BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Hero and the Crown

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    READ ALL ABOUT THE HERO AND THE CROWN!!!!

    I woul recommend this book to all you people's who love reading fantasy and award winning books. It's a great way to build your fantsy knowledge.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2002

    THIS WAS WONDERFUL

    omg!! THIS BOOK WAS WONDERFUL. IF U LIKE ANYTHING THAT HAS TO DO WITH FANTASY U WOULD LOVE IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    fantasylover

    I loved this book! Robin Mckinley is a sensational author. You think you know what is going to happen, then you begin to doubt yourself, and then your back to square one. Mckinley has a truly unique writing style and if you like fantasy books you'll love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2002

    So good!!!

    To describe this book in simple words all that comes to mind is 'fabulous', there is no other word for it, I loved it so much. I think that what I liked most about is how from the beginning you feel a connection with Aerin, when she suffers you suffer, when shes happy your happy. The author did a great job. The only thing that I did not entirely like was that she falls in love with two guys...I mean I love them both but I would of preferred that she truly just loved one of them, I kinda feel sorry for Luthe.Nevertheless it´s great, I even preferred it to The Blue Sword but that one´s also very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2002

    I Loved It!

    The Hero and the Crown is a great book. There's no way I can describe it really.All I can say is it's great and you should really read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2002

    I loved it!

    This is probably one of my most favorite books Robin McKinley had written. It has brought on soo many good things in my life! (For example, Through the book I met my best friend Rachael which led to my salvation.) E-mail me if you want the whole story... Thank you Robin!!! I will admitt though, I fell in love with Luthe! My e-mail address even relates to the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2002

    So Good!

    All Robin McKinley's books are great, but this I have to say is one of the best. Very capitivating, very detailed, plus you never want it to end! Great and I say screw the grade limit cause anyone should read this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2001

    Robin McKinley is my favorite author of all time!

    The Hero and the Crown was the most amazing fantasy book I have ever read. From Aerin's painful history to her scandelous background comes a story that will always be timeless for me. Damar, that beautiful and dangerous country, facinated me deeply. I have read every single thing by Robin McKinley, yet this would have to be my favorite. It is well written, with characters that express themselves perfectly. The romance situation between Luthe and Aerin rings true til today, with the aching of departure and the agony of separation. The painful ending tore open my heart, and echos in my head literally every day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2001

    AAWWSSOOMMEE!!

    This was deffenitly the best book i have every read. Although in the begining it seems to fiction. Then it all comes together. I have read this book about 5 times and every time I Love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2001

    Great book tells of adventure

    This book is the sequel to the Blue Sword, But even though I haven't read it, I don't feel like I am missing anything. This book is adventurous and informative, a definite best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2001

    The Hero and the Crown

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Its action-adventure theme was outdone only by the fantasy setting and perfect use of deep emotions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2001

    A most spectacular book

    'Refreshing...haunting...an utterly engrossing fantasy!' says the New York Times and that it is. I read mostly fantasy and this is by far one of the best ones I have ever read. I'd heard nothing of this book or The Blue Sword when I bought them and although I haven't read The Blue Sword yet, I find them to be the wonderful work of Robin McKinley.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2001

    A Fantastic Book That Never Gets Old

    I have enjoyed reading this book for 12 yrs. I found it in Jr. High and have continually checked it out every yr. since. The story line is captivating and well written. I never seem to tire reading it. I am now sharing it with my children.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2001

    This book was outstanding!

    I loved this book!Everytime I had to put the book down to do something,I kept thinking about it.I didn't know I could read a book that long in one day and a night!I definetly suggest you read it if you like adventure,a good story,and a little romance.That was the best book I ever read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2001

    Wonderful!

    This was an excellent book! Although the beginning was a bit slow, it quickly picked up pace. I ended up reading the ending almost straight through. It is one of my all-time favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2001

    AWESOME!!!!

    This has become my all-time favorite book! I love it! The langauge was so descriptive it was like watching a movie. The plot had a milloin twists that I never would have expected the kept me on my toes. The first about five pages are a little confusing, but keep at it, it is well worth the effort!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2001

    Loved it!

    I am an avid fantasy reader. I loved this book. It had all the qualities of a great fantasy novel. I absolutely loved it and would recommend it to anyone who enjoy fantasy novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2001

    Great Book!

    As an avid fantasy reader, I'm real picky with my books. This one was great! The setting and characters were well devoloped, and it almost seemed as if you were in Damar! For those who read The Blue Sword (the Hero and the Crown is the prequel to this book), it's really neat how everything ties in to the first book made. It starts out with Aerin (sound familiar?). If you read The Blue Sword, then you know she ends up to be Aerin-sol, Dragon-Killer. This book is all about the legend of Aerin Dragon-Killer. Take my advice-read The Blue Sword first, you'll enjoy the Hero and the Crown even more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2000

    A Crowning Glory!

    This is by far the best book that I have ever read. Aerin is the epitome of a wonderful heroine - stubborn, clever, natural, loyal - in other words, perfect. Tor is lovable and loyal, while Luthe is intelligent and kind. Robin McKinley is a wonderful writer, and I will love this book for years and years to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2000

    I loved this book

    I really liked this book, it is one of my favorites. i read it the 1st time when i was in 6 grade. i liked it then but i picked it up again last night and it was better because i guess i understood it more. i really enjoyed it both times though! i love this book because it has adventure and romance. I feel in love with all the people in the book slimpy for the fact they were there in my book. The hero and the crown is only second in my liking to The blue Sword. they both take place in Damar, the magical world of horses and kings and people with special magical gifts! i loved this book, i think anyone who has read and loved McKinleys novels or just has even a small liking for fantasy should read this book and her sister book( the blue sword.) right away. i read this book 1st and i think you should too. read it and i know you will love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4