Customer Reviews for

The Heroin Diaries: A Year in the Life of a Shattered Rock Star

Average Rating 4.5
( 392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(287)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 287 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book made me respect Nikki Sixx more as a person

    Before reading this book, I hadn't had the slightest idea who Nikki Sixx was, or Motley Crue. The only person I had heard of in this book was Tommy Lee, and that was only because he married Pamala Anderson. Now that I know how everyday life was in Nikki Sixx's, Tommy Lee's, Mick Mars and Vince Neil's life everyday, I really do respect all of them a lot more. Everyday life for them was drugs, sex and rock n' roll. Nikki was even board with his own life. He hated his life. He hated his fame. Twice in the book he wrote-- "You want fame? Take mine. Because I hate it." When he said that, it made me really realize that what he was going through was real; nothing in this book is fake. I mean... how many times would YOU lie in a diary?

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    Best Book I Have Read

    I have always loved Motley Crue. To me they have been the ageless group. I'm 21 and listen to their music as if it just came out yesterday. I had always heard about Nikki's drug problem, but never really understood it until I read the book. It was truly amazing. He's very vivid in his details. I could not take my eyes off this book. It's given in the best perspective as he did the drugs. No doubt, the best book. A very REAL book/

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Loved it

    This is really inspiring. I woukd reccomend this to eveyone. Hell they should make it the law to read this book in schools.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best rock star bios on the shelf. Nicki Sixx tells an

    One of the best rock star bios on the shelf. Nicki Sixx tells an amazing story of his life. This book is an inspiration to all those battling their own kind of demons. Excellent read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    Amazing

    For anyone who has been touched by addiction, this book is truly inspirational. It is a well written portrait of a man who visited hell almost daily and survived to tell his story. One of the best books I have ever read, I have read it three times now and will most likely read it again

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Amazing

    I've always loved Nikki Sixx. Motley Crue, Kiss, Marilyn Manson, Korn, Anthrax, Megadeath, etc. I'm 12. Im up to date on these things, i knew about his rough time. ( i always cry when i hear "life is beautiful" by Sixx:am) But this book made me even more aware. <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Insane!

    This book takes me back, and reminds me why I am living day by day....be it a good day or bad, it is better than before.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Great

    This book was awesome, once you pick it up you can't put it down

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    A great story of a beloved rockstars journey

    As a recovering addict as well, I felt that Nikki couldn't have told the story better. He brings wit and humor to what some would say is a very dark and morbid subject. I received this book as a present and couldn't have been more happier. I recommend it to anyone who loves to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    Nikki you're the MAN

    I met nikki sixx when I lived in hollywood and worked at the tropicana, we both were into our addictions and now to read and see him come out and in the open about the hell of it all. People read this book as an inspiration and for those of you still lost this book can be your light at the end of the tunnel. That's why he let you in his private life what a man.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Raw, Riveting, and Inspiring

    As a fan of M&#246;tley Cr&#252;e I was absolutely thrilled to see this on the shelf. The secret past life of Nikki Sixx is exposed in every waking detail through his daily diary entries.

    Readers get a scoop on the real life experiences Sixx has encountered with his struggle to give up his love for narcotic usage. As Nikki's world collapses he finds himself at the lowest point of his life; his addiction and mental instability keep him from happiness and his will to live.

    Each captivating chapter you think "this is as bad as it gets" but no, it gets worse. Sixx survives insane tours, gallons of alcohol, countless doses of narcotics, death and yet he lives to tell the tale.

    As harrowing life can get, Sixx shows how you can always turn your life around and start again. He demonstrates how you can always pick yourself up and see that "life is beautiful."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    Eye Opening

    I have read all the books about Motley Crue and knew from those and from the media about Nikki Sixx's drug use. This book gave me an insight on what a struggle he really had. It was an easy read. I loved it and finished it in one day!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Andy sixx

    Andy is not related if u look in the back of some if bvbs lyric books where it has the dedications and thank uyous he says thank u nikki u have inspired me andy simply changed his name from andrew to andy and when the band was developed he was obviously into nikki so he said why not use his last neame and thays how andy sixx was made (andy and nikki are not related!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Inspirational

    I love you Nikki! This brought tears to me. You are so incredible. You are the perfect example of a survivor! <3 (: ~ Loki Judahia Katomic~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    AWESOME READ!

    I give it 5 stars because I too "played" too hard in the 80's and can relate to the selfishness, etc. that goes along with addiction. While I can't compare myself to Nikki, I get it. I LOVE the in between verses he writes...very talented man! Keep up the good work Nikki!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Eye opening, Fantastic

    If anyone can make someone who is thinking about trying drugs that its not a great idea, this guy can; pretty hairy ride he takes you on; his hell ride of self destruction, honest autobiography that you will read more than once, it is awesome and I am not a Motley Crue fan


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    An eye opener!

    This book drew me in from the very first page. I literally felt the hell Nikki was going through as I read through his diary entries.... he hated fame, he hated his addiction to heroin,alcohol and the other narcotics, and I could feel his struggle to quit using! Finally he was able to get passed his demons! I was a child when all of this was going on with Motley Crue, but I remember my brother listening to them! My brother loaned me a copy of this book and I am glad he did. It taught me about addictions and recovery! Thank you Nikki, for writing this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    I have always been a Motley fan and I listen to Nikki SIxx's rad

    I have always been a Motley fan and I listen to Nikki SIxx's radio broadcast &quot;the sixx sense&quot; all the time. This book made me laugh and cry. I have so much more respect for him as both a person and a musician now that I read this book. It's very rare I recommend a book, so when I go it is exceptional. If your ready for the truth behind fame and addiction, this is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Highly Recommend- For Rock fans and anyone fighting additions / depression

    This book openned my eyes to not jugding people by there looks. I am amazed at the talent, intellect, and strength in Nikki Sixx. Thank you for sharing your music, demons , and life's lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Real life drama

    Nikki has the balls to tell u how to go from the bottom and get back up agian,if he can we all can,hope it helps anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 287 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15