Customer Reviews for

The Heritage of Shannara

Average Rating 4.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    Another great series by Brooks

    I have read the previous trilogy by Brooks, The Sword of Shannara, and was very pleased with it. For the Sword of Shannara, Brooks was a relatively new writer but he was still able to produce a very good work. The Heritage of Shannara showed a great improvement in Brook's writing skills (even though he was already a great writer). In this book, the action keeps you interested and each character has a unique story that will interest you. Characters' personalities are very deep with a variety of personalities. The plot was very good, even up to the ending. My favorite book in the series was the last book. Very well written and highly recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Another Excellent Series

    Terry Brooks once again writes a magnificent arc in the world of Shannara set many years after the last series and the newest Omsfords and their magical wishsong abilities. Add in missing elfstones and a brand new druid and you have a thrilling tale of the struggle against the shadowen. I loved this series when it came out years ago, and it makes just as good a read now on my nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    How do you recommend it, you must read this book!

    Terry Brooks Is a great father and you should read every single one of his books! All of his book takes off after the last one they are all connected great series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2012

    great

    I enjoyed the 4 book series. Looking forward to next set. Would of liked to have read all of them when they were publised, but this way is good too. Good plots. Too bad for Alanon. Would recommend the series to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Spellbinding and hard to close the cover!

    Lots of action and easy to follow,realistic characters involved. Highly recommend if you like this type of reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    The Shannara books are the best

    The Shannara books are the best read tht I have had. I started reading Terry Brooks almost 20 years ago and I have never put his books down. I would have to say that I beleive that Terry Brooks has got to be the best auther of all time. Please keep writting the Shannara books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Enjoyed series

    What a nice way to follow SWORD seeries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2006

    Terry Brooks is Brilliant

    This book (or books, rather) was very time consuming, and rightfully so. The epic scale of the Heritage series is unmatched by most other authors. Fans of fantasy must read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    pedestrian

    Terry Brooks is an excellent writer, his fantastic ability in creating magic proves true to the last words....however, his books builds much less on the histories than emotions...quest after quest he sets...the language he employs proves to be tiring at times even philophical. Perhaps I have been spoiled by Robert Jodan's Wheel of Time ...therefore i urge you to read Brooks before Jordan, whose words and energy is out lasts that of Brook's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    Great Books!

    These four books in one are some of the best that I have ever read! The various storylines are outstanding as well as addicting. Brooks shows great character growth with Par, Morgan Leah, and Walker Boh in this outstanding series. I really can't say enough about it, so I will leave it with this, You have got to read this series (and all other Terry Brooks books) if you are a true fantasy fan. Sorry DARIAN, but Brooks far surpasses Jordan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2005

    A re-reader....definitely.

    I can't hardly wait to finish reading this just so i can start again. Brooks is a fantasy GENIUS!!! I recommend all of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    A must have item.

    For those looking fruitlessly through local libraries in search of the next title in the series, this should solve your problem. Brooks constructs the Heritage series flawlessly, and the constant twists and turns of the plot refuse to let the reader walk away. Brooks workmanship is comparable only to giants such as Tolkien, and the Shannara series will not soon be forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    Amazing, Inspiring, and something to pass on.

    Terry Brooks is one of those rare authors that can not only tell a story well but, make it meaningful to the reader. This isn't only a story about good vrs evil but, it's also a story about good vrs the evil within. I've read the series many times and am enthusiastic to see a hardcover re-release. This is something I would like to pass on to future generations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    My favorite/s of the Series

    I am now reading these books for my 3rd time and am enjoying it as much as the first time. I strongly encourage Shannara fans to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    better than the original trilogy....

    I will admit that I had my doubts when I started to read the scions of shannara, but after the first 10 pages I was hooked!. Mr.Brooks has wonderful character depth and development, and also a magical world that feels so real you enter another world by the turn of a page!. Wonderful book, I recomend it to people who don't typicaly like fantasy. Brilliant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    Wonderful Book.

    Awesome. Enchanting tale that made you want to keep reading non-stop. It is a pain to try and get all the 'Heritage' series but this one book has it all. An absolute must have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5