Customer Reviews for

He's Come Undone

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A definite WIN!

    Washed up former child actress Ellie Barlow needs a gig — any gig — to make ends meet. So when a group of college girls want to hire her to break a guy’s heart, she gets past her skepticism and ignores her conscience in favor of the five thousand dollars they promise her if she can get him to say he loves her. It’s not exactly the acting job she was aiming for, but it will certainly pay the bills. If only she didn’t like him so much…

    The Verdict: Okay, so my initial reaction was that the story was a bit far-fetched, but the more I thought about it, the more it seemed plausible. And if you’ve been around a teenage girl any time lately, you know exactly what I mean. Most of them aren’t exactly logical when their hearts are broken, and they resort to all kinds of insanity like spreading rumors, cruising past his house at 3am, and dreaming up all kinds of crazy scenarios in which they come out the victor and he’s left with regrets. So while the idea of college girls hiring a has-been actress to snare and break a guy might not seem very realistic, I would imagine that with the right financial resources, it’s exactly what some might do. But that’s not what’s so awesome about this story.

    While the plot is in some ways predictable, it didn’t play out exactly like I expected. Sure, Ellie managed to get Julian’s attention. And yes, he liked her even more when her own personality seeped into the role she was playing. And of course, he discovered her deception and channeled a bit of hate her way. But everything in between? Not predictable at all.

    There was a lost beret, a bar fight that became a YouTube hit, a traumatic event that had Julian subconsciously taking advantage of girls — not some illogical decision based on his parents’ bad marriage or some girl that previously broke his heart and trust. He wasn’t callous, even though his actions certainly were, and he honestly thought the random hook-ups were just part of what college was about. The medication and therapy and complete obliviousness to his wrongs just made him all that more believable and easy to love.

    And Ellie… Well, she wasn’t at all what I expected. She was never recognized as the girl from that television show, her financial situation was what I would imagine many former child stars go through, and while she was desperate to make a living, she wasn’t necessarily desperate for a second Hollywood wind so much as she just wanted to continue her craft. In many ways, she was just a normal, down-on-her-luck girl who got roped into something by a vengeful estrogen fest.

    But best of all was the way it was all worked out. As usual, I won’t give away the ending, but the resolution seemed to happen by chance in a way and was spot on for Ellie’s character. Hell, even the repercussions of her somewhat grand gesture weren’t miraculously swept away. If you’re looking for a rather classic romance novel story line with an entirely new twist, characters that avoid the usual cliches, and a great but believable happily ever after, He’s Come Undone is a definite win.

    ***FicCentral received this book from Belfry Press (via NetGalley) for free in exchange for an honest review. Even so, we're far too opinionated to let a freebie influence our thoughts or the contents of the reviews we post here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    I knew the moment I read the blurb for this book, I wanted to re

    I knew the moment I read the blurb for this book, I wanted to read it.  I also had a feeling I'd love it and I was right.  Right from the get go I liked Ellie.  She's cool and collected and knows she's in a bad place but is not willing to ask for help.  I knew Ellie was going to fall for Julian, so there were no surprises there.  What did surprise me was Julian.  Let me just say he was and wasn't your typical bad boy.  I can't say more without giving part of the story away, so you're just going to have to trust me on that.




    I was also surprised by how engrossed I was in the story.  I read it in one sitting and oh the feelings I got. There were moments of dread in the pit of my stomach, wide grins, soft laughter, and even some mental swooning.  I was expecting to enjoy the book, because lets face it, I love the blurb, I've read some of Theresa's books before, but I was surprised at how quickly I finished the book.  I've also read and enjoyed some books written by her as Anne Stuart.  Her style is unique and surprisingly fresh in both voices.




    Hopefully, Theresa will write a sequel, follow up novella, or something featuring Ellie and Julian.  I'm not ready to have their story end here.  I do feel like their issues can be further threshed and I'm willing to put up with a little unnecessary drama to have more of them.  Once again Theresa Weir has written an exceptional story and I look forward to her next book, as I always do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    Light read, but has a glimmer of depth that is unexpected. Story

    Light read, but has a glimmer of depth that is unexpected. Story is originally based entirely on revenge and kids having access to way too much money. Group of girls get together to hire someone go after a boy that they feel wronged them by sleeping with them and then not calling or going out with them again. They want the hired girl to get the boy to fall in love so she can break his heart the way he supposedly broke theirs. When they share their stories, they sound just like a hook-up for casual sex. Hello, was that what THEY wanted too or was it just what they always offer up so quickly and wonder why it goes wrong?! Oh well, young college kids, I guess. When we finally get past this shallowness, the story improves. I would've preferred more on the relationship after the manipulation was over and the contract terminated. Go into this with the right perspective and remember the age of the kids involved, and you will see how I gave it a 4 star rating. 




