BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hidden (Marchwood Vampire Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Twilight with DMs on

I am an unashamed Twilight nut, and I absolutely loved this. In fact Edward Cullen and Alexandre (from Hidden) are toughing it out for top spot on my bookshelf as i am writing this. It's beautiful, dark and richly gothic, and dead creepy too. It's got everything a teen ...
I am an unashamed Twilight nut, and I absolutely loved this. In fact Edward Cullen and Alexandre (from Hidden) are toughing it out for top spot on my bookshelf as i am writing this. It's beautiful, dark and richly gothic, and dead creepy too. It's got everything a teen would love (I'm not a teen by the way) leaving home for the first time, romantic old mansions in the country, pretty vamps and a truly creepy ancient city of underground vampires. And, most important, a cracking story.


If you have a Twi-shaped hole in your life, this will more than fill it. Can't wait for the next one in the series.

posted by Faye10 on June 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The price of book makes things clear once u start reading!

Book did not get interesting till the 400s pages! It has alot of twilight similaries. If i want to read a twilight novel i will reread the twilight bk. The spelling and poor writing skills. Book did have potential. Wont read the second one unless the price is the same.

posted by Anonymous on August 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Twilight with DMs on

    I am an unashamed Twilight nut, and I absolutely loved this. In fact Edward Cullen and Alexandre (from Hidden) are toughing it out for top spot on my bookshelf as i am writing this. It's beautiful, dark and richly gothic, and dead creepy too. It's got everything a teen would love (I'm not a teen by the way) leaving home for the first time, romantic old mansions in the country, pretty vamps and a truly creepy ancient city of underground vampires. And, most important, a cracking story.


    If you have a Twi-shaped hole in your life, this will more than fill it. Can't wait for the next one in the series.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    A gripping and delicious read!

    We're in a world saturated with vampire stories - and for me they never get old. I love the genre. Boland gives me exactly what I need from a vamp novel (more Rice less Meyer) because she sets this in two time periods. I love the old world Gothic vibe, it's richly described, the layers are creepy, moreish, and addictive. I couldn't have stopped reading this if I'd tried.

    This book is a gripping page turner that made me want the next one!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazingly Pleasing

    This was an amazing read. I could not even begin to put it down. So many twists and turns. Shalini Boland does an incredible job with originality and her writing style is spectacular. I really want to see this as a movie, or television show. The world setting and character were so well written you can literally see the story play out as you read. The storyline grabs you from the beginning, with suspense, romance, and mystery. The pace keeps the story moving, till the end, and what an ending it was. I found nothing distastefully with this book. A definite NYT Bestseller in my opinion. One I'd love to see another book to.

    Come By and check out the giveaway going on and a Charater Interview:
    werevampsromance dot org

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Great book!

    I wasnt sure what to expect when i bought this book, but loved it from the start! Fell in love with the two main characters and couldnt put the book down. I loved the twilight series and didnt think i would like this as much... i was wrong! Loved it as much if not more and cannot wait for more of the series to come out!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Couldn't Put It Down

    I loved this book. It had everything I want from a novel. Maddy is a great character with attitude and I was rooting for her from the word go. There's so much edge of the seat suspense and the story takes you to unexpected and original places. I also like the contrast with modern day and historical - it added to the excitement. It was a great read which I think both teens and adults will love.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    A "Hidden" treasure!

    Can't wait for the next book in the series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Wow....

    I always look for authors who can spin a new view on the age old vampire story. Boland did just that. She took a story which has been told two ways from Sunday, and was able to drop in a new twist. I'm impressed and look forward to the next chapter in the lives of the Marchwood Vampires. This is on of the few novels I have allowed myself to read due to the influx of writing on the topic. I found myself tired of the same old predictable spin, and longed for someone to write a tale which would not only create questions but answer them as well. I sincerely hope Boland expands on the history and the origins she creatively put into play early. I would hate to see such a wonderful, imaginative and very creative story line fall into the wide trap of cookie cutter writing. Thanks Boland for a wonderful and 'hard to put down' read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    It was glued to my fingers

    This is one of those books you just have to keep reading. The number of times I was tired next day at work because it'd kept me up until the early hours. It's a wonderful, wonderful adventure that starts off in mundane urban life and then catapaults you so hard you nearly get whiplash. Madison is great, and so is Alexandre. What's amazing is how the author gives us an original twist on the vampire novel. Beautiful, beguiling, haunting, creepy and unputdownable!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Awesome!!

    Edward who? ALEX IS MY HERO NOW!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    WORTHY READ

    A TRULY ORIGINAL STORY. SMOOTH READ.
    WELL THOUGHT OUT CHARACTRES

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    SEQUEL CANNOT COME FAST ENOUGH

    THIS IS THE TYPE OF BOOK THAT ONCE U START U CANNOT PUT IT DOWN. PLEASE SEQUEL COME ALREADY!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Amazing!

    Read it. The setting is different and completely different than most typical vampire stories. The thing about it is the author gives two point of views-the vampire & the human.
    I enjoy reading about the old times with modern life still present.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    For 60-year-olds too.

    Strange how one often finds the best books under the YA label. I'll be 60 in two days. It didn't stop me very much enjoying this. A vampire novel - but a long way from the recent plethora of cliche vampire novels. Two interweaving stories, sulky teenager Madison, and Alexandre, from the 18th century finally joining and becoming the story of both. The characters are vivid, though I couldn't help but sympathise more with Madison.
    A romance and a thriller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great!!!

    Really great book. Each chapter that I finished left me anticipating more of the story. The characters are well developed and had me cheering them on. I'm really looking foward to the second book. I totally recommend this book to anyone, you won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Loved it.

    Was a bit nervous with all the twilight references, but was plesantly surprised at the twists and turns. I like all the characters and it's fascinating to watch their journey. Being in my 30's I was hoping the author hadn't dumbed anything down and was glad I didn't find that to be the case. Had no issues with the British slang at all. Highly recommend so give it a shot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Archaeology and Vampires!

    Hidden is an extremely entertaining read. I don't get a lot of time for reading, but sailed through this. Straight away it grips you with the amazing situation that feisty, rebellious Madison, the heroine, finds herself in when she discovers she is the heir to Marchwood. But it's not just an enormous house that she inherits...

    Alexandre is lovely (there's no other word I can think of). He is a vampire, but is essentially still a human, and a very lovely human at that. It's hardly surprising that Madison falls for him, and great fun to see how he adapts to the modern world that he wakes up in.

    The whole thing is written with humour and an adventurous spirit. The ending was very satisfying, and I look forward to seeing what happens when the next book comes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Awesome

    I kived this book, romance, adventure, suspense...cant wait for the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Twilight with DMs on

    I am an unashamed Twilight nut, and I absolutely loved this. In fact Edward Cullen and Alexandre (from Hidden) are toughing it out for top spot on my bookshelf as i am writing this. It's beautiful, dark and richly gothic, and dead creepy too. It's got everything a teen would love (I'm not a teen by the way) leaving home for the first time, romantic old mansions in the country, pretty vamps and a truly creepy ancient city of underground vampires. And, most important, a cracking story.


    If you have a Twi-shaped hole in your life, this will more than fill it. Can't wait for the next one in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Great Read!!

    From start to finish, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    How long

    Seriously how long

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5