Customer Reviews for

Hidden Currents (Drake Sisters Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 304 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Dark but good

This is the final book in the Drake Sisters series (one of my favorite CF series, I might add). Although this wasn't what I would consider her normal type of story - this was definitely a good closing for a fantastic series. Elle and Jackson were so needy of each other ...
This is the final book in the Drake Sisters series (one of my favorite CF series, I might add). Although this wasn't what I would consider her normal type of story - this was definitely a good closing for a fantastic series. Elle and Jackson were so needy of each other - their love was poignant and just a beautiful thing to read about. I loved that we finally get Jackson's story - we've known all along that he had been held prisoner against his will and we finally get to see how that affected him and makes him the quiet, brooding man that he is today. Elle's experience was just as heart-wrenching and unfathomable as his. They are kindred spirits who used those negative experiences to help heal and eventually make them a force to be reckoned with. Warning! (Very dark, very sad dealing with rape). This book is not for the faint-hearted. "Hidden Currents" exposes dark aspects of human nature and a deviant subculture that exists within our society of which most are unaware and many more wish to so remain.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed; Does Elle, a beloved character and virgin, have to be raped and tortured just so her & Jackson understand each other and have more in common?

I have read all of Mrs. Feehan books and this one I am disappointed and disgusted that she would to resort to rape and torture of a beloved character (who is a virgin)to make a plot! Would a women who was beaten and raped repeatedly over a month really have sex two days...
I have read all of Mrs. Feehan books and this one I am disappointed and disgusted that she would to resort to rape and torture of a beloved character (who is a virgin)to make a plot! Would a women who was beaten and raped repeatedly over a month really have sex two days after being rescued? In all the books the sisters are extremely close yet you don't feel it in this book because she puts distance between herself and them. The ending is short and forced, especially since this was the last book.

posted by 911585 on July 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 306 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark but good

    This is the final book in the Drake Sisters series (one of my favorite CF series, I might add). Although this wasn't what I would consider her normal type of story - this was definitely a good closing for a fantastic series. Elle and Jackson were so needy of each other - their love was poignant and just a beautiful thing to read about. I loved that we finally get Jackson's story - we've known all along that he had been held prisoner against his will and we finally get to see how that affected him and makes him the quiet, brooding man that he is today. Elle's experience was just as heart-wrenching and unfathomable as his. They are kindred spirits who used those negative experiences to help heal and eventually make them a force to be reckoned with. Warning! (Very dark, very sad dealing with rape). This book is not for the faint-hearted. "Hidden Currents" exposes dark aspects of human nature and a deviant subculture that exists within our society of which most are unaware and many more wish to so remain.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    Disappointed; Does Elle, a beloved character and virgin, have to be raped and tortured just so her & Jackson understand each other and have more in common?

    I have read all of Mrs. Feehan books and this one I am disappointed and disgusted that she would to resort to rape and torture of a beloved character (who is a virgin)to make a plot! Would a women who was beaten and raped repeatedly over a month really have sex two days after being rescued? In all the books the sisters are extremely close yet you don't feel it in this book because she puts distance between herself and them. The ending is short and forced, especially since this was the last book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The seventh and final Drake sister romantic fantasy is a strong finish to a powerful series

    Psychic though many will say psycho businessman Stavros Gratsos kidnaps Elle Drake who had just returned to her family home Sea Haven. Although Elle and her six older sisters are also psychics, Stavros has somehow been able to electronically disable their telepathic abilities. Her siblings are distraught, but plan to do whatever it takes to rescue the youngest of this generation Drake brood.

    Sea Haven Deputy Sheriff Jackson Deveau has loved Elle from afar forever and vows to save his beloved. Elle has reciprocated his feelings so that a telepathic link built on love connects them in spite of Stavros' gizmo. He along with the Drake clan extract Elle from the psychopath, but not before Stavros tortured and raped her. Jackson is there for his emotionally shattered beloved and she begins to mentally heal due to his nurturing. However, Stavros wants her back and threatens all her loved ones leading to the extended Drake family (stars of the previous six entries) taking on a maniac and his horde of mercenaries.

