Customer Reviews for

Hero of My Heart

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

¿It was messy, inelegant, and definitely dangerous. It was heave

“It was messy, inelegant, and definitely dangerous.
It was heaven.”

I’m betting everyone can guess what that quote is about and it’s a good one.

In the beginning of the book, through a haze of opium and drink, Alasdair raises his head off of the table to see a young w...
“It was messy, inelegant, and definitely dangerous.
It was heaven.”

I’m betting everyone can guess what that quote is about and it’s a good one.

In the beginning of the book, through a haze of opium and drink, Alasdair raises his head off of the table to see a young woman dressed in a too-tight gown, noticeably drugged, and the proprietor of the establishment taking bids for her virginity, at the prodding of a young man behind him.  The younger man would be Mary’s brother… whom you will want to punch repeatedly.

Alasdair realizes that he can’t let her be thrown to the wolves, even if he isn’t right for her, at least he’s better than the other patrons all calling out bids. After he’s “won” her, he brings her up to his room, and after a little fuss, looks at her and says, “Welcome to hell.”

Alasdair is cursed by death, or so he believes, thus his addiction to opium. He continuously tries to warn Mary away, but Mary sees through him and decides to save him (as is written in the blurb). But from there, it’s not only a battle against his addiction, but a battle against time, before Alasdair’s cousin tries to ruin him in front of the London Ton, before Mary’s brother helps Alasdair’s cousin, and tries to get her back, and before Alasdair, himself, decides that Mary is safe enough, and retreat into the sweet oblivion of opium again.

If you’ve ever dealt with anyone who was an addict to anything, or you’ve been in that situation yourself — you’ll be able to relate to this book more so than others… but even if you haven’t — it’s still a great tale of romance, redemption, salvation and freedom.  It deals well with drug addiction, in an almost safe way, placing the story in the past, yet making it relevant to today.

Very well written, with pitfalls along the way for all characters, and feeling pity where you may not have thought possible, I very much enjoyed reading this book.

posted by FaeRhiannon on May 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tiresome plot..............................

First they are brought together through bad circumstance --so far--so good. You've read the synopsis so I won't go there. And as expected they fall madly in love. I would hope so--its a romance novel. And then they spend the entire novel thinking about how much the...
First they are brought together through bad circumstance --so far--so good. You've read the synopsis so I won't go there. And as expected they fall madly in love. I would hope so--its a romance novel. And then they spend the entire novel thinking about how much they love each other and how they are going to leave the other person for their own good. Not out loud of course only to themselves. They have great sex and he is thinking about how its a shame he will have to leave her but its for her own good. They have great sex and she thinks she 'll miss him when she leaves him-- for his own good of course. That's pretty much the story. Except he's an opium addict. But she crushes his pills and in about 48 hours he's over. The author knows nothing about drug addiction if she thinks true love and a few days would cure it. The author has a nice writing style but the characters have no reality. At all. I'm deleting it --Iwon't read it again.

posted by kronan1 on June 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    ¿It was messy, inelegant, and definitely dangerous. It was heave

    “It was messy, inelegant, and definitely dangerous.
    It was heaven.”

    I’m betting everyone can guess what that quote is about and it’s a good one.

    In the beginning of the book, through a haze of opium and drink, Alasdair raises his head off of the table to see a young woman dressed in a too-tight gown, noticeably drugged, and the proprietor of the establishment taking bids for her virginity, at the prodding of a young man behind him.  The younger man would be Mary’s brother… whom you will want to punch repeatedly.

    Alasdair realizes that he can’t let her be thrown to the wolves, even if he isn’t right for her, at least he’s better than the other patrons all calling out bids. After he’s “won” her, he brings her up to his room, and after a little fuss, looks at her and says, “Welcome to hell.”

    Alasdair is cursed by death, or so he believes, thus his addiction to opium. He continuously tries to warn Mary away, but Mary sees through him and decides to save him (as is written in the blurb). But from there, it’s not only a battle against his addiction, but a battle against time, before Alasdair’s cousin tries to ruin him in front of the London Ton, before Mary’s brother helps Alasdair’s cousin, and tries to get her back, and before Alasdair, himself, decides that Mary is safe enough, and retreat into the sweet oblivion of opium again.

