Customer Reviews for

The Heroin Diaries: A Year in the Life of a Shattered Rock Star

Average Rating 4.5
( 392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(287)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Finally!

    I started this book a few years ago and to my surprise it was taken away from me, seeing as i was supposedly too young to understand, and that it was too graphic of a read for me. I read half way through, i thouht now i would start on from there. I found myself restarting the book and re reading it in its enrirety 4 more time. This book gives great outlook on what somebodys life is like being strung out on drugs, having sex, and hitting rock bottom. i personally think its not to graphic to anybody who is willing to read it. its wonderful and will keep you reading and you wont want to put it down. As a bonus. you'll want to read it more than ince.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    Awesome

    I found this one hard to put down. As someone who has struggled with depression and addiction, I really related to what he was going through. I will read it again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Wow

    Shocking...that's all I can say. I've never been a big Motley fan, but I noticed the book was a best seller and gave it a try. The writing is excellent (thanks to a fabulous writer he hired to help him), the set-up is unique (pages of his diary with his present-day reflection), and the stories are shocking (ie having sex with someone else's girlfriend right in front of him, minutes after Nikki meets her--and that's a mild tale in this book).

    It's hard to describe (for me), but really it's like crawling into the head of a junkie--and that's a dark, scary place to be. Everyone knows H is bad news--but this story shows you exactly why from an insider's view. Might be a good read for anti-drug programs for kids, because it will scare the bajeezus out of them. . A brilliant musician and songwriter, adored by fans all over the globe, raking in millions--but he preferred cooking drugs with toilet water and hiding for hours in the closet. Just an amazing tale of the fight to be clean, and I really hope he can win it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Wow

    can't believe this guy is still alive. an absolutely fascinating read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    An Amazing Book

    Nikki Sixx¿s dark and twisted memoir ¿The Heroin Diaries¿ is a collection of diary entries from a time in the life of shattered rock star Nikki Sixx, telling his thoughts, troubles, and very abusive use of every drug he could get his hands on.<BR/>The book starts with the first page in his diary on December 25, 1986 Nikki describes in his first entry ¿why?¿, and from there the story grows deeper, taking the reader through the dark times and the good times, and shining light on everything in between.<BR/>The diary is written from Nikki Sixx¿s point of view in 1986 and follows his life through that entire year. If the twisted and awkward entries aren¿t enough, with the help of Ian Gitting, Sixx added commentary from people who played major parts in the ¿adventures¿, including his band mates, managers, girlfriends, and himself.<BR/>The book revolves around Sixx. Since it is his diary there are main players in the entries as well. Most noted would be Vince Neil the arrogant vocalist of his band, and Tommy Lee Sixx¿s ¿Toxic Twin¿, good friend, and drummer. Vanity, Nikki¿s girlfriend and fellow drug addict also plays a major role in this time in his life. <BR/>Throughout the entries the setting changes dramatically, although it seems Sixx only writes in it at his home in Van Nuys. His drug induced state makes it difficult to tell what he is describing, and often he is drunk or high when writing in his journal, making it difficult to tell what he is seeing or where he is, although readers will be amazed at descriptions that sound so up surd it doesn¿t sound like a drug induced rock star would think to write them.<BR/>This book was meant mainly to inform about drug use, and as a druggie when the entries were written Sixx writes his unclear thoughts about drugs and how the take the pain away only to make it come back tenfold. This was written for young adults to be informed about drugs and how they destroy your life. It contains many scenes of violence, very immature behavior, and many obscene acts that some may find inappropriate.<BR/>Throughout the entire book readers will find the dark and tantalizing world that Sixx lived in to be fascinating and repulsive at the same time, drawing them deeper and deeper into his world, and all the pain he felt and the stupid things that he has done.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    For my senior english class, we had to write a review on a book

    For my senior english class, we had to write a review on a book that we read.  I chose to read The Heroin Diaries and it was well worth it.  The realism of the book makes it very intriguing and hard to put down.  Nikki Sixx gives us an inside look with his detailed stories of his highs and lows while on heroin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Loved it

    A guy i was dating talked me into finally buying this book. Originally i didn't think i would like it, however once i started i couldnt put it down. It was very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    Recommended if you are a Sixx fan

    An interesting read about one year in the life of Nikki Sixx as he battles his heroin addiction while touring around the world, recording a new album of music and trying to be a human.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Crack lol

    Is his son andy sixx just asking because there last name is both sixx and go see lion king in 3D my favorite movie and this book is good go buy it k :) XD

