Customer Reviews for

Hero

Average Rating 4.5
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

great book!

This book is just one of a kind! Never before have I seen romance, fiction, and perseverance so wonderfully combined. The author really knows just when and how to pull at your heartstrings with Thom's ups and downs. Loved every page in this book, and I'm sad that it's o...
This book is just one of a kind! Never before have I seen romance, fiction, and perseverance so wonderfully combined. The author really knows just when and how to pull at your heartstrings with Thom's ups and downs. Loved every page in this book, and I'm sad that it's over...at least for now!

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

parental advisory

I bought this book for my middle school aged son based on the jacket description and the background of the author (executive producer of The Chronicles of Narnia films). We were both surprised at the language used, but he liked the story and that wasn't a big deal. Ho...
I bought this book for my middle school aged son based on the jacket description and the background of the author (executive producer of The Chronicles of Narnia films). We were both surprised at the language used, but he liked the story and that wasn't a big deal. However, he got to a point in the book where the character goes to the computer to do his homework (?) and says something like, 'but of course I went straight for the porn'. Not my idea of what a 'hero' ought to be doing in his spare time....

posted by Anonymous on April 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Julie M. Prince for TeensReadToo.com

    Thom Creed is your average, everyday teenager. Except that he's prone to seizures. And he's gay. Oh, and he's the son of a superhero. An ex-superhero, actually. One who is shunned by the League as well as nearly every member of society. Oh, and Thom has superpowers of his own. <BR/><BR/>Obviously, life has never been normal, but Thom does his best to fit in. He shines on the school basketball team and does volunteer work while holding down three jobs. Until a series of events that would swallow any other kid whole sends Thom reeling into the very world he's been kept away from his entire life: the world of superheroes. <BR/><BR/>Now, while still trying to learn everything he can about his powers, the mysterious disappearance of his mother, and his own unexplored feelings, Thom is faced with new challenges. What he learns is that nothing is as it appears. Nothing and no one. <BR/><BR/>A plot- and action-driven novel, this book is ground-breaking in many ways. Not just in the obvious ways that one might think, although it is interesting to have a gay, teenage superhero as a protagonist. What kept me riveted was the look Moore offers at society. Our tendency to build people up and glory in tearing them to shreds and examining what's left. We thrive on heroes and everything they stand for, and yet, we're never content, as a people, to allow the heroes to enjoy the very things we want them to protect, like humanity, freedom, and individualism. <BR/><BR/>This book is smart. It keeps the reader engaged with a fast-paced scenes and one intriguing character after another while it conveys a message of redemption.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unique

    This was a unique, genre-busting novel that managed to tackle societal issues while remaining interesting. People will enjoy this book either because they felt a gay superhero was needed or simply cause it was action packed. The writing wasn't the best, and sometimes hard to follow, but the characters themselves were diverse and engaging. It also had enough super hero cheesiness to make it charming. Brilliant.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Coming of Age Story for Superheroes

    I spent my day off yesterday reading this book. It's not perfect- there was a lot of originality in the next gen superheroes, but many of the League member were familiar characters with new names grafted on (Justice/Superman/Nightwing, Warrior Woman/Wonderwoman, and so on)- but I found it to be daring and well written. Thom read like a real teenager struggling with the fact that he's different, and with the way relationships with parents change as one grows older.<BR/><BR/>Someone on the teen reads board at BN.com was complaining quite a bit about how inappropriate the "masturbation scene" was... First, it's not really a scene per se, as much as it is Thom revealing how he struggles to enjoy his sexuality while dealing with his certainty that his father will not approve. He does look at a gay pr0n website, but there's no gratuitous description, other than Thom saying he likes butch, hairy types. Honestly, I found the book to be totally appropriate for its age range; Thom is in high school, and acts like a high schooler.<BR/><BR/>I found that the book worked on the level of simply telling the superhero story; it's pretty funny, actually, while recognizing most of the superhero tropes from comic books and graphic novels. This is an AU where superheroes are the norm, and the League holds tryouts for new members. The most secretive of the heroes is actually working outside the League's approval, as is Thom's father, a disgraced Batman-figure (he has no super powers, just skills and a sense of vigilante justice). It's an intersting take on the genre, sort of what the world was probably like in The Incredibles before the supers went underground. Thom, on the other hand, wants to be a real, approved hero, but that means risking alienating his father.<BR/><BR/>Add to that fear of alienation the fact that Thom is also gay and closeted, and he's a young man with a lot of secrets, whose journey is simply learning how to be himself and be comfortable with who he is. His story of dealing with his sexuality was touching, for me, especially as he deals with his first crush/relationship at the same time that he is outed.<BR/><BR/>I think this would be an excellent read for any teen, gay or straight, because the real message is one of self-discovery, self-acceptance, and finding one's place in the world.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Hi, my name is Thom

