Customer Reviews for

Hex Hall (Hex Hall Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 661 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(406)

4 Star

(167)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Witches, Vampires, Magic... Welcome to Freak High.

This book is the farthest thing from boring. Straight when I read the first sentence I was like "Wow! Cool!". I keeped reading and reading, it felt like the book was sucking me into the pages and letting me feel what the character felt. I have never in all my years of r...
This book is the farthest thing from boring. Straight when I read the first sentence I was like "Wow! Cool!". I keeped reading and reading, it felt like the book was sucking me into the pages and letting me feel what the character felt. I have never in all my years of reading have I been so addicted to read this book. I knew when I saw the cover and read what it was about that I was going to love it. It's so much better than all those other books about scary magical schools because this one made you really feel something so great you just had to love it! And this was my first time ever really reading a book about a main character like this one. The way the creatures are in this book is just amazing and I love the way the author used to describe this book and the way the characters talked to one another. If you haven't gotten this book, yet you really must cause you are missing a world of fun.

posted by Morigami on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Ok, but found Hex Hall lacking

Hex Hall has a good plot, and an interesting main character, but I found it diffuclt to finish the book. Maybe I was expecting more magic, or action, I'm not sure, but I do know that I skimmed the last 50 pages. I kept reading the book trying to emerge myself into the w...
Hex Hall has a good plot, and an interesting main character, but I found it diffuclt to finish the book. Maybe I was expecting more magic, or action, I'm not sure, but I do know that I skimmed the last 50 pages. I kept reading the book trying to emerge myself into the world of Hex Hall, but I just couldn't. Besides the main character, most of the other characters were thin and one dimensional (Although Jenna did seem more real then the others). I found the "romance" between Archer and Sophie unromantic, they didn't really click together like the they should have. For me I didn't see what Sophie saw in Archer (besides the hotness which she brought up fequently). This was just an average book to me, and I wouldn't recommend it to my friends.

posted by writingirl_15 on June 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 668 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Witches, Vampires, Magic... Welcome to Freak High.

    This book is the farthest thing from boring. Straight when I read the first sentence I was like "Wow! Cool!". I keeped reading and reading, it felt like the book was sucking me into the pages and letting me feel what the character felt. I have never in all my years of reading have I been so addicted to read this book. I knew when I saw the cover and read what it was about that I was going to love it. It's so much better than all those other books about scary magical schools because this one made you really feel something so great you just had to love it! And this was my first time ever really reading a book about a main character like this one. The way the creatures are in this book is just amazing and I love the way the author used to describe this book and the way the characters talked to one another. If you haven't gotten this book, yet you really must cause you are missing a world of fun.

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Finished this book in less than half a day. I really enjoyed it.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

    Sophie found out she's a witch. Three years without guidance and one extremely bad love potion later, she lands herself a one-way pass to Hex Hall.

    Hex Hall is a boarding school for magical creatures and beings in need of a little more training and lots of rules. Other inmates include werewolves, shapeshifters, faeries, and one vampire who happens to be Sophie's new roommate and the one girl everyone loves to hate.

    Jenna loves pink and seems sweet, but there's a dangerous rumor floating around about her and the death of a girl last year.

    Sophie's not sure who to trust, but despite rumors, she becomes fast friends with Jenna while crushing over the hottest boy in school - and gaining his girlfriend as an enemy.

    When another girl is attacked, everyone wants the truth. Did a coven of witches raise a demon? Could a ghost from Sophie's past be more powerful than she suspects? Are the vampires really responsible for these attacks? Either way, the truth must come out...

    Rachel Hawkins writes a perfect debut novel filled with paranormal creatures, a dark mystery, a deep, strange society, and one hot guy. This start of a new series left me breathless with anticipation for the next installment.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    LOVVEEDD!!!

    I've been stuck at home for the past two weeks and normally read harlequin novels and historical romances...and then I started the Hunger Games. Finished all three in 2 days. And then it was Divergent, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, Unearthly, Paranormalcy, The Pledge, the Shadow Falls series, Falling Under, Dreaming Awake, the list goes on!
    While I liked all these books, I sensed I was falling into a type--and that being girl goes to (new)school, meets mysterious boy, bad things start happening, boy tries to protect her, girl has unique and unimaginable powers, boy/girl fall in love, epic battle, blah blah blah. And you know what? I like that type. However, as I discovered the Hex Hall series I wondered if the book would be totally cliche, if it would make me feel like I'd read it a million times before, if I'd want to punch the protagonist in her face for various reasons.

    But no. I really, really, REALLY enjoyed these books (Hex Hall followed by Demonglass). Sure they follow the same kind of line as what I'd previously mentioned, but it's done very well and the main character is someone that I really came to like. I was at a crossroads however, when there became two possible love interests. One you'd fallen in love with from the beginning, but the other is the kind of guy that no girl deserves and you root for but have a feeling that his tagline is 'nice guys finish last.'
    I was completely drawn into this book, so much so that when I finished it at 1230am, I immediately grabbed the second novel and read until I finished and went to bed. This first book I wasn't overly concerned about the danger because there weren't many likeable characters that you'd be worried over getting killed. However, Demonglass I practically bit off all my nails because I waited with each page turn to find out who was going to die. Love interest #1? Her dad? Love interest #2? Her mom? her vampire friend? Ooooh, so worth it tho!

    Anyways, i'm not even a teenager, I'm in my mid-20s and I still thought these two books were fantastic! The next installment comes out in March and I'm so frustrated! So far away! Hahaha

    Awesome book! Give the whole series a chance!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    Must read!!

