Customer Reviews for

Hidden (Sisters of the Heart Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    A Great Read

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a quick read and not your typical Christian book. If you like fiction books about the Amish you will like this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Hidden

    I got this book from the library. It is the best book. It is an old time book. Well i do not want to be a spoiler alert so i will stop. READ THIS BOOK OR I WILL BE MAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Hard to put down

    A good read for anyone who likes amish fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended - fascinating read about the Amish & the Englishers

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and would highly recommend it to anyone who is at all curious about the Amish lifestyle. Even if you aren't, it is very interesting to see how an English girl who is in a very troubled relationship escapes and finds safety and protection.

    I would like to see books by Shelley Shepard Gray, Beverly Lewis, Jeanette Oke, T. Davis Bunn, Karen Kingsbury, Lauraine Snelling, and others that are similar writers become available on the free list. They are all very fascinating writers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Hidden by Shelley Shepard Gray

    I finished reading this book in 2 days and I absolutely loved it. I am axniously awaiting 'Wanted' which is her next book in the series 'Sisters of the Heart'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Fabulous and unique

    Fabulous, that's the first thing I must say about this book, but I'll come back to that. I do not know the correct terminology, yet I will try. There is just something about the covers of Avon Inpire books, I have loved every one that I have seen and this is my favorite so far. There is just something about the flat finish, instead of a glossy print that I just adore. Not to mention the road with the Amish sky ahead and the image of the blonde girl with green eyes. (A little curious as to why she did not have the curly hair of our character though...) Now, about the actual story. Anna's live is an interesting one. A girl searching to belong and often as most looking in the wrong places for excitement and affection. (The evil in the book reminds me of the evil in that movie Enough. But this is not a story of how to beat up your evil counterpart. This is a story about strength and growth.)This book is a story about the heart, and about doing things that are right. It brings in the idea of political evil and abuse, but everything bad brought in by the author is handled tactfully and revealed in a respectable manner. This is a fabulous book, and a wonderful romance. I think that one of the things that I like best about this book is that it is a romantic historical Christian fiction about Amish characters, but it is unlike any that I have ever read before.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Love the plot.

    Really good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    If you haven't had the chance to read an Amish Book or if you li

    If you haven't had the chance to read an Amish Book or if you like to read books in this genre then you'll want to read Hidden.
    A friend of mine gave me this book to read, it was the very first Amish book that I had read. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. Hidden is a "Hidden" Gem! Shelley Shepard Gray gives us a rare glimpse into the Amish life. A unique touching love story that spans two different ways of life. You will be drawn in from the first page. Her characters seem so real and will pull you into the story.

    Hidden is a special story to me. Anna and Katie are my favorite characters in this story. I totally felt Anna's struggle as she ran away from an abusive relationship, to finding her own voice, independence, and a new way of living while she was staying with Katie and her family at the bed and breakfast. I was cheering her on as she renewed her faith and found God's love, and when she realized that she had found love again with Henry. I was on the edge of my seat when Anna and the family faced her abuser.

    I love that the setting was in a bed and breakfast and it sounds so beautiful the landscape and the town. I was glad that her and Katie's friendship was strengthened even though they had some differences. Reading about how the Amish live and their values really struck a chord with me. I enjoyed learning how the Amish work the land, and use no electricity, and they work hard for what they do have. All the characters add depth to Anna's story and are each unique in their own way. I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Grear book

    Really enjoyed this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Uplifting Romance

    This is an uplifting romance and a realistic portrayal of the Amish culture. I enjoyed the romance and getting to know the characters, who were well portrayed. The romance is moving and tender. I look forward to reading more books by this talented author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An Amish story with a difference

    I met Shelley at the 2008 ACFW conference AFTER I had read her novel. I didn't have the book with me so she graciously signed a book plate for me to bring home from the conference.<BR/><BR/>This is an Amish story with a difference. Even though I am also an anabaptist (Old German Baptist Brethren) I do not always feel the published Amish stories are "realistic," This one was. I highly recommend this book and will read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful debut writing

    I love reading stories about the Amish lifestyle. I especially love the storis where the Amish and English worlds collide. This story clearly showed the differences between the two cultures but also how they could blend together. Rob is a really bad guy who wants to control everything possible. Yet I can totally see why it took so long for Anna to get away from him. With his smooth talk, he's a wolf in sheep's clothing. It's a completely realistic portrayal of an abusive relationship and why it's so tough for women to get help. Even when they do cry out for help, if someone doesn't want to see the wrong in someone they will turn a blind eye. I really didn't understand why the Brenneman's turned a cold shoulder to Anna's problems. Yes she did bring her issues and situation to their peaceful community the way Henry and his parents were acting seemed like she was in the wrong for running away and trying to get help. Did they want her to stay in the relationship and get hurt even more? I hope not, but that was the reaction that I got from them. The only complaint I had about this book was that it was a little short. I felt like there could have been more told about Anna and Henry's growing relationship plus expounding on how she was going to switch over to the Amish lifestyle. I am looking very forward to reading the next book in the series. If you love stories about the Amish lifestyle, be sure to pick up this outstanding debut.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2