Customer Reviews for

Hex Hall (Hex Hall Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 663 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(407)

4 Star

(167)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Witches, Vampires, Magic... Welcome to Freak High.

This book is the farthest thing from boring. Straight when I read the first sentence I was like "Wow! Cool!". I keeped reading and reading, it felt like the book was sucking me into the pages and letting me feel what the character felt. I have never in all my years of r...
This book is the farthest thing from boring. Straight when I read the first sentence I was like "Wow! Cool!". I keeped reading and reading, it felt like the book was sucking me into the pages and letting me feel what the character felt. I have never in all my years of reading have I been so addicted to read this book. I knew when I saw the cover and read what it was about that I was going to love it. It's so much better than all those other books about scary magical schools because this one made you really feel something so great you just had to love it! And this was my first time ever really reading a book about a main character like this one. The way the creatures are in this book is just amazing and I love the way the author used to describe this book and the way the characters talked to one another. If you haven't gotten this book, yet you really must cause you are missing a world of fun.

posted by Morigami on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Ok, but found Hex Hall lacking

Hex Hall has a good plot, and an interesting main character, but I found it diffuclt to finish the book. Maybe I was expecting more magic, or action, I'm not sure, but I do know that I skimmed the last 50 pages. I kept reading the book trying to emerge myself into the w...
Hex Hall has a good plot, and an interesting main character, but I found it diffuclt to finish the book. Maybe I was expecting more magic, or action, I'm not sure, but I do know that I skimmed the last 50 pages. I kept reading the book trying to emerge myself into the world of Hex Hall, but I just couldn't. Besides the main character, most of the other characters were thin and one dimensional (Although Jenna did seem more real then the others). I found the "romance" between Archer and Sophie unromantic, they didn't really click together like the they should have. For me I didn't see what Sophie saw in Archer (besides the hotness which she brought up fequently). This was just an average book to me, and I wouldn't recommend it to my friends.

posted by writingirl_15 on June 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Hex Hall Book #1

    Sophie Mercer has been sent to Hecate Hall (aka Hex Hall). Hecate Hall is for magical screwups that need to be corrected. Sophie has been sent because of a mishap at her ex-schools prom. When she arrives, two girls have been injured. Most people suspect it is Jenna, Sophie's roomate. Jenna so happens to be the only girl vampire on campus. Its up to Sophie, Jenna, and a few other friends to crack the mystery.

    This book was good, but not apprioate for little kids. Ths people in this book make out, curse alot, and have s-e-x.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Great

    Hawkins delivered a great story. Along with some sometimes scary details. It also so included some reality with humor that blended quite well. I thought it was good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Great book

    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Confused

    I read this book in fifth grade and loved but when i went to buy the book on my nook. I was confused as to why when you click on it to read the description it has a diff cover and title

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    :)

    Very good book:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    JUST WAIT THERES MORE

    Wait till you read the second book, it will blow yoour mind!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Good

    It was good could have been better though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    I¿m not one for witches. I think they¿re extremely lame. Esp





    I’m not one for witches. I think they’re extremely lame. Especially, when they have to recite lame poems that rhyme and expect something magical to happen. If they used words like Stupify or something similar to gibberish like in Harry Potter. Then maybe, I would like some witch books a lot more. 




    And surprisingly, Hex Hall wasn’t all that lame at all. It was teen, light and was filled with humor that entertained me to no ends. I adored the main character, I disliked the antagonists and was left on my toes as the plot thickens and thins.




    Hex hall is extremely fast paced. There are no dragging details in the beginning; everything was simple, crisp and clean. That is one thing I love about Rachel Hawkin’s writing style. Then she throws in the humor. This book is hilarious; the main character Sophie has a wit of the best type of person and friend. She’s a character you can easily ease up to the moment you finish the first chapter. 




    What really got me into the book was the sense of mystery that lingers at this magical boarding school. There was a murder but no one knew who or what killed the poor victim. I loved how well Hawkins writes the progression between plot twist to plot twist. And even worse when I’m at the near-end of the book and she leaves us with a grueling cliffhanger. 




