves a beautifully told tale filled with suspense and adventure needs to get into the Grimoire Saga. They won't be sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I had the pleasure of reading a beta copy of Heritage. The G

    I had the pleasure of reading a beta copy of Heritage.




    The Grimoire Saga has found a way into my heart. I love the characters and the world.




    In Heritage, Kara struggles with her new Isen state and learning the limits and advantages of her new power. She is a force to be reckoned with and comes across strong throughout the book. I enjoyed getting to know her even more and related with her inner struggles.




    Braeden, as always, was a favorite of mine. He's complex, with inner struggles that made my heart clench for him. He has all the makings of a great hero. Conflicted, but still strong, he's determined to overcome his dark nature and lead his people to a time of peace. He just needs to conquer Carden to do it. Several twists in his arc took me by surprise.




    I was happy to see old favorites, like Twin, back in the story and come to know new characters, like Stone. Each character serves a purpose within the tale and adds a layer to the world.




    I'm eagerly awaiting the final book to this series and I'm quite sure it will remain a favorite of mine for a very long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    Once again Boyce has taken this story and given a wham packed ac

    Once again Boyce has taken this story and given a wham packed action filled story.  I thought we seen the epic plot twist with the end of book two but nope she does it again in Heritage and keeps us guessing as to how it will play out with the fourth book.  This is a must read series you really need to pick up and read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Good as in the whole series.

    Enjoyed very much like the other two in the series. Lets get the last one out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Love the book! Great read can't wait for the next one. 

    Love the book! Great read can't wait for the next one. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Great read.

    Loves this series. Keeps getting bettet. Lots of twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Oh dang... that ending. Say backstabbing what?! This series just

    Oh dang... that ending. Say backstabbing what?! This series just gets better with every book. I adore Ourea and the story always traps me from beginning to end.




    As I said in my review of the previous book, I was growing to understand Gavin and in Heritage my heart grew a little more for him. I'm extremely happy to see him turning into the guy we know he can be. I also just absolutely adore General Gurien. Love his character and love him with Aurora, I hope they get their happily ever after.




    Braeden, you are just too adorable for words. I literally want to wrap him up and keep him forever. Regardless of how tough and protective he is, he has such a heart of gold and I adore it. Kara on the other hand is doing the opposite of Braeden and getting stronger and tougher every time we see her and I can't help but love this growth. These two couldn't be more perfect for each other.




    I definitely don't want this series to end!! Reading the last book will totally be so bittersweet for me! I'm hoping for all the happily ever afters I can get! Waiting for fall is going to be way too long of a wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2014

    A must read saga.

    The first 3 books in this series have been wonderful. Very much looking forward to the 4th and final, though sad that the story will be over and my visit to her wonderful world and it inhabitants will be over. All the magic, the twists and turns of the story, make me read it way to fast and now I await the final book with anticipation and dread. Anticipation on how things will take place, and dread that it will be over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Fantastic book.

    Fantastic book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Another great read by S.M. Boyce

    I enjoyed how this book showed an unexpected side to certain character and is finally showing some of the reasoning behind occurrences. I love how slowly the book unfolds certain characters and takes you on a fast rife with others. It kept me entertained page after page. Another great read in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    The only way I can even put a description on how seductively ama

    The only way I can even put a description on how seductively amazing these books have been writen.I can't even express how excited I am for the release of the last book. I can safely say I officially found my new favorite author.=) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Good read

    I was suprised. I really enjoyed these books. Ill definatly get the fourth book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    A

    Loved it! Couldn't put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Amazing series!

    When i read Heritage, i fell in love with it just like Lichgates and Treason! Could not put the book down! Its an amazing series that keeps you hooked the whole way through! Cant wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Love it!!!!

    S. M. Boyce continues to bring life to her characters; both human and magical, which will leave you craving more.For returning readers "Heritage" starts where "Treason" left off. For new readers this saga has adventure, mystery, a little romance and much much more in a world where trust is hard to come by. The main characters, Braeden and Kara, will have to overcome their own personal demons if they have any chance or hope of accomplishing their goals. Along the way they will face many challenges and conflicts that will leave you thoroughly engrossed in Boyce's secret world of Ourea. Together they will discover friend from foe with a few surprising and unpredictable outcomes.

    I have and would recommend this saga to any avid reader. Both young adult and adult alike who enjoy reading magical creations and intricate plots will absolutely adore this author. I truly can't wait for the next and final book "Illusions".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    loved it!!!! can't wait for the last  book in the series!!!!

    loved it!!!! can't wait for the last  book in the series!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Great book!

    This is my favorite of the three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    This is an awesome read!! Ms Boyce has done an exemplary job cre

    This is an awesome read!! Ms Boyce has done an exemplary job creating this world & sharing it w/us from the first book thru Heritage. As w/the previous books Ms Boyce continues to reveal the world of Ourea bit by bit. Just when you think the world is complete, you find something new. All of the characters continue to grow, & change. I love how each individual reveals hidden secrets, or personality traits that you haven't seen. Cara & Braedon's relationship continues to grow slowly. The interaction between them is a pleasure to observe. The bond they share grows stronger w/each obstacle they face, & there are definitely plenty. Not so much that you get tired of them, but enough to keep you enthralled. And the twists & turns that the story takes keeps you on the edge of your seat. There are several surprises in store for the reader. Again I had a hard time putting this book down, & when I reached the end, I wanted more. I'm really looking forward to Illusion, the next book in the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2