    ARC provided in exchange for honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2014

    Let me just say I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I think

    Let me just say I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I think I wax nostalgic with these college romance stories. In this book we have a unique heroine, Ellie Barlow. She was a once famous child star who is doing her best to seek anonymity at the University of Minnesota. Unfortunately after being swindled by her mom, she has fallen on hard times and has resorted to taking out an ad on Craigslist seeking acting type work. Hired by some girls that had been wronged, Ellie has to seek out Julian, total hearthrob and womanizer on campus. All she needs to do is break his heart. With a new look and a little bit of a guilt she sets out to do it.

    Julian, is all hot stud, college athlete. He has casual hookups with girls but doesn't think anything wrong with it due to the girls normally seeking him out. Unfortunately, it is the girls looking for more and that just isn't what Julian is looking for, he simply needs a release. What most don't know is this sexy man has some deep seated issues and is trying to deal with them the best he knows how.

    From the beginning, even before Ellie's dramatic makeover, there was something about her that caught Julian's eye. Ellie is successful in her getting Julian to fall for her, but she really was falling too. As one can guess, things get really messed up along the way. People are hurt, and we have to wonder if this unexpected couple will get their HEA.

    I really enjoyed this story. It was a really quick read and I finished it in one day. I found both the hero and heroine to be really likeable. The drama in the story was just right and not overdone. I loved the supporting characters, and really there is nothing I can say I didn't enjoy about the book, except that I wish it was a little longer, or perhaps we can get more of Julian and Ellie's story in another book. Now that would be great.

    Thanks to NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Ellie get's roped into 'playing the player¿. She's not had an ea

    Ellie get's roped into 'playing the player’. She's not had an easy life and is need of serious money when she decides to take te job. It reminded me a lot of John Tucker must die for the first few chapters. But it's really not. This book is a bit of a wolf in sheep clothes. I was expecting a sweet fluffly romance novel like for example the love game by Emma Hart. Instead, what you get is a story about two very broken people - one more broken than the other - who find each other and make each other better. 

    Ellie was an interesting character with an interesting background. She's down to earth and unsure of herself. She takes the job because she needs the money. It's very obvious from the start that she'll fall in love with Julian (aside from it being said in the blurb). I mostly liked her, but she just didn't really feel like a normal person to me. She seemed like she could only live in this world created by Theresa Weir. I had a hard time connecting to her and I was glad when the chapters from Julian's POV came around. I liked Julian. He's hard a hard life and I liked following his story. I haven't read too many books where the guy is one with the most baggage and it was interesting to read about. Though, like with Ellie, I wasn't in love with him as a character either. 

    I think the biggest problem I had with the book is that it deals with serious issues, but it somehow never really got up close and personal with these characters. You watch them go through this little love story of theirs and I don't really feel connected to them or their story. It keeps feeling like you're looking through a window at them, but you're not right there with them. That takes a bit chunk out of my emotional response to this book and makes it hard for me to love it. Another thing that I wasn't too thrilled about is the speed in the novel. Some things seem very rushed and you jump from one thing to the next. In some books that works, but I feel like this book would benefit from a little more pacing and slowing down. I personally love a little build up to certain events, but that doesn't really happen in this book. I think it's the least angsty book I've read in this genre. Also the ending felt a bit rushed, but you'll have to read it for yourself to find out :).

    I  did enjoy reading this book and I liked it. It just never took it over the hill and made me love it. That's not to say that you won't. I think you'll really like this book if you're intested in characters who are damaged goods, a fast pace, difficult topics and little romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    My review of: ¿He¿s Come Undone,¿ by Theresa Weir I¿m really no

    My review of: “He’s Come Undone,” by Theresa Weir

    I’m really not sure what I expected when I started reading “He’s Come Undone.” I can honestly say it wasn’t what I got. I suppose I expected another take on the movie “John Tucker Must Die.” Which, I’ll admit, I watched the movie and, yes, I liked it. Okay, there. You know my dirty little secret. (ha-ha. Get it? That song was on the movie’s soundtrack. Off topic. Sorry.). Well, “He’s Come Undone” was so, so much more than another “John Tucker Must Die.”