    In short, Hex Hall, has ghosts, fairies, vampires, and of course witches. It even had cults and ghosts being mischievous. Then there was romance, mystery, plot twists, action and a whole lot of humor. The book was quick, fun, and all together a wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    I have an admission to make.  I am a giant cover whore.  I can't

    I have an admission to make.  I am a giant cover whore.  I can't help it, if I see a cover I love I have to have the book.  Now, of course, I read the description and make sure the story sounds mildly interesting before I blow twenty bucks on a hardback, but the cover definitely is the first draw for me.  Sometimes I even keep books that I really didn't like, just because I love the cover so much. And trust me, with my lack of shelf space, this is a sin.  So naturally when I saw the cover for Hex Hall (well the American cover at least, some of the international covers are just terrible) it was love at first sight, add in a reform school for wayward magic-types and we have some real long-term relationship material here.  But, as with all budding love affairs, there was some apprehension.  What if it was cheesy?  What if it was a thinly-veiled Harry Potter knock-off?  Worst of all, what if there was (dun dun....duuuun) INSTA-LOVE?!  Luckily for me and everyone else, my fears were unfounded.  I got totally wrapped up in Sophie's world and thoroughly enjoyed this magical read.




    LIKES:




    Sophie and Jenna: Sophie, our main character, is not your average YA fledgling witch.  She likes having powers, isn't afraid to use them, and is pretty sure of herself.  Once she gets to Hex she realizes she has some major improving to do and works hard to better herself.  There's none of the usual "but I don't want to be a witch" or "I just want a normal life, why must I be so awesome? why?" crap.  She has moments where she questions where her life will go, as we all do, but she is a strong character with plenty of personality to boot.  Jenna is a vampire.  A blood-sucking beastie who happens to love hot pink and sleeps with a stuffed lion named Bram.  She is also Sophie's new roommate and the only vampire student in the whole school.  Her character represents being strong in the face of stereotypes and adversity and I love that about her. 
    Cliches (but in a good way):  Normally cliches are frowned upon in this day and age, but I loved the classic elements of this story.  It was cool to have witches that actually fly on broomsticks, vampires who (without a special talisman) can't eat garlic or go out in the sun and  fairies that have fairy wings and bad attitudes.  It made the book so much fun and it felt so much more familiar.
    So many surprises:  I'm a sucker for twists and this book had quite a few.  Maybe I'm just bad at foreshadowing but most of them caught me off guard and that always makes reading more fun.
    It was just lots of fun.  Nuf said.




    DISLIKES:




    Atmosphere: The author chose a great setting and I was really looking forward to a creepy, atmospheric feel to this book.  However,  I just don't feel like it was developed enough.  I wanted to know more about the school and its grounds and I found that I could really picture much of it.  I'm hoping this gets better in the next two books.












    Isn't it just lovely when cover-love works out?  I can't wait to get my hands on Demonglass and see where Sophie and Jenna's adventures take them.  Oh and did I mention that even though this series is through Rachel Hawkins is coming out with a new spin-off series starting with School Spirits in May of this year?  Yes, we don't have to say goodbye just yet.  I'm so excited to see what Hawkins has planned.  I haven't even finished this series and I'm ready for the next one.  Oh, and in case you were wondering, the cover for School Spirits is just as awesome.  My addiction continues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Ummm.......

    Is there something wrong with the cover?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very Well Done!

    I really liked this novel and I can’t wait to get my hands on the rest of the series. The world of Hex Hall is so intriguing and I have to say, boarding schools for the “gifted” is one of my favorite settings for YA novels. Now, of course, there is a lot of predictability that happens when YA novels take place at boarding schools since there are now so many books that have this setting, but I loved that Hawkins keeps her characters and plotline so original. Yes, there are the token enemies, the best friend, and the secret crush, but Hawkins creates them in such a way that it’s not just another run of the mill, “already heard this story in another format” kind of way. Of course, with so many novels now taking place in boarding schools, there is bound to be a little predictability, but Hawkins still managed to blow me away with her many twists and turns, causing me to second guess my assertions as the novel unfolded.

    I think what I loved the most about this novel is that you really can’t tell who the bad guys really are. Yes, all the evidence points in certain directions, but then Hawkins throws in a twist and the evidence seems to be dashed to pieces. I love a novel that keeps me guessing, and that’s exactly what Hawkins does in Hex Hall.