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Page turner

    Excellent read very sad and tragic . His glamourous life was dirty and sad. I just wish he would tell those ofus with loved ones with drug problems what we should have would have could have.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Amazing

    This book was recommended to me by a friend. Once I started reading, it was very difficult to put it down. This is a very raw look into the life of a rockstar and addict. Everyone thinks they know what addicts go through and asks "if you want to stop just stop". Anyone with that throught in their head needs to sit down and read this book Nikki Sixx lets you into his world and into his head in a way I've never seen before. This is the most eye-opening book I've read. It was actually the first book I've finished in a long time. I highly recommend this book but only to those who are not the faint at heart. Parts of this book are just outright disgusting. But it's the truth and that's what makes it so intense to read. The way the book was ended was my favorite part. It brought things full circle. Fantastic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    Absolutely amazing. Creepy, but amazing.

    Rating and Personal View:

    I give it 4/5 stars. It was a Amazingly absorbing book. I would find myself picking up the book and not setting it down for hours at a time on the weekends and whenever I had free time. I originally read it on my own, and then re-read it for an English II project. It was a tough book for me to read, because it reminded me of some of the mental stress I go though some days. Seeing as I am a teen, the messed up relationships in the book, really hit home to me. I remember reading a part of the book where Nikki describes his days of getting up, grabbing his guitar, writing songs for the band, and over all having a productive day, and of course there were the days where he woke up, shot up, Freaked out, found himself in the closet and Didn't really do anything productive. He always had some thing about shooting up, crawling to his closet, and freaking out about Mexicans in his trees with guns. He would also call the cops on him self because of that, then have to flush his stash of illegal drugs.

    He always struck me as a curious type of character, where I would find myself constantly wondering why he did things and what he was going to do next. His world at that point seemed to be a chaotic world filled with: Lust, sex, drugs, and if they had time, Rock n' Roll. Its a great book overall but I must warn you, there is some pictures of girls Inappropriately dressed, with blots of paint over their eyes and other parts of their body. It only appears on a few pages, but I'd rather you expect it rather than stumbling upon a page with a girl all over it and not expect it. But hey, what's Rock n' Roll without the key elements: Drugs, sex and Rock n' Roll?

    'Detailed Rating' explanation of what I rated and why:
    This book is great to read by your self, or with close friends in a group, but I wouldn't recommend throwing it into a book club that would normally read something like 'The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants' or something soft like it, without giving them a heads up, or possibly getting a O.K. first. Okay for gift giving, just again, let them know it's a messed up book. Not that inspirational, maybe for the whole 'I'm glad I'm alive and not in Nikki's shoes' but not much of an inspirational type book. Originality and Research on this book were absolutely outstanding, they had to go back, search through his diaries and re-write all of the information and organize it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Heroin Diaries

    I am a Motley Crue addict. But, this book wasnt what I expected it to be. Nikki Sixx has this deep dark hole that I guess he fills with young girls until they get older. Then its time to throw them away. I read the book within a day and came away with mixed feelings. I know he came from a bad childhood, but he was a brat. A spoiled one at that. I still love him but when I look at the Nikki from yesteryear and the one today... they arent the same. Yes he finally grew up and got rid of the drugs, million of dollars later. But , honestly, did he learn from all this? To hear him talk about the book, it was a eye opener for him. If you look , he has just replaced one habit with another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth Picking up and Reading...

    The Heroine Diaries covers the period mostly from him and the band recording the Girls album through the end of the American tour dates. After Nikki had multiple overdoses and his lifestyle doesn't change, it doesn't take long before you start asking yourself "how is this man still alive?" The story is raw, he talks about his lifestyle openly, the drugs he was using and what he was seeing and what was happening at that time in his life. It's not cleaned up for the reader and it's descriptive.
    Even at the end of the diaries, Nikki admits to multiple relapses until at the end he has become clean and sober. That is the first ending. The second is what happens afterwards.
    The book is well worth the read and insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read for any rock n'roll fan!

    Kudos to Nikki for not leaving much out. If you read musician/band biographies, you won't be disappointed in this one. Nikki tells it like it was back in his early days. Now, I'm just waiting for the sequel. I want to hear the happy ending to the whole story. <BR/>This book is good. The reader just has to get used to the style of writing and how it's put together in the book with the illustrations. Not a "traditional" book, but it's another good cross section of the rock n'roll times of Motley, Guns N'Roses and others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    A good read for music fans and addicts

    A very vivid look through an addicts own eyes! Disturbing but gripping- a must read for any Motley or music fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3