BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hero at Large

Average Rating 3.5
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!!!!!

The first and only book i have read by janet....cannot wait to read another!

posted by Anonymous on February 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An Early, But Disappointing Attempt At A Romance Novel

I have been an avid Evanovich fan for quite a while. I find her writing creative, and her characters offbeat and amusing. "Hero At Large" is one of Evanovich's early attempts at writing a romance novel. It is not unusual that when a writer becomes popular, the publis...
I have been an avid Evanovich fan for quite a while. I find her writing creative, and her characters offbeat and amusing. "Hero At Large" is one of Evanovich's early attempts at writing a romance novel. It is not unusual that when a writer becomes popular, the publisher "digs up" early works, and makes them available for fans. What a disappointment! The writing was juvenile, there was no character development, and even less of a plot. The publisher would have been better off leaving this particular work buried. The book was a waste of my time, and my money.

posted by drbook on May 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Loved it!!!!!

    The first and only book i have read by janet....cannot wait to read another!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Pleasant read

    The 'I'm in love with you' happened to quickly, not believable, took from the story. The beginning was somewhat slow, took awhile to develop storyline. Overall decent read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    An Early, But Disappointing Attempt At A Romance Novel

    I have been an avid Evanovich fan for quite a while. I find her writing creative, and her characters offbeat and amusing. "Hero At Large" is one of Evanovich's early attempts at writing a romance novel. It is not unusual that when a writer becomes popular, the publisher "digs up" early works, and makes them available for fans. What a disappointment! The writing was juvenile, there was no character development, and even less of a plot. The publisher would have been better off leaving this particular work buried. The book was a waste of my time, and my money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Light and Fluffy

    This book is predictable but fun. I did enjoyed it and really like Janet Evanovich's writing style. She is able to capture the moments and environment without becoming tiresome. If you need a break from the hectic day to day this is a light read for an afternoon or in a waiting room. It won't leave you riveted but it is enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic Evanovich

    It's not my fave of hers, but it is still good. You gotta love the crazy aunt. There are a few laugh out loud parts that make the book worth while.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's a must read

    The female character could be me. It is a well written book and I appreciated the humor usually began by the male character. I would have liked to see more about the dog. I enjoyed this book alot. I would buy another from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    ohh, if only men were really like this! Great reading!

    I liked this book. It's a typical Janet Evanovich, quirky and funny, with enough romance tossed in to make it interesting. I just wish I could find a real man that's this nice. Hey, this is fiction, and worth reading. She just knows how to write entertaining stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    A must read!

    Loved this book. Endearing and funny to boot! Classic Evanovich.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    A Waste of Money

    I found no value in this audiobook -- There were some comical situations, but the reading was so awful I just couldn't enjoy them. The narrator should read to children, not adults. Her "voices" were not good and not believable. I never got use to her, so I didn't enjoy anything about the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Good

    This wasn't the best love story I've ever read, but it was still pretty good. While the lead characters often acted like hormonally uncontrolled teens, they did have some great moments. There's some wicked humor. From the first meeting where Chris maims him and tells him it's his fault for flirting to her talking about her car and the 'car fairy', she had me laughing. And talk about accident prone. That lady needs a warning label! Aunt Edna was a riot too, talk about incorrigible matchmaker. But the most unincorrigible had to be Ken himself. The man just can't help himself. He's got such a spirit. He'll flirt anytime anywhere, he's also very sweet and good w/both kids and animals, strong yet a little boy hiding behind the man. How he works his way into her life was deviously brilliant. Haha. There was a twist I didn't see coming and how it was righted was so charming. The closer to the end it got, the more it felt like a love story, in that it was so heartwarming. I'd say maybe 3 1/2 to 4 stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    Okay fun read

    Not as funny or well defined as Janet Evanovich's later works but a cute story and quick read; especially good for if stuck in bed recovering/sick.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    Hero At Large

    I am a very big Janet Evanovich fan. I think she does a fantastic job on all her books. This book is great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Loved the book

    I really enjoyed this book! It was so funny! I had to explain myself because I was laughing so hard out loud! Great for a rainy day or if you need a pick me up!
    Read and enjoy!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    I enjoyed reading...very funny in parts

    Not as funny as her Stephanie Plum series but fun to read. I have read every thing she has written...family and friends share the books and laugh till we cry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    This book helps pass a sleepless night.

    Janet Evanovich has given us another light, silly, cheerful book - easy read just for fun. Thank you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    fast,easy read, good for airplane trips

    Janet E, Stephanie Plum books are usually good, the numbered ones are the best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Like all of Janet's books, they leave a smile on your face and wanting to find the hero, too.

    This was another fun Janet read. I have read ALL of the books she has written/co-wrote. I really liked that the main character is a strong independent single mom, and she stumbles across her knight in a big truck.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Just a bit of fluff....

    But can be read in one sitting and has its own charm. You read this type of thing when you need to not think about what you're reading. You have to appreciate it for what it is... a bit of fluff and escapism that will keep you entertained for a few hours.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Hero at Large

    I love Evonivich's works. She if a great writer for light reading.
    I have tried to read all her books.
    This may not have been her best work, but I like her style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Great book

    Excellent reading. Truly enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10