BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Hero of Ages (Mistborn Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 534 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(373)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of the best series in a long while

I have read hundreds and hundreds of books over the years. I can honestly say, that the Mistborn trilogy stands out as one of the best series I have read. The conclusion of this trilogy literally left me with goose bumps. As Vin, Sazed, Elend, and company fight a war th...
I have read hundreds and hundreds of books over the years. I can honestly say, that the Mistborn trilogy stands out as one of the best series I have read. The conclusion of this trilogy literally left me with goose bumps. As Vin, Sazed, Elend, and company fight a war that seems all but over, the thrilling triumph at the end was amazingly original and powerful. I would highly recommend this series to anyone who is a fan of Science-Fiction/ Fantasy. I eagerly await more stories for the world of the Mistborn. The setting, plot, and magic system in this series are all original and well thought out and could very well be the base for a spin-off role-playing game of it's own. I give this series, and especially it's conclusion a definite 5-stars. With his Mistborn series, Sanderson joins the ranks of George R. R. Martin, Terry Brooks, Raymond Feist, and other great Fantasy authors. A definite must read!

posted by ir0nli0nzi0nzbee on September 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing...

I don't want to be a spoiler for anyone who chooses to read book 3, so I'll just sum up by saying this book took way too long to get to a disappointing ending. I really enjoyed book 1 and 2, but this book was hard to get through and when I finally did I thought, "I spe...
I don't want to be a spoiler for anyone who chooses to read book 3, so I'll just sum up by saying this book took way too long to get to a disappointing ending. I really enjoyed book 1 and 2, but this book was hard to get through and when I finally did I thought, "I spent all that time reading these 3 giant books to have it all end like that?" It felt like a waste of time.

posted by TiaS on August 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 373 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best series in a long while

    I have read hundreds and hundreds of books over the years. I can honestly say, that the Mistborn trilogy stands out as one of the best series I have read. The conclusion of this trilogy literally left me with goose bumps. As Vin, Sazed, Elend, and company fight a war that seems all but over, the thrilling triumph at the end was amazingly original and powerful. I would highly recommend this series to anyone who is a fan of Science-Fiction/ Fantasy. I eagerly await more stories for the world of the Mistborn. The setting, plot, and magic system in this series are all original and well thought out and could very well be the base for a spin-off role-playing game of it's own. I give this series, and especially it's conclusion a definite 5-stars. With his Mistborn series, Sanderson joins the ranks of George R. R. Martin, Terry Brooks, Raymond Feist, and other great Fantasy authors. A definite must read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sanderson Comes into his Own

    I originally picked up Brandon Sanderson's work because I am a fan of The Wheel of Time. If you didn't already know, Brandon Sanderson is finishing Robert Jordan's series. Therefore, I decided that I needed to become better acquainted with the author. Quite frankly, Brandon Sanderson is one of the best Fantasy authors of our generation. First, he writes fantasies that stray far from the beaten path. This is an author that is really experimenting with where Fantasy can take us. Second, he has intricate plots. There is a real depth to the structure of his stories. Third, his characters are moving, deep, and complicated. Fourth, the books ask difficult questions. These are always hallmarks of great authors, but the amazing thing is that we have an amazing author in the Fantasy Genre. This is Contemporary Fantasy at its best, and Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn Trilogy sets him up as fantasy megaweight for the foreseeable future.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect ending to an amazing book series.

    The title says it all. Mr. Sanderson had my jaw on the floor with this ending. He closed many of the questions I had asked in the first few books and was nice enough to hint at new ones. This is the first book series that ever left me in joy/sadness tears at the end

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    Another masterpiece by Sanderson

    A fantastic, original story that delivers in every way. <BR/><BR/>The thing I love about Sanderson's writing is that the worlds he creates (this series and Elantris) are solid and believable. His characters are rich and complex. At the first couple of references to Kelsier in this book, I was surprised to find myself getting misty (I haven't had a character do that to me since Druss the Legend, lol).<BR/><BR/>There are a couple of chapters mid-book that are kind of slow; I think this is a common pitfall that many authors fall into (those who write series), in that they have to "catch up" the new readers to the series with background information that isn't always included in the synopsis.<BR/>There were book summaries for both one and two, but they were located in the back of the book rather than in the front. Odd. <BR/><BR/>The book, overall, was a joy to read. Beautifully written, it had everything that one looks for when reading this, or any genre.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic & enthralling

    Great read. I particularly enjoyed the theological musings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ~Epic~

    I just loved this entire series. Brandon Sanderson does a wonderful job clarifing everything. Although I wish certain people didn't die, I am satisfied with the way it all happened and how the Hero of Ages helps everyone! The only downfall I had in this entire series was the lack of humor. It was a very serious story thoughout. Nevertheless, wonderfully written! Does Not leave you hanging or in doubt about what happened. That is a huge plus!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sanderson kept me hooked with The Hero of Ages.

