Customer Reviews for

Heroes at Home: Help and Encouragement for America's Military Families

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    Common Sense for a Common Problem

    The book provides insights into the married life of the spouse of a serviceman who stays home while he has gone off on mission. Kay goes where even some professional counselors fear to tread. In order to keep the marriage working, both partners must understand what the other has gone through during the separation. Kay clearly explains how to defuse a marital battle before it starts, using humor that both spouses agree on. The book is clearly good common sense and should be given to `Every¿ married couple in our military. While it is an eye opening read for those new to the service, it should be a handy reference to those already serving ten years plus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2003

    Insightful Read!

    This book welcomed me into the military world from chapter one. You will learn the up...and downs of military life and how to deal with it. This is one I will read over and over again!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    A Book For All Americans

    Thank you, Ellie! The military service man/woman and their families' sacrifices are explained well in this book. The average citizen, and military families as well, will gain insight into the lives our military families lead as we enjoy our everyday freedoms in America as our military service men and woman stand vigilant in their duties. This book is a great salute to the courage and strength of these military members and their families. As an experienced active duty wife, this book gave me new information to use and courage to continue being a support to my husband.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2003

    Wow.....is she ever right

    Reading this book as a military wife I found myself connecting with Ellie in so many ways!! She put together a wonderful piece here and I'm in the process of trying to get a few more of these books to pass out to my military friends!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2003

    An Inspiring Book for Everyone!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Even though I am not related to any military personnel, I do have friends in the military. After reading this book, I have a better understanding and respect for what they do for our country. I also learned numerous ideas that I can put to use in my life. Thanks to Ellie Kay for writing this well needed book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2002

    Home of the Brave!

    Military families are always the silent heroes. Ellie Kay gives praise, hope and humor as they continue to keep the home-fires burning. Americans everywhere can learn from and appreciate the witty and wise words in this book as they relate to the military families. Three cheers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    An Outstanding Survival Guide!

    I¿ve just finished reading Ellie Kay¿s newest book, Heroes at Home and I believe she¿s done it again¿given us something that is practical in application and humorously philosophical. As a veteran ¿mover¿ in the military, she¿s well acquainted with the nuances of such change and prepares her readers to expect the unexpected. This book would be a great gift for the families of those just commencing military careers--as well as for those who are already on the journey. Packed with tips, great biographical sketches of some of her favorite ¿Heroes at Home,¿ and helpful details on the in¿s and out¿s of military life, this book is a sensible survival guide for those confronted with such radical changes that must be handled on short notice. Personally, I thought her ¿Courage Under Fire¿ chapter was the best of all. In it this jet-fighter¿s wife exposes the tender underside of military life, the vulnerability of families that live with constant reminders of their high-than-normal risks for injury or death. Ellie writes passionately not only of her concern for her husband¿s safety, but with moving sympathy for families who face the worst imaginable scenarios of all. Almost everyone knows someone who¿s lost someone. Her response to such crises is a balanced must-read for those hoping to survival such emotional devastation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2002

    Heroes at Home: Help and Encouragement for America's Military Families

    LeighAnn Trevillian, December 18, 2002, Being an Air Force wife now for over 11 yrs, I still found helpful information in Ellie's tips. Her true to life stories and examples had me laughing out loud as well as taking notes. This book is a must have to anyone entering the military lifestyle, as well as a smart gift to extended family memebers as a manual for understanding a new world. I found even those of us that are a little experienced can learn something from her insight. An easy, fun-filled read that uplifts and refreshes one's spirit. Honoring those who protect our nation in a time when support is needed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2002

    Heroes at Home: Help and Encouragement for America's Military Families

    Being an Air Force wife now for over 11 yrs, I still found helpful information in Ellie's tips. Her true to life stories and examples had me laughing out loud as well as taking notes. This book is a must have to anyone entering the military lifestyle, as well as a smart gift to extended family members as a manual for understanding a new world. I found even those of us that are a little experienced can learn something from her insight. An easy, fun-filled read that uplifts and refreshes one's spirit. Honoring those who protect our nation in a time when support is needed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    Valueable Book for Military Families

    Military families need the support and encouragement that Ellie gives in this new book. Practical ideas and stories are shared from Ellie's own experience as a military spouse. The book is captivating and inspiring! A must for your military friends for holiday gift-giving!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2002

    Practical and Humorous

    This book will appeal not only to military dependents, but to anyone who loves America. This book is full of practical tips on how to help support our military members and dependents and humorous anecdotes from the author's own life. It is easy to read and hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    Excellent Guide for the Military Family

    This book is hard to put down and filled with funny, true stories of the military family. Would be a great present to a new military spouse or any military family. It validates that the military life is what you make of it and gives encouragement when given lemons. I highly recommend this book to anybody currently serving in the armed forces or anybody associated with the military community.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1