    Sophia is a strong character and I really enjoyed getting to know her. As a witch only growing up with a human mother, she’s a bit behind when it comes to her abilities, and I thoroughly enjoyed watching her grow and learn to wield magic. I also enjoyed her assertive nature and the fact that she sticks by those trodden upon by others.

    Hex Hall harbors many different students, fairies, shapeshifters, witches, and even the lone vampire, and I liked learning about the different factions, though most of the emphasis is placed on witches. It was very intriguing, and as the story builds and the students begin dying off, it’s impossible to put aside. Overall, I really enjoyed this novel and highly suggest adding it to your “to be read” pile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Good start to the series

    This reminded me of the Evernight Series. It is a good read with something of its own to offer that I haven't read before. Good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Teenpranorma spoiler alert

    Sry for the spoiler alert but SHE IS A DEMON AND VERY POWERFUL ON HER DADS SIDE AND ON HER MOMS SIDE SHE BELONGS TO A FAMOUS FAMILY OF HUMANS WITH LONG PAST ANSCESTORS WHO WERE WHITE WITCHES i mean i didnt see it coming did you? Love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a light, fun, fast read. I especially enjoyed the openin

    This is a light, fun, fast read. I especially enjoyed the opening ciaos. Sophie has a good sense of humor and I like the mix of paranormals off at boarding school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    I don’t know what I did expect when this was selected for

    I don’t know what I did expect when this was selected for me as part of a reading challenge – but it wasn’t what I got. This breath of fresh air was completely unexpected and amusing. The synopsis is fairly accurate so there is no need to rehash it. What isn’t listed is:
    • Sophie isn’t the prettiest girl in school;
    • All of the boys are not fighting or preening to ensure she notices them;
    • Sophie’s witty/snide/sarcastic asides give more depth and make her even more personable;
    • The glee and laughter while taking aim at every stereotype in the YA PNR genre;
    • How easy it is to get engaged in the story;
    • How strongly identifiable each of the characters are;
    • That there is also an interesting mystery thread running through the story.
    • What a fun read this is!
    It’s also genius that Sophie is learning the rules of this world with the reader making it a more pleasant read. Another plus was the twisties at the end.

    I’m making every effort to judge the book on its own merits and not compare it to other YA-PNR’s currently fighting for the same audience. However some of the comparisons can’t be ignored. Italy, really you wanted to go with Italy being the seat of power for the Council for preternatural beings? The Mean Girl trio. Seriously you wanna use that trope? Even though many of the stereotypes were ridiculed humorously, these weren’t ridiculed hard enough to my way of thinking.

    Ms. Hawkins writing style makes this a fast paced comfortable read for a rainy day or lying out at the beach. Overall I thought this was an unexpectedly carefree and fun read. If you are not in the YA headspace do not attempt to read this book. There will be too much angst. That being said I would have to get back in the YA headspace to continue the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    First reaction: Why did I wait so long to read this!! Sophie Me

    First reaction: Why did I wait so long to read this!!

    Sophie Mercer is a witch and not even a really good one as she can't even get a love spell right. That is what gets her sent to Hecate Hall aka Hex Hall. It's a place for Prodigium, a fancy term for witches, shifters and fairies. This is where those young supernaturals who can't seem to get a handle on their gifts are sent.


    After her love spell goes wrong her father, who she has never met but is a warlock, thinks its best she be sent to Hecate Hall. Here on her first day she find herself housing with the only vampire at Hecate, stalked by a ghost, and manages to tick off the three most popular witches. Welcome to Hex Hall.


    Sophie is pretty much clueless when it comes to being a witch, she was rasied by a human and lived in a human world. She knows nothing about her father or his side of the family and she is very ill prepared to be surrounded by those who seem to know a lot more about her then she does. Here at Hex Hall she find out about her family and who she really is, why most people are afraid of her, and why the teachers are so mean to her. Sophie is a misfit among misfits, but she adapts pretty well. Especially since she gets to spend a lot of time with Archer, a guy she thought she hated at first but then started crushing on him. Only bad thing is, he is dating Elodie, queen B at the school.


