Customer Reviews for

Hidden (Hidden Series Book One)

Average Rating 4.5
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I don't write reviews, but his book was amazingly good. I was no

I don't write reviews, but his book was amazingly good. I was not expecting what happened. I look forward to the rest of the series.

posted by Babygirl90 on May 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Hidden is an interesting addition to the paranormal genre. The c

Hidden is an interesting addition to the paranormal genre. The characters are complex, the plot line interesting, and the twists unexpected. Once I got into the book it hooked me until the end. I loved Sophia. I wasn’t expecting for her to be my favorite character but s...
Hidden is an interesting addition to the paranormal genre. The characters are complex, the plot line interesting, and the twists unexpected. Once I got into the book it hooked me until the end. I loved Sophia. I wasn’t expecting for her to be my favorite character but she grew on me. She was unfailing in her quest to save magical creatures and help Leah learn how to be a normal teenage girl.
As for the relationship, I like Nathan as a character, I just don’t know how I feel about Nathan and Leah. The relationship seemed kind of rushed, especially once I realized that the entire book was supposed to take place in about a week, maybe a week and a half’s, time. There is a lot going on in the book and it seems like time just flew by. However, even with how rushed their story was, it made sense for the book and for Leah’s history. I’m not going to go into details but suffice it to say, it makes complete sense for her to be madly in love with Nathan once you find out more about her family, particularly her mother.
On that note, I was not expecting the twist at the end. As Leah’s story unfolds and we learn more about her family, I thought I had her parents pegged. Boy was I wrong. What is first revealed is so much more elaborate. Lathan does a good job of keeping the twists hidden until she’s ready to reveal them. Thankfully, she wraps up the subplots by the end of the book while keeping just a few to entice the reader to want to read the sequel.

posted by D_Ann on June 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hidden is a very interesting young adult paranormal book. Leah,


    Hidden is a very interesting young adult paranormal book. Leah, the main character, is hidden away in an orphanage and is tormented by the other girls there. She has no friends, has never been loved, and has only had small moments of kindness shown to her. She believes that she is evil and must hide her true nature in order to remain alive. She has such a warped and damaged sense of self worth that it was a little hard to get through the first chapter but I am really glad I kept reading because the story and Leah undergo a change.

    She discovers who she really is and that the things she has believed about herself and others of her kind are false. She becomes more confident and in control. It was fun getting to see her grow into accepting herself and her powers and at the same time acknowledge the goodness that she has always had.

    Of course, Leah’s growth is only part of the story. There are also hunters, shifters, copies, witches, and a long-lost mom that reappears. At times you are unsure of whom to trust and feel betrayed right along with Leah.  There are a lot of twists and turns that keep you guessing and the dual nature of Leah is interesting to observe.

    This book is one that I found myself thinking about a couple of days after I finished and wondering what else is going to happen to this group of characters. I am interested in reading the second book, Lost, to see how Leah fairs with her new confidence and powers.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Anon

    A good summer read. Far too many editing errors make you reread a sentence over and over to figure it out. The plot and characters are well thought out, however, be prepared to try and keep track of everyone and everything that goes on in this book or you'll end up needing to take an aspirin for brain strain. Try it, you'll probably like it. Jp

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Great read.

    The way in which the author portrays the emotion of the character is so realistic and unfortunately so common. The anguish of the bullying Leah faces could only come from first hand experience. The environment of this world is not fully explicated as much as it could be and is somwhat challenging to envision.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Good

    A bit drawn out on the part about her parentage, and I just didnt get why what was done at the end was necessary. Other than that it was a good book. A bit of change from all of the other paranormals that keeo popping up as complete copies... pun intended. Ill ne getting the next book for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    How many pages?

    How many pges r in these books? Plz answer and if u know how reply sterting with a &#9876

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Great book!

    I don't usually write reviews but this book suprised me. Although the love story was a bit rushed, I couldn't help but fall in love with these characters. It is one of the best free books I've read in a long time and I couldn't put it down. I love the mix of magic and evolution and it had just the right amount of character development, romance and action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Written for YA

    Never the less, I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Good YA.

    It took me a little to get into the book, but after the first couple of chapters, things came along better. A world of magic vs. non-magic and how everyone finds their way.

