Customer Reviews for

The Hero and the Crown

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2004

    My Favorite Book!

    I read this book in the sixth grade in 1990. I proceeded to read it six times in the following six years. That's how good this book is! This book has a great main character. I enjoyed the strong yet somewhat vulnerable female aspect.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite book of all time! Seriously!!

    My mother gave me this book when I was about 15 and I am so glad that she did! I think that it is wonderful! And after 4 years, it is still my #1 favorite book!!! Aerin is so courageous and learns to fight her way in life. She is a kick-a** woman. I love this book because there are very few stories out there with a female as the hero and I could connect with it a lot more. I also really liked this book because McKinley creates her own land and her own animals. There is a bit of magic in here, but no broomsticks and spells which I love because I don't like too much magic. This book is truly the best book out there and I know that I will continue to love it until I die...that's how awesome and amazing it is!!! I recommend this book to anyone who loves good fantasy and captivating plots and characters. The people who don't like this book must be crazy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    Wonderful!

    I read this series : 'Hero and The Crown' 'The Blue Sword' very passionate. Mckinley's books are very poignant and exquisite!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2007

    REALLY GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!

    THIS BOOK WAS FLIPPING AWESOME! I LOVED IT!! The characters were well developed, the story original, funny, and realistic. Instead of the girl being a happy-home-maker, she was a fierce warrior, and I LOVED that. I mean, gosh! She's so awesome! And it ended well. This book was TOTALLY worth reading, and I want to read it again just thinking about it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    One Of The Best Books I Have Ever Read!!!!!!!

    I loved this book. I read THE BLUE SWORD first and enjoyed it so much that I looked for other books by that author and found this one. The sword fights and magic thrilled me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    Exciting

    I thought this was an excellent book and if you enjoy books about a romantic fairytale with dragoons and nonhuman events then this will be a book you can not put down. I think this book has inspired me to read the also famous 'The Blue Sword'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2005

    INCREDIBLE.

    This book was an amazing read and I was extremely impressed with it. I stayed up all night to read it, and I couldn't seem to put it down. I highly recommend this book, it was very interesting. Although I wasn't too impressed with Spindle's End, this book exceeded my expectations and was a heart throbbing read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2005

    This book is the number 1 MUST read!!!

    This book deserves all of its 5 stars. This medeval novel has much adventure as well as a good old fashioned story.This book won the spot in my top 5 favorite books!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    I couldn't put it down!

    I'm a fantasy fantic, and this was one of the best I've read. The plot was very engaging. I fell in love with the characters and could totally relate with Aerin.I recomend this 100%.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    From the most impressive modern fantasy writer

    This was one of the most integrated books I've read. the story of Aerin was definitely a page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2005

    good book

    this book is very well written a good plot and setting i like it when the hero slay the dragon. it really has a good storyline to it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2004

    It was a REALLY good book!!!

    I think the Hero and the Crown was a good book. See, it's about this girl named Aerin who feels left out from her city and her people because her mother supposedly was a witch. She ends up discovering this ointment-type-thing that is fire-proof. She begins fighting some small dragons that bother her country, and she is always successful. She tries to fight this huge dragon named Maur that could actually destroy her whole country, and gets seriously wounded. She gets healed by a man named Luthe. She ends up fighting an evil sorcerer and finds the Hero's Crown - a crown that is very powerful which her nation needs. She comes back to her country to find that they are being beseiged by the Northeners. To make a pretty long story short, she saves them and marries Tor (the prince) and becomes queen. I'm reading the second book now, and I can't wait to finish it!! You should definitly read this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    The Hero and the Crown. McKinley, Robin. New York: Greenwillow Books. 1984. 246.

    I loved 'The Hero and the Crown' for its emursing storyline. The main character, Aerin, is shy and submissive in the beginning, but after she recovers from the surka poison, she sets off on Talat to conquer the small dragon(s) that terrorize the land. After the first fight with a dragon, Aerin realizes that kenet alone is not enough to beat a dragon. When the great black dragon Maur appears, she sets off to fight him... I personally would read this book again and also the sequel to this book if I had the chance because it is a wonderful story. This is, in my opinion, a book for many ages, but discretion should be used. A few moments have bits of gore and some words that are considered to be 'curse' words in our times, but are used to describe what they were originally used to mean.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    Great Read!!

    Robin McKinley brings her talent very richly in this novel. It was her greatest book yet. I only had one problem with it though and that was the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    Hero and the Crown

    Before I read this book I didn't know what a good book really was. I was truly impressed at how well together this novel has been written. This tremendous novel is all about a girl named Aerin who's a girl with a destiny like no other. Even though she is the King's daughter she has never meant to be the future queen, mostly because of the story of her mother, a witch women from the north. Everyone knew the story, but an important detail has been forgotten about the royal family, and the Gift. In her search for the details of her past and Damar¿s future she follows her dreams to a man that says he can help her, but has she come to late, and not only for her, but did she arrive to late to save her father's kingdom, too. The book has a little bit of something for everybody, moving from romance to action. Every letter from the first sentence to the last word flowed together like poetry. Anybody who enjoys a good action packed book with the beheading of dragons, the fight for love between two lovers, and an ancient crown with an unstoppable power, would love spending time with this flawless book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    Hero and the Crown

    This magnificent novel has led me to a deeper appreciation of literature. With spellbinding twists and turns in the plot to keep you reading for hours on end. It is the story of Aerin , the daughter of the king and a witch women. As she saves her fathers kingdom from peril after peril. It is a story of love and battle. It¿s words will intoxicate you with a love for reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    I'm not a real fan of fantasy, but this book changed my mind!!

    This book was amazing. Usually if I go into a book thinking that I won't like it, I usually don't. This was a book that I went in thinking I wouldn't like it, but I was really really wrong. The author so vividly wrote about everything. At times, I didn't even see words, I was invisioning everything perfectly, as well as feeling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2003

    Robin McKinley does it again

    Robin McKinley never fails to excite me. Her books are so realistically written. I get a perfect image of what she describes as I read along. Sometimes I even felt as if I was actually there galloping along with Arein. This book is perfect for those who love fantasy adventure. If you enjoy reading then you MUST read this book, otherwise you're missing out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2003

    Astoundingly Realistic!

    I admit, I am an absolute book fanatic. I read almost constantly, and I've read so many books that sometimes they seem to run together. No matter what anyone else says, I was hooked on this book from the beginning, and it carried me on 'til the end. I could say that this is my all-time favorite book, and that would be an understatement. This was a spectacular book and I would DEFINITELY reccomend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    This book is beautifully, flawlessly, written

    This book is so beautiful. I cried with Aerin, laughed with her, sighed with her, almost died with her. This is a story that will touch your heart and give you a new perspective on life. Aerin is the only child of the king of Damar, and she is looked down upon by all but a few. The court gossip says that Aerin is the child of the enemy. Her mother was a woman of the North, where Damar's most hated and feared enemy lives. They say that Aerin is 'half-North', and she too is feared. Aerin herself is lonely, and she feels terribly forgotten. She also knows that she is different, and that someday she will have to leave the only home she has ever known to find her destiny. This book was beautiful. If you don't read it you will miss the adventure of a lifetime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6