    HERO is a gem of a book. Packed with touching story-telling and relatable characters, Perry Moore delivers a tight superhero novel that I could barely put down. A page-turner to say the least, the last adventurous chapters made me hold my breath as Thom made some of the most difficult choices a young adult should ever make. Filled with simple, tender moments inspired by Moore's actual father, the book finds the awkwardness in a father-son relationship as Thom comes to term with his sexuality. I can just imagine Moore with his fist clenched, about the knock on his father's bedroom door, ready to finally breakdown a talk. Along with the inter-family drama comes an enormous world brimming with colorful super heroes and the citizens who want to be them. HERO did not disappoint me in my journal and secretly made me wish it was illustrated so I could see the images Moore wrote. Perhaps a movie deal?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    Thom Creed is your average, everyday teenager. Except that he's prone to seizures. And he's gay. Oh, and he's the son of a superhero. An ex-superhero, actually. One who is shunned by the League as well as nearly every member of society. Oh, and Thom has superpowers of his own. Obviously, life has never been normal, but Thom does his best to fit in. He shines on the school basketball team and does volunteer work while holding down three jobs. Until a series of events that would swallow any other kid whole sends Thom reeling into the very world he's been kept away from his entire life: the world of superheroes. Now, while still trying to learn everything he can about his powers, the mysterious disappearance of his mother, and his own unexplored feelings, Thom is faced with new challenges. What he learns is that nothing is as it appears. Nothing and no one. A plot- and action-driven novel, this book is ground-breaking in many ways. Not just in the obvious ways that one might think, although it is interesting to have a gay, teenage superhero as a protagonist. What kept me riveted was the look Moore offers at society. Our tendency to build people up and glory in tearing them to shreds and examining what's left. We thrive on heroes and everything they stand for, and yet, we're never content, as a people, to allow the heroes to enjoy the very things we want them to protect, like humanity, freedom, and individualism. This book is smart. It keeps the reader engaged with a fast-paced scenes and one intriguing character after another while it conveys a message of redemption. **Reviewed by: Julie M. Prince

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Goes to show that superheros aren't just those with superpowers.

    AMAZING! As a comic book fan, I thought this was a good novel overall. The main character, Thom, wasn't as flushed out as I would have hoped when I started reading it, but as I read more into it, I began to identify with him. I would have liked it more if Moore gave more detail to the world he created. I felt that there could have been more of a back story to the League and to the overall history of superhero's in the world that Thom lives in. Out of all the supporting characters though, I thought Typhoid Larry was a great addition to Thom's band of superhero tryout hopefuls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hero, a novel

    Entertaining.Heart-touching.Amusing... With his watered-down, lukewarm super heroes, like Warrior Woman (Wonder Woman), Uberman (Superman), and Silver Bullet (Flash), they are surprisingly human and very believable. This is a story of teen Thom Creed's coming of age, and his discovery of his powers, hidden sexuality, and the mysteries of his life surrounded by heroes. I look forward to the next book Perry Moore writes. I really enjoyed "Hero".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A breath of fresh air

    After a year of putting it off, I finally borrowed the book from the library to give it a try. 24 hours later, I had finished it was eager to purchase a copy for myself.

    What I love about Moore's HERO is how different it is from so much of the gay fiction that is out there. I felt lost in a sea of erotica when all I wanted was an enjoyable work of fiction that didn't center around sex. Moore managed to deliver just what I wanted and then some.

    Much of the criticism surrounding this book center around the writing itself. And I will admit, that the end does get a bit melodramatic and there are some holes in the plot. But I found all of this forgivable in the end as I enjoyed every second reading it.

    I found HERO to really be an inspiration. For a gay man wanting to write gay-themed fiction, I thought there wasn't a place for any such thing in the current publishing world. But Moore's writing has given me faith in my own abilities and proved gay fiction doesn't have to be all about sexual interactions to be successful.

    I encourage everyone to give the book and try. See for yourselves. We need more of this in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mesmerizing

    I couldn't put the book down until I reached the last page. It started slow but quickly picked up pace; after that a string of events came along and kept me on edge. There were a lot of twists and turns. The actions were definitely engaging. The characters were well developed with layers of feeling and facades. The heroes were not always bathed in glory and the villains weren't just simply there to polish the good guys.

    Even though the genre is fantasy, the book has enough realism to get your sympathy for the characters, and maybe you could even find yourselves in those people. It's just not about superheroes but also people who struggle to find themselves in the mist of doubt, betrayal, rage and disappointment, to overcome their inner obstacles and become defined.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    Great book.

    When I started reading this book, I thought, wow, this is cool. Then I found out he was gay... I thought about putting it down and going onto another book, but then I decided that the fact he was gay would probably lead to interesting plot, and, since the author had already proven his talent, it was well worth continuing, and I loved it.<BR/><BR/>The characters in this book appeared very realistic to me. They all had pasts and memories that sculpted their personalities in my mind, and I loved Thom's memories. They were great memories anyone would love, with the backyard grilling and exploding beers. <BR/><BR/>This book was also interesting in the fact that it integrated numerous superheros that were part of real life comics and included them in a cool way. It was, overall, corny with all the capes and dazzling costumes, but it was corny in the best, most original way.<BR/><BR/>Even with the great characters, writing, and such, there was one thing that kept bothering me throughout it; the fact he was gay. I would have been fine with it if he didn't indulge so much in the gay porn, gay fantasies, and the make out scene, but they were there and it was really, really awkward for me to read it. Even so, I knew this was just the fact that I wasn't gay that made me think in that way, so I kept going, and everything else more than made up for it. Perry Moore is a great, talented writer, and I'm glad to have read this book.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    MY Hero

    I really liked this novel. I would have never guessed it for a teen book. It spoke to me on so many levels. I know when I can identify with the character and place myself in the story, the author has done an incredible job. I also know that when it is over and the last page has been read, and I feel an empty feeling in my stomach when it is over, it will be a book that I will reread several times over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1