Customer Reviews for

Heroic Measures

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Non-eventful.

    Would not recommend. Very boring story line. Can't believe I read the entire book! Don't waste your time. There are much better reads than this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Liked Dorothy

    Heroic Measures is a cute story- until it isn't. Which is to say that maybe that last $10,000 could have been left out as it showed how tedious the story was becoming at the end. And it's not that long of a novel! Those who complain about e-book pricing might wonder why a slim paperback cost a list price of $14.00.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An enjoyable read!

    I enjoyed the story. Being a huge dog-lover and having a dachshund that is thoroughly spoiled and attached to me, I could relate with the emotions and actions of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Read!

    Jill Ciment manages to take a simple tale of an elderly couple and their beloved dog, pit it against a sensational news story of a terrorist hiding out in Manhattan, and somehow the reader cares as much (if not more) about the dachshund than the potential terrorist attack. With subtle statements about everything from the media to fidelity, this small novel reads like a thriller but stays in the mind like the Chekhov stories one of the protagonists reads each night before bed. Beautifully written, witty, scathing- I couldn't put Heroic Measures down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    Wonderful Read!!!

    I felt this book was an excellent read. If you love dogs as I do, then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully Written

    What a compelling little story of a family... an elderly husband, wife, and their little "wiener dog", Dorothy. I loved the angle at which it was written, from all of their points of view, including Dorothy! It is full of love, naturally, as Dorothy has to be rushed to the hospital, in the midst of a gasoline tanker left in the Midtown Tunnel. Another terrorist attack? It holds the city in its grip, while Alex and Ruth are worried about not only the sale of thier apartment, but getting to Dorothy, battling the gridlock. Moving!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Calling all writers, dog lovers, and New Yorkers

    Heroic Measures, by Jill Ciment is one of those novels that writers love. It reminds us what a true artist of the craft can do in taking a seemingly trivial and peripheral story and somehow make us care. The story centers around an elderly couple in New York City, attempting to sell their apartment amidst the personal crisis of their dachshund's pending surgery, as well as the city-wide crisis of a possible terrorist attack in the Midtown Tunnel. By all logic, this novel should have been dry and spiritless and left the reader feeling completely unsatisfied with its somewhat abrupt ending. However, Jill Ciment makes us care. She makes us involved and invested in this peak into the life of a couple which spans a mere weekend. (Complete review available at www.whatrefuge.blogspot.com)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!

    I absolutely loved this book! The story was so well done and beautifully written. I could feel the pain of Ruth and Alex as they coped with the illness of their beloved dog and with the stress of relocating their lives in their senior years. The underlying plot of possible terrorism added to the relevance of our modern day. This is a book I have already recommended as a GREAT READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Jill Ciment has written a great "domestic" thriller.

    For forty-five years retired teacher Ruth and artist Alex Cohen have lived in their East Village co-op, but now the elderly couple finds the five flights unbearable and their cherished Dorothy the Dachshund can no longer move her back feet making it that much more difficult for them. Thus they plan to sell the apartment hoping for a million dollars and find a more convenient abode somewhere closer to the ocean perhaps as far south as the Carolinas.

    As they wait to host an open house, Alex has been adding illustrations to "ancient history FBI files of Ruth. However, the police begin an evacuation when a driver Abdul Pamir loses control of a gas tanker blocking the Midtown tunnel. Residents begin panicking that another 9/11 is happening and the media adds to the fears with the "Danger in the Tunnel" reporting that imply terrorists since the driver is named Abdul. While all this is going down (should say "up"-town) Dorothy becomes ill and needs to see a veterinarian and their realtor says terrorists like Abdul who became frightened of mobs, police, and reporters assaulting him takes hostages, which makes the Cohen pad worth a lot less.

    HEROIC MEASURES is a super look at an edgy America in which the media and the politicians play up the 9/11 card at any time, which leads to more nervousness as if the country has turned into a collective neurotic perhaps even psychotic mess. The story line reads like a Manhattan thriller in which any moment the Midtown Tunnel will explode and Abdul will kill his hostages yet does so with a profound focus on the three subplots of New York real estate, an aging couple struggling with an ailing canine, and the media-politician marriage of convenience to hyperbolize the truth. Jill Ciment has written a great "domestic" thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1