Customer Reviews for

Hero (Cat Star Chronicles Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

the latest Zetithian science fiction romance also contains the most powerful Cat Stars Chronicles coupling to date

Since his brother Tychar found his soul mate (see Rogue), Trag the Zetithian is depressed though he feels great for his sibling as he wants the same thing for himself. An outlaw on many planets, he is careful even when he offers to pay for sex; his talent insures he ne...
Since his brother Tychar found his soul mate (see Rogue), Trag the Zetithian is depressed though he feels great for his sibling as he wants the same thing for himself. An outlaw on many planets, he is careful even when he offers to pay for sex; his talent insures he never has to remit any money as women find him to be the sexual encounter of a lifetime. Still he dreams of meeting a female especially from his now destroyed species, but fears no soulmate exists for him. He is especially despondent when he is with his few surviving male brethren (including his brother) as each has found their females.

Micayla leaves her home world of Earth for the first time in her life. She feels lonely but accepts a truism that men or women don't turn her on and that somehow she is different than her family and friends. That changes in an instant gut changing observation of the back of a stranger who she finds desiring. However, when she meets the hunk who she wants, instead of jumping Trag's bones as her inclination screams inside her, she rips his skin off blaming him for her unwanted desire.

While the overarching story line involving the pandemic destruction of a race and their planet moves forward with insight into who committed the atrocity, the latest Zetithian science fiction romance also contains the most powerful Cat Stars Chronicles coupling to date. That says a lot as previous tales like Fugitive, Rogue, and Slave are excellent. Readers will relish this pairing of two of the universe's loneliest people; as Micayla makes Trag dance the Macarena to snare his soulmate.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

good story, just a lot or (porn)sex

I LOVE the story line, but I think the soft/hard core porn sex is a bit overdone...sell it as sexual sci fi if you want, but I hate to see such a good story line, and yes, I did read some of the others, but the porn was a bit much...I mean, I got the idea after the seco...
I LOVE the story line, but I think the soft/hard core porn sex is a bit overdone...sell it as sexual sci fi if you want, but I hate to see such a good story line, and yes, I did read some of the others, but the porn was a bit much...I mean, I got the idea after the second description,, and on and on and on...not suitable for some of my friends or even me....Keep writing, you have good story ideas, and good characters, just clean up the act a bit...

cdlpeke

posted by cdlpeke on January 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    the latest Zetithian science fiction romance also contains the most powerful Cat Stars Chronicles coupling to date

    Since his brother Tychar found his soul mate (see Rogue), Trag the Zetithian is depressed though he feels great for his sibling as he wants the same thing for himself. An outlaw on many planets, he is careful even when he offers to pay for sex; his talent insures he never has to remit any money as women find him to be the sexual encounter of a lifetime. Still he dreams of meeting a female especially from his now destroyed species, but fears no soulmate exists for him. He is especially despondent when he is with his few surviving male brethren (including his brother) as each has found their females.

    Micayla leaves her home world of Earth for the first time in her life. She feels lonely but accepts a truism that men or women don't turn her on and that somehow she is different than her family and friends. That changes in an instant gut changing observation of the back of a stranger who she finds desiring. However, when she meets the hunk who she wants, instead of jumping Trag's bones as her inclination screams inside her, she rips his skin off blaming him for her unwanted desire.

    While the overarching story line involving the pandemic destruction of a race and their planet moves forward with insight into who committed the atrocity, the latest Zetithian science fiction romance also contains the most powerful Cat Stars Chronicles coupling to date. That says a lot as previous tales like Fugitive, Rogue, and Slave are excellent. Readers will relish this pairing of two of the universe's loneliest people; as Micayla makes Trag dance the Macarena to snare his soulmate.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    You Need to Grab a Copy of This Book!

    Originally posted at: www.whippedcream2.blogspot.com ***** How do you know that you are falling in love when you don't even understand what you are? Take two aliens from a destroyed planet with unknown mating rituals and watch what happens when they get together. It's a comical challenge because they have absolutely no idea what's going on.

    This is the story of Trag. Even if a reader has never read any of the other stories in the Cat Star Chronicles or the one about his brother, Tychar, in Rogue, this book stands alone just fine. The only reason I'd recommend reading Tychar's story is to understand the depths of loneliness that Trag endures. For this reason especially, Hero already has a certain warm spot in my heart.

    Micayla is away from Earth for the first time. She doesn't understand why her libido is dormant. She is just not interested in guys the way her friends are. She is awfully good at her job, however, and she takes pride in her efficiency. Sure, she's often wondered why she looks a little different than her step-mom, but she had a great time growing up and she knows she's loved. But something never felt quite right. Until one day the sighting of the back of a mysterious man sets her pulse pounding. How odd is that? For Micayla, very odd, and it's the beginning of her journey to finding out about herself and what makes a man interesting to her. Too bad when she finally meets him, she reacts to him with a vengeance. And not in a nice way. Personally, I found it very funny. His reaction is just as interesting because he's perplexed, affronted and not a little bit hurt.

    I liked Micayla. She's clever, thinks well on her feet and when she calls someone friend, she stands by them.

    Trag is a man who, by the choice of his friends, is termed an outlaw. He's not really, but to certain planets he's classified as one. So he has to be careful. He seeks solace from paid women, who never charge him because of his 'talents'. Believe it or not, it's a good thing he does, because it plays a key role later in the book. He's a lonely man who has pretty much insured he'll never get his own happily ever after because he wants what he can't have - a Zetithian woman. The planet was destroyed with all souls lost and that's pretty much how Trag feels - lost. There is a lot of heartfelt emotion in this story because of it. I wanted Trag to be happy especially when he's surrounded by all his brethren, the last remaining Zetithians. Of them, he is the only one unmated, left out. The author did a wonderful job in reaching that part of me that wants to reach out and hug him.