    The seventh and final Drake sister romantic fantasy is a strong finish to a powerful series. The lead couple is a likable pairing as both have issues; especially timely and poignant is the consequences on an individual who was tortures. The villain is a clever and brilliant but insane psychic whose demented vile mind enhances the plot as he forces the return of all the Drake sisters and their mates to unite to counter fight this lunatic.

    Harriet Klausner

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A disappointment

    I am addicted to CF's books and think they are excellent, this one, not so much. I have spent most of this book wondering if someone else wrote it. I agree, no one is going to go through what she goes through and bounce back the way she does. Even the love scenes are a little unusual for CF.

    I don't want to give too much away but just her physical wounds would have prevented much initimacy, not to mention the emotional ones. And would you consider torture and rape a learning experience? **yuck** This story line should have been pursued in her Ghostwalker series not the sweet Drake sisters.

    If you have read the rest of the Drake Sister's novels then you need to read this one but do NOT start with this one.

    I did like how she brought all the characters from the previous novels together.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    Yikes!!!!

    I have read all of Christine Feehan's books and the Drake sister's series is my favorite. That being said, this is, by far, the WORST book of the lot. It was stomach-turning for the first third of the book and unbelievable for the rest. That's not to say it wasn't well-written, I will give credit where credit is due. However, this book was the black sheep of the series. The brutality and rape is so far afield from the Drake sisters normal content. I also think it short-changed the Elle character, as she was the walking wounded and not her normal self throughout the book. I do not recommend this for people new to the series. To veterans of the series I recommend skimming this one instead of torturing yourselves. For crying out loud CF--I read your books for entertainment and fun! Stop trying to depress me!!!! If I want to be depressed I will watch the news!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Christine Feehan has outdone herself this time

    I bought "Hidden Currents" yesterday and just finished it earlier this afternoon. I thought it was fantastic. I had been so looking forward to Elle and Jackson's story and I can say that I was not in any way disappointed. I appreciated how Feehan used her novel as a platform to bring attention to human trafficking that's occurring every single day in our society. There were scenes that were hard to read because of their brutality but I made myself get through it because if human trafficking is not talked about the problem will never get solved. I enjoyed how we got to see the story behind who Jackson is and what had happened to him to make him such a calculated killer. Elle and Jackson's story was lovely and heart warming and the ending was what I had hoped for, so I'm very pleased with this book. I read on Feehan's website that this is the last book in the Drake Sisters Series and I was sad to see that because I have enjoyed each sister's journey and I will miss them greatly. I'm thinking about starting at book one again and re-reading them all. I don't think I could ever get tired of the town, the sisters and people of Sea Haven.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    Big Let Down

    I've loved this series from the beginning. Now I wish I hadn't read it at all. Feehan managed to create a situation where the series ends in a disappointing and abrupt way. After having Elle suffer a month of rapes and torture she never actually seemed to have her work through it. I'm still not sure what Elle is really like. I was so disappointed that Feehan would torment the main character in the book like this. And the ending of the series just felt as if she were using it to transition to a new series based on the Prakenskii brothers. All in all, I wish I had not read this book and just kept the series incomplete. I could easily have thought of a much more satisfying and happier ending for Elle, Jackson, and all of the Drakes.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    awsome READ

    Christnie Feehan has out done her self yet again. I have read all her book and they are all fabulous. I read the first chapter for this one and agian its fabulous as allways she is a wonderful writer i recomened her books to anyone and everyone.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Last of the Drake Sisters

    You have to read the other books to understand the youngest Drake. You can truly escape into the land of magic and the deep love that Ellie and Jackson share. I hope that Ms Feehan finds someway to keep the series going as I miss the Drake sisters already.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    bitterly disappointed

    if this is the future of feehan books, main characters being raped and tortured,im done with feehan books. i also wouldnt finish it

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    disappointed in this finale to the Drakes

    Too graphic and the character's motivations did not make sense. Elle does not seem like the type to be an undercover agent especially with her responsibility to the Drake legacy. Jackson allowing her to put herself in that kind of danger is ridiculous.
    Also, the way Feehan dealt with the reverend RJ seemed like she was trying to wrap up the series quickly. At least it was a paperback.
    I am a huge fan, but this was my least favorite of her novels.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Long live the Drake sisters!