    Brandon Sanderson is one of the greatest science fiction writers of our time. He has an ability to stretch the mind and test societies' conventions. He combines politics, religion, history, romance, and adventure into one compelling novel. The Hero of Ages is the third in the Mistborn trilogy, and it completes the series with amazing revelations and a powerful storyline. Sanderson has created an intricate world in the Mistborn series, one that involves magical powers that come from metals and creatures that are hauntingly human. This final novel follows the journey of Vin and Elend, a ruling couple, as they work to stop Ruin, an evil force of nature, as he tries to destroy the world. If the ever-evolving plot is not compelling enough, then the deep characters will surely keep the reader hooked. Sanderson manages to juggle a complex plot while still developing several powerful characters at once. The novel tells the story from different perspectives, which allows Sanderson to leave the reader hanging at suspenseful points. There were many moments when I found myself tempted to skip ahead to my favorite character's narrative because I was left wanting more. The reader also follows the deeper pursuits of the characters. Sazed, a learned scholar, is one such example. Sanderson uses his pursuit of knowledge to impart with the reader a deeper message as to the elusive nature of truth in the world. I would highly recommend this novel and the rest of the series to anyone who enjoys a rich story that challenges the mind and allows for deeper insight into life. I loved this novel, and I plan on reading more of Sanderson's works because of the Mistborn series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Amazing Conclusion

    I liked the first book very much though i wasn't completely engulfed in it..the 2nd book i was only mildly interested until the last 200 or so pages which is where it got really interesting. but The Hero of Ages literally blew me away. It was at no point predictable. everytime i thought i knew..i was wrong. from start to finish i literally could not put this book down. i found myself thinking about it when i wasnt able to read lol it was that good. Sanderson's belief's really came through in this one and whether you're a believer or not...The ending is so powerful it may just bring you to tears....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The mist clears and guess who is standing there?

    WOW! I have to say this was one of the best Fantasy/Adventure series I have read in a long long time. The magic system is intrigueing, the characters believable and there are contunious twists and turns to keep even the most ardent James Patterson fan hopping. Best of all the end gives you everything, sad,happy,supprised and satisfied. This is a MUST series you will read again and again. Thank you Brandon Sanderson I am off to seek out more of your writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    superb Mistborn fantasy

    As with their first success in defeating evil (see MISTBORN) Emperor Elend Venture and his mage wife Vin thought they were bringing peace to the reign, but they are proved wrong when the foreign armies invaded and opened up the WELL OF ASCENSION. Once again they thought they triumphed over evil, but they are proved wrong again. To close THE WELL OF ASCENSION, they inadvertently liberate Ruin, the malevolent spirit who simply wants to destroy the world. Elend and Vin struggle to prevent this from happening, but also must contend with other evil killers allied with Ruin. They must defeat the lethal Inquisitors, the Deepness deadly mists and the black ash inundating the land and suffocating the crops. Even more desperate than ever, the duo knows their only hope is to find the cache of Mistborn energies atium brilliantly hidden by Elend¿s late predecessor as emperor. --- For every action there is a reaction with the latter at times leading to unintended consequences is the basic underlying principal of the superb Mistborn fantasy trilogy. The story line is fast-paced, filled with stunning plausible twists and an incredible unexpected finish. Readers will appreciate the entire saga as Brandon Sanderson will have his audience applying the overarching theme to the real world. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    great story

    I was very impressed with the invenive conclusion of this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Simply awesome.

    Couldn't put the books down and I recommend these books to all my friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    A beautiful finish to a beautiful series

    Sanderson's plots are amazingly intricate, and the characters well developed. I found the story to be very exciting and I could relate to the characters well. This last installment was not a disappointment at all. I would say that I liked it even better than the previous one. I would definitely recommend reading the Mistborn Trillogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    This book wraps up an astounding series beautifully

    Brandon Sanderson's writing as well as the world he created within these books engrossed me from the beginning. The protagonist, Vin and all the other characters were fantastic and likeable. This book made me happy, sad, excited and curious. I was really invested in the plot and characters as if this was happening here and now. The most astounding thing, though, was the ending to this beautiful series! It was an emotional journey. I cannot say that about most books that I've read. So here I am, writing my first review to say go and pick up this series now rather than later!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    This book is wonderful. It's not perfect and I do have my compla

    This book is wonderful. It's not perfect and I do have my complaints, but if you loved the previous books you'll almost certainly love this one too. It stands at least on par with, if not above, the preceding books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Satisfying end to a great series

    As sad as it is to reach the end of any great series, it is refreshing to have one conclude as well as this one has. The action continues until the very end, with plenty of twists and turns along the way. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A masterpiece.  Did I enjoy this book: You know how it took me

    A masterpiece. 

    Did I enjoy this book: You know how it took me about three days each to finish the first two books in this series (Mistborn and The Well of Ascension)?  Well, it took me darn near three weeks to finish The Hero of Ages, and I’ll tell you why:  it’s just too darn awesome to read all at once. 




    I’m not joking.  Ask my sister . . . I texted her every few evenings to tell her how awesome Book 3 is (which wasn’t annoying at ALL, since she had barely started Book 2).  I had to stop every few chapters just to digest the Awesome, and I’ll be honest, I woke my husband up early on his day off because I needed snuggles after I’d finished Sanderson’s masterpiece.  Yeah, I’m that girl who cries at the end of a really, REALLY good book.  I’m not ashamed (about that, anyway).
    Vin, Elend and the crew deliver – dare I say it? – The Perfect End of the World.




    Would I recommend it: Yes, absolutely.  It’s the best book in the trilogy.




    Will I read it again: Almost certainly.




    As reviewed by Melissa at Every Free Chance Book Reviews.




    (I received a copy of this book for review purposes.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Great conclusion

    !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Best plot ever

    This book series seriously has the best plot ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Phenominal

    An unexpected ending to a thrilling series. All the questions you didn't know you had explained, all loose ends tied up nicely in this exciting culmination of the Mistborn trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 373 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19