Customer Reviews for

A Hero of Our Time

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Good read, definitely worth checking out!

    A Hero of our Time, is a story of a man named Pechorin who goes on many different adventures all over the former Soviet Union while he is traveling on a government errand. He stops off in many different places, each one having a different surprise waiting for him: love, adventure and near death experiences. The first time I heard anything about this book, was from my Russian teacher who had us read one section from the book about a year ago. After I read that one section of the story, I loved it so much that I decided I had to read the whole book. I am a huge fan of the Odyssey and for me, A Hero of our Time, is a book that follows the same kind of storylines about different adventures that cocky, self-confident, superfluous Pechorin under goes. Sometimes it is hard to follow who is narrating the story but that is the only real draw back of the book. Having lived in Ukraine and read this story, it helped me relive some of my fondest memories of friends that I made there because of the way that Lermontov really describes the Russian personalities of the characters in the book. All of the events that happen in the story are actual events that Lermentov underwent in his real life and then published in his work. Without giving anything away, I have to say I think it is pretty funny some of the predicaments that Perchorin gets into. Over all if you are looking for a fun, adventurous read I would highly recommend picking up this book. It is not long whatsoever, but can get a little dry at parts. But if you want to be able to strike up a conversation and have some common ground with any Russian make sure you read this. It is extremely popular in Russian culture, every Russian knows about this book! You will not be disappointed when you finish reading; it is worth at least checking out if nothing else.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    Praise for Lermontov!

    Mikhail Lermontov introduces one of the most complex characters in literary history. As a reader, you will both love and hate Pechorin. This is one of the most gratifying works I have ever read. Witty, philosophical, and audacious, A Hero of Our Time illustrates the intricacies of human desire, love, betrayal, and fate. It is Pechorin's perception of his own existence that makes him a truly unique figure. Plus, the dialogue supplied by Lermontov is nothing short of superb. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Amazing

    A must read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    great book

    One of the best boks in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2005

    a superb story

    a hero of our time is one of the memorable stories I have ever read and it still haunts me with its beauty. In a Quixotic Lermontov effortlessly takes the reader through the beauty of the Caucasian mountains wrapped up with the richness of Pechorin's experiences who is a young officer, an idealist turned cynic. It has been close to a decade since I last read this book, yet it continues to top the list of my favourite books.In a way everybody can relate to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2003

    an all time classic of Russian literature

    To those interested in reading this book in English: you have to be at least acquainted with Russian history and literature of the time, and especially a very complex figure of M. Lermontov as the brightest represenatvie of such in the post Pushkin times. For the most part his poetry and prose are autobiographic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2003

    One of the best books in world literature!

    If you want to read a brilliant psychological masterpiece, you can't find much better than 'A hero of our time'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    Super

    A short work of great power. Satirical, tragic, and lovely written. Lermontov takes you inside the charectors head and leaves you disgusted. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2002

    A dissappointing book of world history

    Mikail Lermontov/A Hero of our Time is a bad book in my opinion. It's about a Russian leader who went to different city's in Asia and Europe and met differnt people. Some people were Bela, who was a girl that was basicaly owned by Pechorin a hunter. Bela was very sweet but died in her twenties. She was stabbed and died a day later. this book is one of the worst books I have ever read. By the way the main character is Maxim Maximych. The first chapter is about Bela and then the second is about Maxim Maximych. The next to were about Taman a town in Russia and a day to day diary on princess Mary. The last chapter is about the fatalist and you will have to read the book to find out who it is. I would not suggest this book to kids or teenagers but maybe to adults. Its not a easy read and sometimes you don't know what their talking about. I don't think there are any real history in this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2001

    A True Classic

    In this brilliantly written novel the protagonist, Pechorin, is a ruthless and selfish individual. He seemingly cares for nothing, certainly not his own life, but while he is alive he figures to refrain from boredom at any cost. This book is written as a peek at a few sections of Pechorin's diary not as a simple story. This allows for a amazing amount of detail on particular individual events that allow the reader to understand the character intimately. 'Notes from Underground' is similar in this fashion. Pechorin is a man who seems to be immoral by all standards, regardless of what 'Time' is being referred to in the title. Pechorin is a man who has an incredible philosophic understanding of his self and rejects all societal decencies. Pechorin is his own man. A 'Hero' because of his independence and his conviction to act in accord with his reason and no one elses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2001

    Pushkins successor

    an anti-hero before there were anti-hero's. exciting page turner. The way he sets up each chapter is as remarkable as the hero or should I say anti-hero. I Read it in one night which is remarkable for a twenty-five- year old male

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1