    I read the first chapter, and I am anxiously awaiting the release of this book. Knowing this is the story of the youngest Drake sister, I can only hope this is not the end of this series. I have come to love the sisters, and look forward to a continuing saga.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Highly recommend!!

    I loved this book!! It was a little hard to read in some scenes. I did wonder why Ms Feehan took this beautiful character down this very very tough path. But her family and the love of her life get her through it. It is a wonderful book and a great read!! I love the entire series!! Can't wait for the next one!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Highly disappointed and disturbed

    I have never written a review before but I felt so strongly about this that here I am. I have loved every single one of Ms. Feehan's book, but this one is just wrong. I couldn't even get past the first part of the book. Rape, torture, that's not enjoyable to read. So, for the first time ever, I have stopped reading a book and I'm returning it. I had better hopes for this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    TMI

    TMI again, especially for some people who have had hard traumatic life experiences. PTSD show its face on reading this. No one can recover this fast from such trauma physically and emotionally (even for a piece of fiction). Concentrates too much on rape, torture and viciousness. Spreads out too thin on all the sisters and their fiances. Traumatic reading. Leave this book to people who never had bad experiences in their life. It may bring them to new consciousness. After reading to the last third of the book, I spot read it only, because I wanted to get a general feel for the ending of the series. The good of the end did not make up for the much too realistic horrors of the beginning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I want 1 more book

    The story of Elle and Jackson is heartbreaking. There was nothing easy about this read. Without giving to much away, the things Elle goes through are raw, that Jackson has to live it vicariously with her heartwrenching, and his approach to her care beyond touching. The contraints of putting this story into one book must have been impossible for the author because there is so much more than could have been said.

    In fact their story is so powerful that I think that this book should have only been about Elle and Jackson.

    The final showdown of good against evil that the Drake sisters have been battling throughout the series - that could have waited for another book. Because it was tacked on to the end of such an emotionally charged story it just fell flat, despite all the Drake flair she tried to write into it it was like riding the wildest rollercoaster then hitting a brick wall. I was dumbfounded to find all the buildup of six books ending so neatly. It didn't do the series or the author justice.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    Worth waiting for!

    A wonderful ending to the series. I hope to see more of Ilya's brothers, maybe her next series? She can then revisit the Drakes.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2015

    Great ending to a great series.

    The last book in the Drake Sisters series did not disappoint. What happens to Elle in the beginning, though, causes what happened to Hannah pale in comparison. Elle goes through hell early on in the book, which causes Jackson to take the final step towards committing to Elle and her legacy. It was quite awkward being with Elle and Jackson when he finds her, psychically speaking. When she goes through, while Jackson "witnesses" it made me feel like I shouldn't have been in the same room! The hell that Jackson goes through after he loses the link made me want to cry, his pain was so real. The conflict and the bad guy were great (story-wise), he added to the tensity of the storyline. Elle and Jackson's story, once she is home safe, is touching and heartbreaking, but Jackson does all of the right things and his love for her is very touching. I loved the story, was sad to see the series end, but am looking forward to reading the spin-off series. Great series, very entertaining, lots of touching moments throughout the 7 books, strong female leads with males that perfectly match up. My favorite in the series is still Abby and Aleksander's story, followed by Hannah and Jonas. Coming in for third favorite is Joley and Ilya's story, and fourth is this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2014

    I, like many others was very disappointed with this book. It did

    I, like many others was very disappointed with this book. It did not fit well with the other story lines in the series. This one was way to dark . To have the main character that was well liked in the series to be brutalized as she was just did not fit well in the theme of the series. I did not enjoy this story at all. If I wanted a harsh dark story there are other authors who are well known in the genre I could have read. Did not expect this from the Sisters Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    This final book in the series is a real departure from the other

    This final book in the series is a real departure from the others - many pages of extraordinary sexual violence and torture of Elle. I get that the series developed a subplot of fighting human trafficking, but never was there a hint of the graphic violence to come. Even skipping many pages once I realized, it was too late. Beware all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 306 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16