    It’s a short read. I read it in one day. Either that, or it was just that good, I’m not sure. Either way, I couldn’t put it down. The characters, Ellie and Julian, just jump off the page. It’s like they’re standing in the room with me. And they are so freakin’ likeable! Yes, they have faults, and yes they have secrets, but they are so different than the regular formulaic NA books we’ve seen on the market lately. UGH! I want to tell you so much about them, but I refuse. You know my mantra by now…read the book! It’s the only way to really feel the emotions captured in the words laced together by Ms Weir. And she did an amazing job. The book is meant to be savored first hand, not through a few paragraph summary.

    The secrets and lies. Oh! They were good! Juicy, like they should be, but heart wrenching at the same time. Yes, sigh, I got tears in my eyes. Don’t I always? I admit it, I’m a crier. But for good reason in this book. I fell in love with both leading characters and I hated seeing them get hurt. Even Ellie, who was the ultimate Judas, was so lovable and sweet and had such a tender spirit I couldn’t help but like her—and when you read the motives behind her actions you can almost forgive her.

    And Julian, you’ll just fall in love with him. Yes he’s gorgeous and muscular and has all the yummy physical traits we want to see in our leading men. And yes, until he met Ellie he was a bit (okay, a lot) of a man-whore. But there’s a vulnerability about him that melts your heart. Read the book! I tell you, Julian is, well, he’s just is a great character.

    The book had excellent pacing. It started off with a bang and it kept rolling until the last page. I didn’t have a second that I felt it slow, nor did I feel it was rushed. The plot was outstanding. It’s one of those story lines that another author (me) says, “I wish I would have thought of that!” It was well thought out and executed nearly flawlessly.

    I say nearly because I do have one small gripe and that has to do with secondary characters. I wish they had been involved more prominently in the story. Valerie, Julian’s sister, is in a few scenes, but she really doesn’t have a great impact. I think strong secondary characters could have added even more spice to the book.

    Bottom line: Get it. Read it. You’ll love it. It’s such a sweet, poignant love story that will have your stomach in knots waiting to see if Julian and Ellie get their happily ever after. This is the first book by Theresa Weir I’ve read, but I can promise you it will not be the last!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    He's Come Undone. Theresa Weir Review from Jeannie Zelos Book r

    He's Come Undone. Theresa Weir

    Review from Jeannie Zelos Book reviews.
    I love some NA, it satisfies my craving for lots of drama...and this book doesn't disappoint. The characters feel real, and I was able to identify with them, something I need if I’m to feel happy or sad and not just detached from the story. I want to be IN the book with them..
    So, Ellie, ex child star reduced to penury, and struggling to stay in college and make the rent. She's handed an opportunity by three girls who've been victims of a college player. He's renowned for making a girl feel special, and then dropping her cold and on to the next one. Its not something Ellie really wants to do, but she needs the cash and he does seem to be heartless so she agrees. I love the way they transform her – the magic makeover that had every-bodies jaws dropping – except Julian, the target. She's accosted by a group of drunks, and Julian steps in much to her surprise, she can't just leave him so jumps on the attackers back! That does get his attention, and she plays him as the girls have directed.
    Julian though is more than they see, he's reasons for his behaviour and has a horrible. traumatic background to recover from. As they meet “accidentally” more and more often, she learns more about him, though not what actually happened, just that he's more than the playboy. The girls tell her that’s part of his seduction technique though – still, she finds she's in love....and doesn't want to continue, but they are holding her to the contract. You can see disaster looming, but not where and when its going to hit and when it does, oh I felt so much for both of them. Its a really happy and sad read, full of angst and emotion and just the sort I love :) At only 74p for 215 pages its a bargain.
    ARC provided via Netgalley
    Stars: four, good fun NA read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Great fast read!

    I read this book all in one day and really liked it. The characters were great. I laughed out loud at some of the things that Ellie does. It was a nice light college romance without any angst. I would recommend it and look forward to reading more from Theresa Weir.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1