Customer Reviews for

Heroes

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    This is a great book

    Heroes
    by Robert Cormier
    This was a very good book, and I really liked it. And I sujest that if you have a chance to read this book you should. I don¿t want to tell you the whole book so im going to just tell you that its about a guy who went to war and when he comes back from war he wants to kill the person that sent him to war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    could have been better

    I finished this book in about an hour. It wasn't much. It's an okay story, the author could have developed a little more. I could say that it is of literary value and a student should read it. In class we had read the first two chapters and practically the whole class got interested. I mean a man without a face, that's pretty cool. I waited a long time to finally read it, but then I realized that I definitely did not need to spend seven bucks on this book. But either way I guess it was worth it because now I wish that there was a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    what a load of old crap!!

    yeah right.. good book, my arse!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    Heroes Review by Josh H.

    Heroes is a story told by Francis Cassavant. The novelist Robert Cormier writes this tale starting when Francis was eighteen and he already fought in a war and lost his face. He lost most of his face when he landed on a grenade to save his own soldiers. He was awarded a Silver Star of Bravery and was called a hero for doing so. His face was so horrible he kept it covered with a white scarf. He had no nose, just holes that he called ¿his caves¿. He also felt he had one last mission when he returned to his small hometown of Frenchtown. To kill Larry LaSalle, his childhood idle. Francis thinks Larry ruined his life. As a result, Francis lost his first true love, Nicole Renords. When he met her for the first time in seventh grade he described her as: ¿the most beautiful girl he had ever seen.¿ As the story unfolds, you will find yourself asking who is Larry and why must he die. While Francis waits to find Larry, he thinks about everything in the past that got him to this point. This leaves the reader to wonder who the hero really is. Francis is tortured not only by his pain from his scarred face but also by his memories from his past. Before the war Francis knew Larry LaSalle as someone who helped him and other kids feel good about themselves. Larry ran the local recreation center, which later was always referred to, as the Wreck Center. During this time, he also met his true love, Nicole Renords. Life was good but that happiness soon ended. Dec. 7, 1941, Japan attacks Pearl Harbor and this starts the war for the country. Francis remembers feeling so proud of Larry for signing up for war until the night before he is to leave, the unbelievable happens. What happens that night with Larry and Nicole will haunt him forever. Francis feels like dying so he ends up joining the war and hoping he will not return. What could be so bad? Now both heroes are back in town and Nicole is still missing. When Francis finds Larry face to face what will happen? Does he complete his last mission? Will Francis ever find Nicole? You must read the book to find out. Heroes kept me turning page after page just to see what happens next. The shocking surprises all throughout the book keeps your eyes glued to the book until the end. The ending leaves you wanting more which makes you have to think on your own about what you think happens next. It read like a good mystery and came together like a puzzle. It was easy to put yourself in the place of the characters and feel what they were feeling. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    These Heroes Don't Fly

    Don't be fooled by the title theres no super heroes in it. This book is about a war veteran named Francis who is going to kill his childhood hero who attacked his freind. I liked this book because it flashbacks to his childhood you find out how he grew up while he is trying to kill him. And the anwsers to all your questions are slowly revealed. This book has action and mystery. Will Francis get revenge? Read the book and find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    Heroes

    I think that this book was a pretty darn good book. It is about a man who went to the war and later got his face blown off. He then starts to look for the man who about took his life away...Larry LaSalle. Later in the book he finds Larry, only to not kill him. I found this to be very awkward. Thinking through the whole book that he was going to kill the man that almost took his life away. I felt sorry for this man, even though it isn't based on a true story, I now know what it would be like walking the streets by yourself and people not knowing who you are because you have to wear a ball cap and a towel over your face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    Short, yet interesting

    The beginning really grabbed me and kept me into the whole thing. It made me see his torn face throughout the book and gave me a sympothy for Francis. Cormier had me feel Francis' anger towards LaSalle after what he did to his girlfriend Nicole. Heroes is a tradgic tale that kept me wanting to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2006

    wow very interesting

    it was a good book considering some war books it was sad, romantic, and the ending makes u think a essential question find out if u read it i read this book in my class i liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    Grt book recommend to all...

    I thought this book was great. It covered so many different aspects that could be identified with the target age. The suspense and cliff-hangers that Cormier intends are great. From the first page when the reader is given all this information on francis and his face... it leaves you wanting more and by the time you know it you've read the whole book. I wish there was a mini drama or film which could show the real true heroes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    what a good book

    Heroes, by Robert Cormeir, is a wonderful book. I would stay up most of the night reading it. I think that it had a lot of feelings in it, how Francis had to live his life as a stranger because his face was blown off by a grenade. This book is probably one of the most interesting ones that I've read in a while. It is so sad what happens to Francis's girlfriend, Nicole, and how one night can change the rest of your life. If anyone is looking for a great book to read, read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2003

    Classic Cormier

    I really enjoyed reading Heros. Though I thought it wasn't one of Cormiers best novels it was still a great Psycological Thriller. Short and Sweet. Good read for young adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2002

    Heroes one of the greatest fiction novels by Robert Cormier!

    This book is the greatest and most discriptive narrative writing I have ever read!!! I give this two thumbs up!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    Be Your Own Hero

    Heros is a fictional book written by Robert Cormier. Francis Cassavant tells his life's story. Larry LaSalle is his boyhood mentor and hero. Through Larry LaSalle Francis is able to gain confidence and self esteem. Nicole is a young woman Francis falls in love with. Larry LaSalle betrays Francis' friendship, and Francis belames himself for Larry's harms. As a result of his guilt Francis looses his newfound self esteem. He enters the Army in World War II to get himself killed. He slowly regains his self esteem after a serious war injury and an attempt to even the score with Larry LaSalle. In the end, Francis finally learns that he is his own hero. He then begins to rebuild his life. Heroes is an interesting and enjoyable story. Robert Cormier does an excellent job describing the tension and anxiety of a young man trying to fit in and be liked. Francis' feelings toward Nicole also realistically portray human emotions. A reader can very much relate to the story. I highly recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2002

    Wonderful Book

    This book is really good. I read this for an 8th grade Lit. project, and I never put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed this book, I chose to read this book for a 'book talk' in my english class because it was short. Well a huge story was crammed into this small book, and it was a thorough, exciting, suspense filled story as well. I am looking into reading more books by him for more 'book talks'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2001

    Outstanding and should be recommended to all viewers!!!!!

    Heroes was a great!! If you like to read books that have problems that u dont know what is going to happen next then u should read this book. There are many kinds of views displayed in 'Heroes'. Robert Cormier, has very good discriptions in the story with a persons feelings, emotions, actions, and reactions. I choose Robert Cormier book 'Heroes' because if has a good sence of direction toward life today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1