    No sex scenes but has kissing/make out scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

       

       

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Very good read

    Great read,can't wait to read more in the series. This paranormal book is different from most.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Good so far

    I am really liking this book so far the only thing i dont like is that christine is a copy cause it makes it complicated and it will be hard to put that in the plot of the story aand figure out a way to conclude that but i love the rest apart from that

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Good read

    Really liked this book even thogh it was kind of slow at times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    LOVED IT!

    Fantastic. Truly enjoyed it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    Leah is an orphan in a Catholic Orphanage/School.  There are man

    Leah is an orphan in a Catholic Orphanage/School.  There are many girls there. They were all orphaned during a war between humans and the witching world.  The world is very anti-witch.  Being caught as a witch could mean death.  Leah is sixteen and has been hiding her witch powers for years.




    She is the perfect victim for the bullies of the orphanage.  The girls are not nice, they are very mean and abuse her constantly.  In a moment of emotional torture, Leah is ready and able to kill her torturers.  In that moment she is whisked away by a lady in a white light, a witch.




    From that moment, Leah learns more than she wanted to know about her powers and the true status of witchcraft.  She also learns about her birth parents and begins to go by the name her parents gave her, Christine, rather than Leah, the name the nun's gave her.




    She learns about friendship, and begins to like herself.  She learns that the world is not necessarily black and white.  There are many shades and the common notions are not necessarily the correct notions.




    I enjoyed this book and look forward to continue the journey that Leah/Christine is on.  M. Lathan has done a wonderful job at setting up the world, expressing the climate, and good character development.




    I would recommend this to older YA readers.  There is violence, kissing, and sexual innuendo.  I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    good but not the best.

    Ill admit this book was interesting and riveting at te least, but becaus of the fact that i am a naturally depressed person and i relate to Chris in way too many ways, i will not be continuing this fantasy seiries. It has a very interesting plot and backround. I also love the twist at the end involving her mother. But i myself am too fragile for a book this deep. I actually almost stopped in the middle, and i find my self glad that i continued the book. It was good but in the end i can only stomch shallow book wih but a few heartwrenching turns.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hidden is a story shrouded in mystery. The main character Leah (

    Hidden is a story shrouded in mystery. The main character Leah (Christine) has abilities that make her not human. Many times she would have given anything just to be a normal girl, but the older she gets. the stronger her powers grow. Growing up in an orphanage is bad enough, but growing up with supernatural abilities in an orphanage is brutal. Leah (Christine) is socially awkward and has no friends to speak of. When she runs away from the orphanage, it seems her life really begins. She makes friends and falls in love. Leaving Leah behind, she becomes Christine, but changing her name does not change who she is. When others start coming after her for her powers, Christine will learn the true value of friendship, the beauty of love, and the undeniable urge to protect what is hers.

    Hidden is a remarkable journey that makes you feel like you are apart of the story, not just an observer. This is a must read that will have you begging for more!

    I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    3.5 Hidden has a great twist on the paranormal. Humans know ab

    3.5

    Hidden has a great twist on the paranormal. Humans know about them, but believe there are no long any magic kind alive.

    I liked Leah's character for the most part. The poor girl has always believed she's a monster. She has never had friends, and when she's thrown into a house with four other people, she's not sure how she's supposed to act. Leah seems to take everything in pretty well, besides being scared out of her mind that Lydia Shaw is going to find her. The only thing I didn't like abut Leah is she doesn't let anyone know what's going on with her. She always says she's going to tell the truth, but never does. That was the one flaw I found. Leah does act like normal teen girls. She's confused, and doesn't know what she's supposed to do. Especially when it comes to a certain boy. I also liked the other characters, but I would rather you form your own opinion about them. And anything I might say about them here could possibly tell some of the story.

    The storyline was slow in some parts, but I think that has to do with helping Leah try to adjust to things. There are also some major plot twists. I'm usually pretty good at predicting what's going to happen or any twists there may be, and found myself with my jaw dropping at some parts. It's fun being put back into the life of a teenager with zero social experience. Okay, maybe not fun, maybe interesting to be put back in those awkward situations, and getting butterflies, and all that jazz.

    If you're looking for a fun read, I definitely suggest this one. I'm interested to see how things go int sequel, Lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    L

    L

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    A really great book

    This book is defanitly worth reafing.cant wait tillthe next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2