    If you’ve ever dealt with anyone who was an addict to anything, or you’ve been in that situation yourself — you’ll be able to relate to this book more so than others… but even if you haven’t — it’s still a great tale of romance, redemption, salvation and freedom.  It deals well with drug addiction, in an almost safe way, placing the story in the past, yet making it relevant to today.

    Very well written, with pitfalls along the way for all characters, and feeling pity where you may not have thought possible, I very much enjoyed reading this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mary Smith finds herself in the most precarious situation, her d

    Mary Smith finds herself in the most precarious situation, her disreputable brother has lost everything after their father has died and now he is offering her and her virginity up to the highest bidder at the local pub.

    Lord Alasdair Thornham has been swimming in an endless trip of opium, trying to forget his past. He sees a beautiful young woman in need of rescue and purchases her from a horrible man. Promising her safety, Lord Alasdair comes up with a plan to marry Mary and give her his titles and money so he can disappear to his opium habit...thinking this will save her and let him carry on as he’s been. Little did he know Mary has other plans.

    Mary sees a man that is in need of a returned rescuing, wanting to help Alasdair deal with any demons that have caused him to take such a life path. 

    Both Mary and Alasdair, must face their pasts before they can decide on what the future might hold.

    Hero of My Heart is definitely a historical romance with strong erotic entanglements. Although the story might not be completely true to the historical “period’s” , I found it very engaging and an enjoyable read. 

    This ARC copy of Hero of My Heart was given to me by Random House Publishing Group - Loveswept in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication on April 8, 2013.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    (3.5 stars¿but I'm willing to round up, because for much of the

    (3.5 stars…but I'm willing to round up, because for much of the book I was so thoroughly involved in the characters and their drama that I could overlook much.)




    What kept me reading was the relationship between Mary and Alasdair, especially their back-and-forth banter. I loved that he was an arrogant aristocratic jerk, but that he knew it and came to know how she'd react to his actions and as a result changed the way he treated people. I liked how they both ended up rescuing each other, even though for so much of the book they were working toward their own (secret, or maybe not-so-secret) agendas. 




    Loved Alasdair. Though I'm still not entirely sure how to pronounce his name.




    However, a lot of belief needed to be suspended for this one. A character is shot, and after having the wound cleaned and it bothering them for a millisecond or so more, everything is soon fine. Another character has an addiction, briefly suffers withdrawal and a relapse, and is also fine. An evil villain magically turns up dead. The HEA ending is really, really quickly (and kind of bafflingly) managed...so much so that the book lost a star right there. 




    Still, I really enjoyed the main characters' personalities and will definitely be looking for more books from this author in the future. It was a fun read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    Hero of My Heart was a delightful read, I enjoyed the storyline

    Hero of My Heart was a delightful read, I enjoyed the storyline very much.
    Mary Smith who is a beautiful & innocent young woman was drugged one night by her half brother at a local tavern who tried selling her virtue to the highest bidder for his own selfish needs. Thank god Alasdair Thornham (Marquess of Datchworth) came along to her rescue, Alasdair knew she was obviously drugged and didn't deserve what was happening to her, and therefore made sure he became the highest bidder and bought her with all good intentions.

    Alasdair and Mary then begin a journey together that you will find sometimes amusing to other times of just pure love, and exciting passion.
    I am very pleased with this read, it was very well written and I highly recomend it to all you who love a historical romance love story with a little bit of excitement thrown in!

    *I received an ARC from the publisher via Netgalley.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Good story!

    I really liked the story, but I think it may be a little bit harder to get off the opium than the story leads you to believe. Alasdair is not that addicted if he can will himself to quit so easily. I really wanted to strangle the brother myself! If you get worked up over unfairness, you may not like this one in the beginning, but it works out in the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Great first novel - liked the different story line of the imperf

    Great first novel - liked the different story line of the imperfect hero. Don't see too many romance novels that actually address drug addictions, many address drinking problems but not to the extent of being an addiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1