Customer Reviews for

The Heroes

Average Rating 4
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Another GREAT book!

    It can be read w/out reading the others, but helps if you have read his other books. The characters & plot are well developed. What I like the most is there really isn't "good" vs "evil". You see both sides of the story & you have a hard time "cheering" for one side or the other. Also unlike so many other books, you "may think" you know what is going to happen BUT WHAM, surprise! This is a book for adults: gritty, dirty, some sex, cursing & a lot of blood & gore. I love his other books as well. If you are tired of the same old, same fantasy then he is a must read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    What I'd Expect

    If you liked The First Law series, you'd like this too. The entire story is only about a week long, but you're able to get so intimate with the characters. The cynical humor, and crazy sadistic battles are still there with just as much flare as Abercrombie's previous books.

    This book can be read stand-a-lone, but it's NOT recommended. The reader wouldn't know the situation of the war or the motives of key characters. Not to mention that there's plenty of background you'd need to know for this to actually seem significant. I think the person jumping right into it would be asking why the hell do they care about this war.

    My only gripe and god dang it's a big one; still no Nine-fingers. Stop joshing us Abercrombie, we all know he's not dead, and was by far your most intricate character you've created thus far. And please, stop teasing us with this Wizardry, make a Second Law series already :P

    By the way, it's better then Best Served Cold. On par (or better depending on which parts you liked most) with The First Law series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Though located in the Abercrombie world of the First Law thrillers, this terrific saga can be read without the trilogy

    Union commander Lord Marshal Kroy knows his direct reporting officers are incompetent mostly political appointees who believe they will be the hero of the upcoming combat. None of these egomaniacs has any real combat experience. However, you must play with the deck you are dealt.

    The much smaller opposing force of Northmen is led by Black Dow, who has quite a kill rate. His throne is shaky as his brutal reign is built on his citizens' fear of him and the Union King wants no deadly rival as his neighbor. On top of that Calder wants to replace Black Dow as the ruler arguing for peace in our time. Soon all will converge in a battle for the ages as all of the North land will feel the epic impact for centuries to come.

    Though located in the Abercrombie world of the First Law thrillers, this terrific saga can be read without the trilogy. War enables ordinary people an opportunity to perform heroic deeds (think of the medial of Honor winners). Joe Abercrombie pulls no punches when it comes to combat as masses are fodder for the glory of a general, a king or a country. Yet like U.S. Army staff sergeant Guinta and those listed on the Vietnam Veterans Wall these are the real heroes of battle that Mr. Abercrombie honors when the avaricious leads to insanity by leaders seeking empires.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    best author alive, seriously

    I freakin crave great books, and some of my favorite authors are Thomas Harris, George Martin, Bernard Cornwell, and Vince Flynn. Joe Abercrombie is my new all-time favorite because his writing style and storylines are both top notch. In all of the "First Law world" books he manages to set-up interesting stories with fascinating characters, and then, and heres the really tricky part....he consistently finishes in a satisfactory way. I cant imagine how many highly recommended books Ive read that are well written, and start off great, but then....pssshh...something goes wrong and Im bored, or disappointed with the plot development.
    In The Heroes my man Joe hits a grandslam. This is a great, epic book, vintage Abercrombie. Of all the interesting characters Ive read about over the years, Bremer dan Gorst might be the best. I love that a lot of people cant handle the rawnness of this book, but they couldnt appreciate shows like The Wire either...makes me feel kinda special! But make no mistake, besides being a hell of a tale, this book is truly unique because it looks at war from so many fascinating perspectives. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Awesome! One of my all time favorites!

    Awesome! One of my all time favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    WAR The setting is the fantasy world created by Abercrombie in h

    WAR
    The setting is the fantasy world created by Abercrombie in his previous books. We have met some of the cast of characters before to include Black Dow, Bremer Dan Gorst, the Dogman, and Bayaz. However, we are introduced to many more to include the leadership of the Union forces and named men of the North opposing them. Also as in his previous books, simultaneous characterization of this host of protagonists is excellent, the humor is dark, and the pace is fast. However, what this book is most about from cover to cover is war to include the motivation to fight, tactics and strategy, the character of leadership, the politics of war, and the thoughts, character and courage, or lack thereof, of veteran soldiers and raw recruits. Many of these elements could be applied to warfare at any time in our history to include the present although the weapons, armor and vicious battle scenes are reminiscent of medieval warfare. This book is not for those looking for a fairy tale. However, those wanting their fantasy to be realistic, brutal and peopled by memorable characters with obvious flaws will be extremely satisfied

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Lamb

    Another great book in the joe abercrombi series. Almost as good as best served cold. Almost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Three Days of Amazing

    By taking place over three days, The Heroes ends up being far more focused than the typical fantasy novel. In this case, the world is a fairly dark and real place with magic not having any bearing on the proceedings. But there is a lot more to it than just being gritty, or in the relentlessness of the plot.
    Instead the book is very well paced, allowing room to breathe while keeping the tension high throughout. It never feels punitive or overtly cruel to the characters, and just left me with a sense of appreciating a great story. And in all of this, the variable cast of characters actually show more natural growth and nuance than you would typically see over the course of a mega epic series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome plot. Awesome characters. Awesome battles. It felt real. Joe does a great job in illustrating the full picture. Glory. Fear. Revenge. Wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Shadowfur

    Well i can tell u what im trying to start at the lights im putting together an army of real warriors not just any one who calls them self a warrior well any ones welcome

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Boremeer

    JASON!!! Watch ur mouth fore i slap it! *turns into enormous black dragon and glares at jason

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Thunderclap

    "Good job," the muscular tom praises. "You're pretty quick." Deathwish asks Thunderclap,"May I say a few things?" Thunderclap nods, so he turns to Bravestar and says,"That was good. You ran fast enough that the squirrel didn't see you coming. Your pounce was perfect. But you would've run faster had you started in a hunter's crouch. If that squirrel was farther away, it would've been able to escape. But it wasn't farther this time, so you did very well."

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Love Joe Ambercrombie

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Great

    Great book......from an amazing author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Another solid book

    A good book, though it isnt as well written as the first law trilogy or best served cold, i do love the world abercrombie has created and i hope he continues to write his boks in them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    great read

    Another excellent read from joe abercrombie. Not my favorite of his books but that just speaks to the quality of his previous titles. I would definantly recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of this genre. Looking forward to the next one and can only hope for more development of Caul Shivers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Abercrombie's Finest

    This is a must read, not just for fantasy fans, but for everyone who loves excitement and growing chracters. Abercrombie puts us in the perspective of soldiers on both sides of the battle and across all steps of the social latter. Through the intense events that unfold over the three days of battle, each character develops and undergoes permanent change. Do not miss this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    Latest and greatest

    Joe Abercrombie always offers a good read, but the Heroes takes the cake. He has developed some great three dimensional characters, some good, some bad, some despicable, but always entertaining. Favorites from the first law trilogy are mostly behind the scenes, but the conflict continues to heighten. I can't wait to see what happens ij the next books and I hope there are many more to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    OUTSTANDING!

    I couldn't put this book down. The action is non-stop and the characters are great. And as usual every character has a certain wit and charm about him regardless of what a low life he may be. One of the best books that I've read in the last year and I read alot of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6