Customer Reviews for

Heroes, Gods and Monsters of the Greek Myths

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great Intro to Mythology

My daughter had to read a book on mythology for her middle school language arts class. I found this book on Barnes and Noble and picked it up because the teacher thought that Hamilton and Bulfinch might be too involved for the kids. My daughter was totally enthralled w...
My daughter had to read a book on mythology for her middle school language arts class. I found this book on Barnes and Noble and picked it up because the teacher thought that Hamilton and Bulfinch might be too involved for the kids. My daughter was totally enthralled with the book and has already read many of the stories two and three times. She has confided that if she does not get her degree in the performing arts, she wants to seriously study mythology based on the stories in this book. That is some book!

posted by cancankimber05 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Tjchristian

The facts are all wrong zeus is not the father of all the gods but only a few of them and he is the brother of hades and posidan and he made hera into god but she was origanly a mortal intill she attracted the love of zeus so yeah this book sucks

posted by Anonymous on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Wah

    Got sample. Doesn't show Posiden but he is my favorite. Wish it did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hott Synopsis: As we move from book to book and movie to movie i

    Hott Synopsis:
    As we move from book to book and movie to movie it’s easy to get confused about the basis of these characters. Every author shows the people from the myths to be just a little – sometimes a lot – different than the author before and it’s quite easy to become lost.
    Here’s a tip – Grab “Heroes, Gods and Monsters of the Greek Myths” and keep it on your shelf. It’s a great review item and lots of fun reading too!

    Hott Review:
    What I liked: It is always fun to grab this book to remember who did what and why. It’s been invaluable when we watch movies pre-Percy with the kids because of the subtle differences in characters and situations.
    What I didn’t like: I think I would have preferred this in a more storybook format – but I use it now more than I would have if it were…

    More…
    Source: Open Road via Netgalley
    Grade: B+
    Ages: 12+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Lily

    Cronus is spelt with a c not ak... so get ur facts strait whoever ssid that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Love it

    Great book for fans of the Greek Gods. Loved all the stories

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Kalecy

    A pretty brown headed girl walks in. Shes 14 and skinny. She has a michevious smile and is a good stealer. She likes to wear tshirts with jeans ad converes. She has a past with hades and she can never forget.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Poseidon

    Walks over to lindsy "hey calm down take a deep breath and think about traveling to...japan looking from the top of tokyo tower at night they dont call your dad the god of merchents travelers and thevies for nothin'" he tells her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Linsey

    Okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    This Book Was Great!

    I personally thought that this book was one of the greatest Greek Mythology books that I have ever read. This book really described the charcters and their goals in life in very specific details. I had a English test on this book, and it was a piece of cake. I would really recommend this book to people who are just starting out on learning about Greek Mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    DECENT BOOK

    THE BOOK LOOKS NOTHING LIKE THE PITCHURE ON THE INTERNET. THE BOOK IS NICELY DONE THOUGH. I ENJOYED IT. I LEARNED ALOT ABOUT THE MYTHS OF THE GREEK.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    Great book

    I thoght that this book went into great detail about the basics of Greek Mythology. Most of the books i read after this I could recognize the parts they left out and how poorly they were wrtten but this wasn't anything like that it was EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is a great book to get started out on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2003

    Poorly written

    Although this book had the basic and principle information on greek mythology, it was very poorly written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2003

    Very knowledgeable

    I have read this book since I was seventeen and until today I remember how it has helped me to attain my goals, it made me more ambitious. It is a very exciting book for your readers and should be thought in school for children.I am sure it will help to improve or grow stronger love for one another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2003

    Great book!

    I think this is a great book. Its really good for people who want to learn a little more about Greek mythology. I have always been into the anicent Greeks and their beliefs. I found out new things in this book. Its really good and I think that this is what they should have kids read in school to learn about the Greek Gods and Goddesses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    Amazing Book

    This book turned out to be one of the best books I have ever read. I never knew that Greek Mythology would be fun. I have learned so much about the gods and goddess. It is outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2002

    An interesting, outstanding peice of literature!!!

    I had to read this book for Freshman year at high school and at 1st I thought it was going to be the boringest book I ever read!! But in the end it was so interesting to see that most of our words come from Greek Mythology!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2001

    An amazing piece of literature!

    This is most certainly the best book on Greek Mythology I've ever read! I give it my highest recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2001

    An outstanding peice of work!

    This book triggered all my emotions; I laughed, I cried, I fealt pity, I as angry, etc.. It tells stories of all the main gods in the greek pantheon except a few, and has many stories of heroes and the lesser gods. Altogether it is a stitch in literature not to be missed if you like these kind of stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2000

    I loved this book!!

    It was so interesting and exciting!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2000

    An ExCiTiNg BoOk!!!!!!

    I had to read this book for Summer Reading and at first I thought it would be boring but when I started reading, it was really interesting and good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2000

    I think it will be a great book

    well, for summer reading, 9goinginto 9th grade), they assigned this book at first when i lokked at it, i was only thinking negativly, but after reading the first couple chapters, i started to enjoy it a little bit more. I'm still in the middle of it, im sure it will be a great book, and i cant wait to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3