Customer Reviews for

Hero (Woodcutter Sisters Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Title: ¿Hero¿ Author: Alethea Kontis Publication date: 10/1/2013

    Title: “Hero”
    Author: Alethea Kontis
    Publication date: 10/1/2013
    Type of book: Teen fairytale/fantasy.
    Is this a part of a series, If yes, which number? This is the second book in the “Woodcutter Sisters” series. Book #1 is “Enchanted”.
    Summary:  Saturday Woodcutter believes that something she did caused the world to break. So when a beloved brother goes missing and another family member gets sick Saturday is determined to set things right. Just as her journey begins she is kidnapped and held prisoner by a dangerous enemy. With the help of a few new friends, Saturday must use all the magic inside her to put the world right again.    
    Characters: *Saturday Woodcutter: I love this character. She is spunky, strong, and determined to do the right thing. She knows who she is and she doesn’t let fear stop her from doing what needs to be done. I also like how she interacts with the other characters, especially Peregrine.
    *Peregrine (The Earl of Starburn): He is so sweet and I loved reading about him. The love that grows between Peregrine and Saturday melted my heart and I wanted more. Perry has such a strong spirit and his kindness shines through even after everything he has to go through. 
    * Trix (Saturday’s foster brother who is part fey): Such an interesting character and I hope he has his own story soon. 
    *Betwixt: He is a chimera and Perry’s best friend. He is a cool character that has a ton of attitude and spunk. 
    Favorite bits: *Velius and Erik (You will understand when you read the book.)
    *Saturday’s Fairy Godmother gift is the ax that chopped down the giant-bearing beanstalk.
    *Monday Woodcutter is the princess who slept on the pea. Monday’s twin sister is one of the sisters who danced herself to death. Monday is also the mother of Snow White.
    *When mother Woodcutter talks everyone has to listen.
    *Thursday Woodcutter is a pirate queen.
    *Jack Woodcutter and the mysteries around him are so fun.
    *Gryphon healing tears.
    *Hansel and Gretel are introduced. 
    Problematic bits: I love this series and I have nothing negative to say about it. 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    Alethea Kontis is the queen of crazy. She doesn't follow any so

    Alethea Kontis is the queen of crazy. She doesn't follow any sort of recipe for her books; she just tosses in all the ingredients and POOF! she winds up with a magical fairy tale unlike any other. I'm sure it took much more than a simple poof to write Hero, but that's how it seems. I don't think I will ever understand how she can take so many different fairy tales, smoosh them all together the way she does, and have the story make sense. She surprised me with Enchanted, and again with Hero.

    I love the way she writes. Her characters are vibrant and full of life. Saturday is a fabulous protagonist. I adore her strength and her stubbornness, her fire and her fight. I love the way she solves her problems (with her brain) and the way she carries out her plans (with her strength).

    Peregrine is a bit...odd. I wasn't sure that I would like him right at first, but it didn't take long before I did. Saturday doesn't hold his weirdness against him, and he doesn't hold her weirdness against her. They are perfect for each other. The romance is clean, with only a couple of non-passionate kisses that happen.

    This book seems quite a bit shorter than the first one, but I kind of like that because it isn't quite so complex and confusing. There are a few new elements to the world that I don't remember from the first one, and this book ended with the story still in play (not a cliff hanger) which I'm not sure I really like. Overall though, I really liked this book and would recommend it for kids ages 12 and up. Teenagers especially will enjoy this series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    More fun than the best party you ever attended!

    I could not put it down, I read in three nites. It was so much fun, too bad the next book is coming out in 2015. I see many books coming from this storyline, and I was excited with every page, I think book two is better than book one, only because I loved this gal better, tho all her sisters are awsome. I loved the brother Trix, he needs his own book.

    Very clever auther, parts had me laughing out loud.

    I don't like to give away plots or spoliers, or make a review too long and wordy, so the bottom line....

    Lots of FUN.
    More stories please, sooner than later.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Saturday Woodcutter is tired of being the lone ordinary child am

    Saturday Woodcutter is tired of being the lone ordinary child among her magically gifted siblings. Even with an enchanted sword to call her own, Saturday fears she is never destined to have a great adventure like her sister Sunday or travel the world like her sister Thursday. The idea of Saturday ever being the stuff of songs and ballads like her older brother Jack is downright laughable.
    Then Saturday accidentally creates an ocean outside of the Woodcutter family home and sets sail on a pirate ship.

    Unfortunately, Saturday's first adventure is cut short when a witch kidnaps her. Saturday is whisked to the Top of the World and embroiled in the witch's evil plans. Even with her magic sword and sensible thinking, Saturday isn't certain she has what it takes to stop the witch and save herself--let alone anyone else. But she is certain that she has to try in Hero (2013) by Alethea Kontis.

    Hero is a sequel/companion to Kontis' earlier novel Enchanted. (Enchanted was Sunday Woodcutter's adventure. And while the same characters feature and references are made to the events of Enchanted in Hero, you could probably read this one without reading the first book and still enjoy it.)

    Hero is full of the wit and nods to familiar tales that readers of Enchanted will expect. This time around Kontis also creates a tighter narrative with smoother plotting and more surprising twists (including a very surprising one at the end!). Peregrine is an excellent foil for Saturday. The two together are as memorable as they are formidable. Their unlikely pairing also provides ample opportunities for gender bending as traditional roles are flipped or just thrown out the window.
    Saturday is a great heroine. She is tough, surly and she hates all things romantic. (Don't even get her started on magic and all the trouble it causes.) She is also massively tall and often rude and obnoxious to strangers (or relatives . . . or friends). Which is to say that Saturday is an incredibly human protagonist. She makes quite a few mistakes throughout the story and she carries more than her share of guilt over said mistakes. But at the same time she is proactive and selfless in a way that heroines don't always get to be when a fairy tale atmosphere comes into play.

    Hero is another excellent installment in the Woodcutter Sisters story and a mandatory read for anyone looking for an antidote to the typical princess story. With a central arc that resolves nicely Hero still promises even more adventure and mayhem to come for the kingdom of Arilland and the Woodcutter family.

    Possible Pairings: Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine, Entwined by Heather Dixon, Rapunzel's Revenge by Shannon Hale, Dean Hale and Chris Hale, The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy, Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones,Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier A Well-Timed Enchantment by Vivian Vande Velde

    *This book was acquired for review from the publisher at BEA 2013*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2015

    Saturday

    Better than the last one! She's outdone herself once more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

        

        

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1