    Ms. Brooks was brilliant in her choice of conflict. Micayla and Trag both want one another but the mixed signals, the confusion, the hurt feelings stemming from so many unknowns about their innate instincts have them running around in circles. Compound the situation with mistakes and making erroneous assumptions and I wondered how in the world they'd come to realize they were falling in love. Some of their reactions and dialogue were hysterically funny, some were annoying and some just broke my heart.

    If that conflict isn't enough, readers finally find out who blew up the Zetithian home world in the first place. This is a major revelation with lots of intrigue, power plays and dastardly doings. The reason for it all only makes sense if the villain is crazy - which I think to be the truth. But the villain is crazy genius which makes it all the worse.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    good story, just a lot or (porn)sex

    I LOVE the story line, but I think the soft/hard core porn sex is a bit overdone...sell it as sexual sci fi if you want, but I hate to see such a good story line, and yes, I did read some of the others, but the porn was a bit much...I mean, I got the idea after the second description,, and on and on and on...not suitable for some of my friends or even me....Keep writing, you have good story ideas, and good characters, just clean up the act a bit...

    cdlpeke

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG!!!

    I absolutely loved this book and couldn't put it down from the moment I bought it (which was Wednesday and finished it Thursday)!!! Brooks, this series will stay in my collection for a long time; keep'em comin'!!! For those of you who have not been fortunate enough to read this series, you should consider trying it out (especially if you like a little sci-fi mixed in with your sex)! Personally, I can't wait to find me a Cat! Until then, I will spend the rest of my time trying to figure out how to make SNARD! I'm going to be rich!!! Happy reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    Sixth book in Cheryl Brooks' Cat Star Chronicles, Hero is the st

    Sixth book in Cheryl Brooks' Cat Star Chronicles, Hero is the story of Trag. We met Trag in book number four, as the brother of Tychar. Trag is unique in that he wears his emotions on his sleeve. He's not afraid to put his feelings out there. He's also unique in that while all the other Zetithian survivors are falling for Terran women, Trag is holding out for a women of his own race, even if one no longer exists due to the destruction of his home world.
    There's one. Micayla was raised on Earth. When they meet under the most unusual of circumstances and find themselves together for a lengthy voyage on a spaceship, it gets VERY interesting. This couple is subject to instincts and a biological mating ritual neither understand and both mistake as dislike rather than attraction. The sparks really fly in this one. Nothing in this story will disappoint. And if you've been reading the entire series, there's a special treat for you in the ending of Hero. Satisfaction Primo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Starryriver

    Sat in front of her ancestors and a she cat came up "mother" starryriver whispered. Her mother camr up and said "for this life i give you the will to fight and protect your clan." It felt like a lightning bolt struck her. A kit came up "my stillborn" starryriver breathed. The kit said "for this life i give you the will to love and lose" the life was gentle and warm. They were followed by 6 other familiar cats who gave her her lives. Most of them were painful. She got up shaking and one more cat came up "daisythorn" starryriver said in astonishment. Starryrivers sister smiled." For this life i give you the strenght to choose the good over the bad and with this life i give you your leader name you will help your clan prosper starrystar" this was the most painful like a thousand claws searing into her but strangely it invigorated her too. She smiled and left

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Hanger

    ~ David

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Furyfang and kits

    Watch

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Foreverdead

    "I'm here to recieve my nine lives" the grey she said.-Foreverdead of thornclan (llocated at jeh all results. In need of members)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Infernofrost

    I look around, appearing tired, despite the fact StarClan cats technically don't need sleep.+Infernofrost

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Angelsong

    A white she-cat with blue eyes came in. "I have been wandering for moons, a spirit. Finally, I can rest."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Shadowlightning

    Shadowlightning[~•~] She furrows her brows then looks back at the starry cat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Orangestar

    I dont care you should be in the dark forest your cruel CRUEL*he roars at the top of his longs

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Liongod

    I did nothing!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Amberleaf

    Sighs

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Stardust

    Go in peace orangestar and follow the stars as tbey guide you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Stoneshard

    Firebird (former warrior)- a life of justice
    Sugarfoot (former queen)- a life of tireless energy
    Coldwind (his mom)- a life of compassion
    Spicetail (his apprentice)- a life of mentoring
    Featherlight (former warrior)- a life of loyalty
    Bravesoul (former deputy)- a life of courage
    Dawnstar (former leader)- a life of nobility
    Redhawk (his brother)- a life of trust
    Hopeleap (his sister)- a life of hope
    Stoneshard, you are now Stonestar!!
    I'll do my best to lead SnowClan!!
    ((Sorry this is so short, I G2G2B

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Hawkstar to Bluestat

    May my Clan fight?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    H

    Flowermist:
    "With this life i give you patience. Use it to handle excited kits," she mews with a glance at Rainkit.

    Rainkit:
    "What? I didnt do anything. With this life i give you honesty. Never lie to your clan, unless it is truly necessary." He says, glaring at his grandma.

    Flowermist:
    "What? What did i do?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Shadesong

    Liongod if you so much as thought of killing Amberleaf i will have you thrown out. Lets get that straight. I would do this to anyone in my clan

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5