Customer Reviews for

Hey Nostradamus!

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Kaitlyn

    U have been here all day.... i checked all day and u werent here dont lie to me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Ree

    Suree imma die a slow n pqinful death right now so *walks in room locking myself in n cuts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Clayton

    I love u

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Ember

    A girl sits on the couch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Fantastic

    This was an amazing book. I think that the synopsis given doesnt quite touch on the most vital parts of the book. While it is about a school masacre it touches on your emotions and the religious struggles people have after experiencing grief. A novel with insight on death and characters with voices that ring true. Just fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Extremely amazing.

    An outstanding piece of work. It's a well written page turner. Two of the major themes in the book are loss and religion and how they seem to go hand in hand. This book would be very good to use when writing a literary analysis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well written. . .

    Douglas Coupland is an amazing writer and Hey Nostradamus! is more proof of his greatness. This book touches upon many different aspects of life, ranging from tragedy, false accusations, religious fanatics and hypocrites. I especially enjoyed the multiple character approach to telling the story, it makes the book well-rounded. Hey Nostradamus! is a powerful and encompassing book. Coupland always delivers well-written books that are deserving of the readers' time and money. Hey Nostradamus! is a fine piece of literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    I love this book very much, it was major a page turner. I wish that he only wrote aobut Cheryl and Jason, I think that it would have been alot better. It was a great, sad, interging stroy. LOved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Engaging and Enlightening - The Best Book I've Read In a Long Time

    Hey Nostradamus! was truly amazing. Not only was Coupland's writing poetic and moving, but the characters were so believable, the emotions so real. I would recommend this book to anyone. So if you're interested enough to browse these reviews, trust me--and the other customer reviewers--and read Hey Nostradamus!. You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2004

    He does it Again!!!!!

    I have read all of Coupland's books and this reads to me as the natural extension of his unparelled use of syntax and language. His ability to combine words is so profound that you can not only relate to his characters but actually hear their voices and experience their being. I simply cannot wait to see what he will write next. He just gets better with each book and he is without a doubt the best author of his time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2004

    Brilliant

    Its not an explainable plot. Its a book thats has a rapidly changing plot. Amazing how Coupland explained the menatlity of the charactors thoughts after something so mentally disrupting to a human. I dont think very many authors could pull of what he did. Its almost like and epic poem in the sense of how he worded sentences. Its as if at least 95% of all his sentences in Hey Nostradamus! had symbolic meaning to them. The book starts out with new and beutiful day to simplying a crash of chaos. Then the survivors having what seems to be an inncurable depression. And I could almost feel what they felt, a true sadness. The book then takes you to a bigger event until the end where it leaves you with a sense of hope, and a good feeling that everything has the potential to turn out just right, if you have some spirit left. I recomend this to anyone who is not close minded and really let the word take you away. I dont read too terribly much but I think this book is one of a kind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    5 stars don't do it justice

    Easily the best writer in modern fiction, Coupland continues to write as if he invented the english language, making you wonder why others bother with books at all. It only took me until the second page to realize that he just has this way with words, and by the end he managed to give dimensions to charaters that you wouldn't have dreamt they could posess. Again, as in Shampoo Planet, Life After God and Microserfs he manages to rip out your heart and leave you in tears. No-one else can do this, no one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2003

    Superb--The best of all books

    Not a dull paragraph in the whole book. No wasted verbage. Very thought provoking

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2003

    Unlike Any Book You've Ever Read

    With three (related and yet very diversified) perspectives on an event that forever changed the community and everyone within it, this book encompasses the essence of human emotion. A fourth perspective adds an 'outsider looking in' view that rounds out the book nicely. Though it should be noted that this book is very emotional - easily one that has the power to rip your heart out - please don't shy away from a read that will have you recommending it to friends, as that's exactly the way I found out about this wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    Classic Coupland

    Once again, the dark humor of the author shines in this quick reading novel. Very easy to relate to all the characters. Leaves you wanting to keep turning the pages, even when the last one is finished. Coupland continues to entertain in his unique style. Only disappointment was his lack of 80's music references that have been part of his style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2