    Archer is the resident hotty at Hex Hall, all the girls crush on him. Even the vamp who is not into guys thinks he is hot. The was just something about him I didn't really like and maybe it was I just didn't understand why he hung out with Elodie when you could see they were not a match. I don't know I just never cared much for him as the lead male in the story.


    When Sophie arrives at Hex Hall she finds out that a girl had been murdered and that a lot of people believed it was her roommate, the only vamp on campus. After getting to know Jenna, Sophie just can't believe she would do anything like that, but then two more accidents with students happen and all trails point to Jenna, but Sophie doesn't believe it. As Sophie digs into her own family secrets as well as who might be behind things, she discovers some scary things about her own self.


    Over all I really liked Hex Hall and would recommend it to anyone who likes YA supernatural books, my only fault I found with the book is I thought the end went to quickly. I was like that was it, really?? I can't say more about it without giving something away, but I was a little dissapointed but other than that I really enjoyed it and I went and bought the kindle version of Demonglass so I could start reading it! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    highly recommend

    an interesting new series. worth the read. I like the characters and the plot. The concept is overdone, but this one has a fresh face and is well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I adored Hex Hall for many reasons, one of them being how absolu

    I adored Hex Hall for many reasons, one of them being how absolutely smart and funny Sophie is. She's an extremely likable character who's thankfully also quite flawed. She doesn't always make the right decisions but is quick to learn from her mistakes.

    I really like how Jenna's not your typical vampire, I mean her favorite color is pink and I admire how she handles all the animosity towards her. I enjoyed the friendship she has with Sophie and how that helps motivate Sophie into investigating the attacks and learning more about her abilities.

    I dug Archer right away, so it was easy to understand why Sophie is so drawn to him. He's mysterious, flirty, frustrating, basically everything a high school crush should be. You'll be wanting to find out more about him, just like Sophie does.

    Even though I didn't care for Elodie and her friends, I still would have liked to learn more about them. I often felt as though they were only around to help move the story forward and draw Sophie and Archer closer together.

    The story moves very quickly and there's lots of humor to offset the mystery and suspense. The twists kept me hooked and I loved the ending! I'm glad there is going to be 2 more books in the series but I also think it stands very well on it own, had the author decided to end it there. Rachel Hawkins brings some new ideas into a book that some may feel is a younger, female Harry Potter, but I think is very much its own fun story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    nice and light

    I'm really enjoying this book. It's kind of like a girls version of Harry Potter. A nice light and quick moving book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from Missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

    Sophie Mercer is a witch. But not with many perks. She has no broomstick to fly, no spell books, no talking cat (she's allergic).

    She can perform magic. But not particularly well. And not without a lot of unforeseen . . . complications.

    Sophie and her (non-magical) mom have lived in nineteen states. They lasted the longest in Indiana (four years). They only made it two weeks in Montana. And most recently, well, that didn't go too well either.

    In fact it went so badly that Sophie's been sentenced to Hecate Hall; a reform school for wayward witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.

    If Hex Hall wasn't bad enough, Sophie also ends up rooming with the only vampire on campus, alienating a trio of students, and making a total fool of herself in front of a gorgeous warlock. All on the first day. At least her vampire roommate is nice.

    Things at Hex Hall only get worse as Sophie learns more about her magically gifted father, develops a major crush, and makes even more enemies and social blunders. Oh, then there's the matter of the weird attacks on students that look suspiciously like the work of a vampire. Sophie thought passing as a human was hard, but it living as a witch is going to be way harder in Hex Hall (2010) by Rachel Hawkins.

    Hex Hall blends elements of concrete fantasy and campy fantasy in a way that is refreshingly unique. It also works really well. Sophie is a narrator grounded firmly, and perhaps unwillingly, in the magical world while also essentially being an average teenage girl (much like the girls shown on the cover--go figure!). Hawkins capitalizes on both aspects of Sophie's character to create a heroine that is entertaining and very authentic.

    Hawkins' writing here is sharp, clever and vivacious. This is a book will have you laughing out loud and biting your nails in suspense--sometimes at the same time. Filled with action, humor, awesome characters, and a few twists Hex Hall offers readers a few surprises and a lot of fun.

    Possible Pairings: The Demon's Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan, Fire by Kristin Cashore, Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, Once a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9