Customer Reviews for

Hex Marks the Spot (Bewitching Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bewitching!

Maggie is growing as a character.
I love the way Ms. Alt writes in a light cozy manner. No blood and gore here.
This book really held my attention from start to finish.
Very captivating and bewitching.
Great mystery that continued all the way to the conclusion! ...
Maggie is growing as a character.
I love the way Ms. Alt writes in a light cozy manner. No blood and gore here.
This book really held my attention from start to finish.
Very captivating and bewitching.
Great mystery that continued all the way to the conclusion!
Thanks Ms. Alt for a Bewitching read!
Now...on to No Rest for the Wiccan!!!

posted by _Chrissy_ on April 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

kinda boring

this installment of this series seems to have stalled out. too many unrelated stories that never get tied up and leave you wondering why they're even mentioned, as they don't relate to the story. if you've read the previous books you can begin to guess the m.o.-too pred...
this installment of this series seems to have stalled out. too many unrelated stories that never get tied up and leave you wondering why they're even mentioned, as they don't relate to the story. if you've read the previous books you can begin to guess the m.o.-too predictable and kinda boring.

posted by 6173517 on February 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Hex Marks the Spot -- thrilling, witchcraft, romance

    Madelyn Alt's latest novel in her "witch" series is an excellent way to momentarily slip into a different reality...humor, excitement, and romance make this a delightful read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bewitching!

    Maggie is growing as a character.
    I love the way Ms. Alt writes in a light cozy manner. No blood and gore here.
    This book really held my attention from start to finish.
    Very captivating and bewitching.
    Great mystery that continued all the way to the conclusion!
    Thanks Ms. Alt for a Bewitching read!
    Now...on to No Rest for the Wiccan!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    More please!!!

    Truly one of my most favorite authors. I can't wait for the next book to come out. I tried reading slowly, just to make it last longer, but couldn't because every page was so endearing. Madelyn's description of everything makes it so easy to visualize the characters and whats going on around them. I was hooked from the very first pages of her first book. I hope this series keeps growing. For now I wait patiently.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Very good book

    This kept me turning pages! I started the series in February and am going to finish them all before I read anything else. It's suspenseful and amusing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The best one so far!

    The third installment in the Bewitching Mysteries series was definitely my favorite thus far. Maggie is finally growing as a character and even though I rate Ms. Alt's book at a nonstop 4, it doesn't seem like a sort of half-hearted chick lit to me. This book's storyline was much more involved and rounded.

    Winter has come and gone, with two murders under it's belt, in Stony Mill Indiana. It;s the opening day of the country fermer's market/craft bazaar and the main item of interest in the auction is a gorgeous hand carved cabinet made by Eli Yoder (You've met him before) and his newly acquired assistant, Luc Metzger. After the auction, when the handsome Amish craftsman, Luc, turns up dead, Stony Mill now has another murder to it's credit.

    Hex Marks the Spot, again to it's credit, deals a lot with the character's personal lives as well as the story and I am grateful for that. I feel like in other stories, except for Felicity Dow, the character's were lacking some in that aspect. Maggie's attraction to Marcus, even though she is quasi-dating Tom, heats up as they exchange a very passionate kiss. The problem is, no matter how Maggie says she loves Liss, her employer and dear friend, at the time she thinks Marcus is Felicity's boyfriend. That was a little disturbing.

    Boiler Room Bertie, the library's resident ghost, also makes an appearance in this book. In fact, the side story going on along with the murder investigation, is investigating him. His back story is explained and you finally find out who he is and his history there, which much to my surprise was more interesting than I had first thought.

    Back to Luc Metzger; the Amish in the area have been victims of random violence, so of course that is where the police have been focused in their investigation. Maggie, however, takes a different route getting a feeling that the answer my lay with Hester Metzger, Luc's wife. The investigation into Luc's murder isn't the whole book, just actually a small part as the author tried to cram in a lot of different elements in just a little over 200 pages. However, be that as it may, the book is not a disappointment in the slightest nor is it a whirlwind of confusion.

    The book also still has all the same elements of Paganism some of the readers have come to love and expect. A lot of the clues found have to deal with Folk Magick and symbolism, so there is a new element brought into the mix just for the sake of the storyline which is really sort of interesting. All in all, the whole book is really good and I don't have many complaints about this one at all.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    This series gets better and better

    It is spring and Maggie and Lis go to the local farmers/crafters market to look for new products for Enchantments. While there, they see a beautiful armoire created by their Amish friend Eli and partner, Lucas. Lucas is very eye catching for an Amish man, and several women take notice. During the auction for different items for charity, Maggie and Marcus go for a walk to get some food and meed Lucas's wife. After the auction, in which Lis does not win, they go to ask Lucas's wife about something and stumble on to them having a discussion.

    Later that night, on the way home from Lis's house, Maggie and Marcus discover Lucas' body. Now she has to figure out who killed him and why. Different thins turn up, such as a strange symbol carved in a tree by Lucas's body that matches symbols on the armoire and on his barn. Local officer, Tom, is insistent on it being devil worshiping. But he is starting to accept Maggie's strange ability to find out information about what is going on.

    Of course, there is still the debate of should Maggie continue to try to get Tom into a relationship, even if she keeps thinking about Marcus. Then there is her overbearing mother that just has to guilt trip her everywhere.

    I love this series. Maggie is witty, smart, and has great talents if she would just lighten up on herself. The story is great. Once again I didn't expect the killer until it was relieved. I cannot wait to get into the next book!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    Outstanding book

    Truly enjoyed all of this author's books and look forward to more publications by Madelyn Alt!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A spellbinding mystery

    Six months ago Maggie O¿Neil saw the world as everyone else does. Magic with a brush of the supernatural opened a path turning her into a sensitive empath. Her boss Felicity Dow, owner of Enchantments, encourages Maggie to open herself up to the magick around her. She is a practicing Wiccan who like Maggie sees ghosts and other entities that most people are blind to. Although Maggie tries to close herself off from the supernatural, it keeps leaking into her psyche and like other sensitives in the area she feels a miasma around the town.------------ At a craft bazaar Maggie meets Amish craftsman Luc Metzger, who looks like a Greek god he created the carvings on a dresser that Felicity wanted but went to Louise. Shortly after that, Luc was murdered and Louise agrees to sell the dresser to Felicity. In the small town of Stony Mill with little crime, that makes three murders in six months. It is a hex sign that gives Maggie a clue to the identity of the murderer and what she sees impresses on her that there is real magick in the world.---------- HEX MARKS THE SPOT centers the tale on Pennsylvania Dutch hex signs that are used to ward off evil and create a happy atmosphere. The heroine is a special person who though she would like to avoid it, comes to believe in magick because of what she sees and experience. The who-done-it is cleverly constructed and readers will never guess who the killer is or what the motive is for bludgeoning someone to death. Madelyn Alt writes an entertaining mystery.------ Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2