    I absolutely fell in love with this book the first time I have read it. And i fall back in love when i read it again. This book is amazing for any teenage girl who has ever felt out of place in the real world. For all the nerdy book girls, myself included, this book will help you through a bad day within minutes of reading it!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loving Hex Hall and all of its Hexiness!

    I really enjoyed this book. After reading it I have become a big fan of Rachel Hawkins. She is hysterical! You should all follow her on twitter @LadyHawkins and her blog. But back to Hex Hall and All of its Hexyness!

    Sophie Mercer has been moved around her whole life. After an unfortunate incident at her prom, Sophie is once again headed to a new school only this one is very different from the others. Hecate Hall is a reformatory school for witches, shapeshifters, faeries, and even a lone vampire. Apparently, Sophie is not the only one who has a habit of getting into trouble.

    Sophie lands a room with Jenna, who has a tiny obsession with pink (by tiny I mean this girl has a fixation bordering on crazy-lol). Jenna is at Hex Hall (what Hecate is commonly referred as) on scholarship, which in it of itself is reason for most of the rich snobs to hate her, but it also doesn't help that Jenna is a vampire. Being the only vampire in Hex Hall creates some problems for Jenna when her best friend Holly is killed and she becomes the prime suspect. Holly's coven blames Jenna for Holly's death and they are determined to recruit Sophie to replace Holly. Unfortunately for them, Sophie likes Jenna and she can already tell that Elodie and the others are not people that she wants to associate with. Jenna and Sophie become fast friends. Then the body count starts to rise. Sophie knows that Jenna is innocent but can she prove it in time?

    Enter Archer Cross! Can we take a moment and marvel at the simple hotness of the name "Archer Cross"...ok moving on. Archer is a warlock who is indisputably, the hottest guy at Hecate. Archer is also dating Sophie's new nemesis, Elodie (despite her viciousness I do covet her awesome name:). Getting sentenced to string of detentions literally locked in a room with Archer to catalog random junk seems like a blessing and a curse. Sophie can't seem to shake her growing attraction to Archer. Could he feel the same? Sophie begins to learn things about herself that she never imagined. There are so many questions that unfold throughout the book. Who is Sophie really? And why are people being attacked at Hecate? Is Archer hiding more then his sudden feelings for Sophie?

    Demonglass (Hex Hall #2) is due out March 1st 2011. I can't wait! I can tell that this is going to be a great series.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ok, but found Hex Hall lacking

    Hex Hall has a good plot, and an interesting main character, but I found it diffuclt to finish the book. Maybe I was expecting more magic, or action, I'm not sure, but I do know that I skimmed the last 50 pages. I kept reading the book trying to emerge myself into the world of Hex Hall, but I just couldn't. Besides the main character, most of the other characters were thin and one dimensional (Although Jenna did seem more real then the others). I found the "romance" between Archer and Sophie unromantic, they didn't really click together like the they should have. For me I didn't see what Sophie saw in Archer (besides the hotness which she brought up fequently). This was just an average book to me, and I wouldn't recommend it to my friends.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Hex hall

    You have to read the prolouge for it to make scence. I figured that out after i read the first chapeter and didnt know what i was reading. Its an amazing story!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    AWESOME BOOK!!

    I loved this book, gonna buy it for my Nook Color! I loved the second too! I also heard that there is supposed to be a third book and maybe a movie in a few years! LOVED IT!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Hex Hall Book #1

    Sophie Mercer has been sent to Hecate Hall (aka Hex Hall). Hecate Hall is for magical screwups that need to be corrected. Sophie has been sent because of a mishap at her ex-schools prom. When she arrives, two girls have been injured. Most people suspect it is Jenna, Sophie's roomate. Jenna so happens to be the only girl vampire on campus. Its up to Sophie, Jenna, and a few other friends to crack the mystery.

    This book was good, but not apprioate for little kids. Ths people in this book make out, curse alot, and have s-e-x.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Hex hall Rules!

    It was very hard to put the book down. But i felt bad for Sophie because Archer i one fo the eye.
    I LOVED the book!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Witches, Warlocks, Vampires, Werewolves... What's not to love?

    This book had all of the best elements: humor, sarcasm, romance, relatable characters, mean girls, and magic. Archer and Sophie would be a perfect couple because they're so alike so I was a bit upset by the ending. Thank God there is another two books! Jenna is an awesome vampire that I would love to be my best friend, I mean with her pink bangs, pink bedspread, pink clothes... and it has the perfect balance of regular high school drama and magic in the mix. Rachel Hawkins is a great author and I can't wait to see what she has in store for her next books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Awesome

    Love this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Great

    Hawkins delivered a great story. Along with some sometimes scary details. It also so included some reality with humor that blended quite well. I thought it was good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    .

    I absolutely fell in love with this book! After I'd picked this book up, i could not put it down. One thing i love about this book so much is that every chapter you ask "what is gonna happen next?" Well this genre would be like a twist between fantasy, action and romance. I also loved that there was a laugh on almost every page. It's true Rachle Hawkins has cast a spell on me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Great book

    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!

    This is one of my fave books.I have all three books in series and i'm waiting for the fourth one.I highly reccomend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    6th grader

    OMG I JUST FINISHED THE FIRST BOOK!!!!!!! So sad so excelent so intertaning and the best book ever!!!!! I SOOO recommend this book!!!!!! READ IT ALL!!!!

    Also a lot of bad words so be aware!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    MY REVIEW

    Best book ever so intence and funny! I loved every bit of it, it also has great cliff hangers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Confused

    I read this book in fifth grade and loved but when i went to buy the book on my nook. I was confused as to why when you click on it to read the description it has a diff cover and title

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 668 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34