Customer Reviews for

Heroes, Gods and Monsters of the Greek Myths

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great Intro to Mythology

My daughter had to read a book on mythology for her middle school language arts class. I found this book on Barnes and Noble and picked it up because the teacher thought that Hamilton and Bulfinch might be too involved for the kids. My daughter was totally enthralled w...
My daughter had to read a book on mythology for her middle school language arts class. I found this book on Barnes and Noble and picked it up because the teacher thought that Hamilton and Bulfinch might be too involved for the kids. My daughter was totally enthralled with the book and has already read many of the stories two and three times. She has confided that if she does not get her degree in the performing arts, she wants to seriously study mythology based on the stories in this book. That is some book!

posted by cancankimber05 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Tjchristian

The facts are all wrong zeus is not the father of all the gods but only a few of them and he is the brother of hades and posidan and he made hera into god but she was origanly a mortal intill she attracted the love of zeus so yeah this book sucks

posted by Anonymous on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    Greek Myths Rock!

    I have always loved greek myths and this is a great collection! They are told in a way to grab and hold the readers attention.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    Keeping in mind that this book is geared more towards younger te

    Keeping in mind that this book is geared more towards younger teens/older children - I think it hits it's mark just fine.  My name is Athena - with a name like that I have clearly spent years reading Greek Mythology.  I am no expert and would never claim to be.  Even so, I love the simplification of these characters and how this book is not overwhelming at all for a reader.  I young person cannot really read the Iliad and the Odyssey - but they can read this and really get a feel for some of the amazing characters of Greek Mythology.  I also like the way the book is a small summary of each character.  When reading to my kids I can read about one character at a time and allow them to ask questions and absorb the basic information.  I am glad that I read this book and I give it 4 stars.  




    I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    Greek Myths, of course for you!

    Exciting, funny, adventurous! I'm very picky about books, but this is awesome! Another anthology for my class.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hott Synopsis: As we move from book to book and movie to movie i

    Hott Synopsis:
    As we move from book to book and movie to movie it’s easy to get confused about the basis of these characters. Every author shows the people from the myths to be just a little – sometimes a lot – different than the author before and it’s quite easy to become lost.
    Here’s a tip – Grab “Heroes, Gods and Monsters of the Greek Myths” and keep it on your shelf. It’s a great review item and lots of fun reading too!

    Hott Review:
    What I liked: It is always fun to grab this book to remember who did what and why. It’s been invaluable when we watch movies pre-Percy with the kids because of the subtle differences in characters and situations.
    What I didn’t like: I think I would have preferred this in a more storybook format – but I use it now more than I would have if it were…

    More…
    Source: Open Road via Netgalley
    Grade: B+
    Ages: 12+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Lily

    Cronus is spelt with a c not ak... so get ur facts strait whoever ssid that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Linsey

    Okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2000

    I loved this book!!

    It was so interesting and exciting!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2000

    An ExCiTiNg BoOk!!!!!!

    I had to read this book for Summer Reading and at first I thought it would be boring but when I started reading, it was really interesting and good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2000

    I think it will be a great book

    well, for summer reading, 9goinginto 9th grade), they assigned this book at first when i lokked at it, i was only thinking negativly, but after reading the first couple chapters, i started to enjoy it a little bit more. I'm still in the middle of it, im sure it will be a great book, and i cant wait to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    Really Cool!!

    This is a great book. I had to read it for summer reading and I wanted to see what it was like. I ead the first part and I just couldn't put it down. I really don't like to read but this kept me interested. It is really good!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1