Customer Reviews for

Hidden Currents (Drake Sisters Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 304 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Dark but good

This is the final book in the Drake Sisters series (one of my favorite CF series, I might add). Although this wasn't what I would consider her normal type of story - this was definitely a good closing for a fantastic series. Elle and Jackson were so needy of each other ...
This is the final book in the Drake Sisters series (one of my favorite CF series, I might add). Although this wasn't what I would consider her normal type of story - this was definitely a good closing for a fantastic series. Elle and Jackson were so needy of each other - their love was poignant and just a beautiful thing to read about. I loved that we finally get Jackson's story - we've known all along that he had been held prisoner against his will and we finally get to see how that affected him and makes him the quiet, brooding man that he is today. Elle's experience was just as heart-wrenching and unfathomable as his. They are kindred spirits who used those negative experiences to help heal and eventually make them a force to be reckoned with. Warning! (Very dark, very sad dealing with rape). This book is not for the faint-hearted. "Hidden Currents" exposes dark aspects of human nature and a deviant subculture that exists within our society of which most are unaware and many more wish to so remain.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed; Does Elle, a beloved character and virgin, have to be raped and tortured just so her & Jackson understand each other and have more in common?

I have read all of Mrs. Feehan books and this one I am disappointed and disgusted that she would to resort to rape and torture of a beloved character (who is a virgin)to make a plot! Would a women who was beaten and raped repeatedly over a month really have sex two days...
I have read all of Mrs. Feehan books and this one I am disappointed and disgusted that she would to resort to rape and torture of a beloved character (who is a virgin)to make a plot! Would a women who was beaten and raped repeatedly over a month really have sex two days after being rescued? In all the books the sisters are extremely close yet you don't feel it in this book because she puts distance between herself and them. The ending is short and forced, especially since this was the last book.

posted by 911585 on July 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    Disappointed; Does Elle, a beloved character and virgin, have to be raped and tortured just so her & Jackson understand each other and have more in common?

    I have read all of Mrs. Feehan books and this one I am disappointed and disgusted that she would to resort to rape and torture of a beloved character (who is a virgin)to make a plot! Would a women who was beaten and raped repeatedly over a month really have sex two days after being rescued? In all the books the sisters are extremely close yet you don't feel it in this book because she puts distance between herself and them. The ending is short and forced, especially since this was the last book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    Yikes!!!!

    I have read all of Christine Feehan's books and the Drake sister's series is my favorite. That being said, this is, by far, the WORST book of the lot. It was stomach-turning for the first third of the book and unbelievable for the rest. That's not to say it wasn't well-written, I will give credit where credit is due. However, this book was the black sheep of the series. The brutality and rape is so far afield from the Drake sisters normal content. I also think it short-changed the Elle character, as she was the walking wounded and not her normal self throughout the book. I do not recommend this for people new to the series. To veterans of the series I recommend skimming this one instead of torturing yourselves. For crying out loud CF--I read your books for entertainment and fun! Stop trying to depress me!!!! If I want to be depressed I will watch the news!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    bitterly disappointed

    if this is the future of feehan books, main characters being raped and tortured,im done with feehan books. i also wouldnt finish it

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Highly disappointed and disturbed

    I have never written a review before but I felt so strongly about this that here I am. I have loved every single one of Ms. Feehan's book, but this one is just wrong. I couldn't even get past the first part of the book. Rape, torture, that's not enjoyable to read. So, for the first time ever, I have stopped reading a book and I'm returning it. I had better hopes for this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2014

    I, like many others was very disappointed with this book. It did

    I, like many others was very disappointed with this book. It did not fit well with the other story lines in the series. This one was way to dark . To have the main character that was well liked in the series to be brutalized as she was just did not fit well in the theme of the series. I did not enjoy this story at all. If I wanted a harsh dark story there are other authors who are well known in the genre I could have read. Did not expect this from the Sisters Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    This final book in the series is a real departure from the other

    This final book in the series is a real departure from the others - many pages of extraordinary sexual violence and torture of Elle. I get that the series developed a subplot of fighting human trafficking, but never was there a hint of the graphic violence to come. Even skipping many pages once I realized, it was too late. Beware all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    Very unhappy ending to a great series

    So disappointing! RAPE IS NOT FUNNY, EXCITING OR TO ENTERTAIN! That horror gets relived by many people every time a writer is too lazy to come up with an original idea. Pathetic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing conclusion

    I had looked forward to the conclusion of the Drake sisters series. The story of Elle and Jackson had been building until this final installment. While he beginning description of her torture was brutal to read, the following pages of her recovery were just as hard due to the lack of content. The story seemed superficial and repetitive. There was no depth. Very sorry that it ended this way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Dog

    I've read all of Christine Feehan's books (Dark series, Ghostwalkers, Leopard, and single titles). Typically, I wait impatiently then buy on first release date. This book was my least favorite of all time and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. I regret the anticipation I felt prior to release and the actual purchase of the book. Christine must have had writer's block or she may have used an unproven ghost co-author to meet a deadline instead of delaying production. She didn't perform the research one would expect for a realistic portrayal of this type of subject matter. The Ele and Jackson characters deserved so much better for a grand finale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    Love the Drakes, Hated this book

    I have been-- and remain-- an avid Christine Feehan fan. I read all of her series and had been very anxiously awaiting this final Drake Sisters novel. Having read about the characters over the last six stories and enjoying the author's style overall for so long I was expecting something great. And perhaps I was expecting too much, but this book really did not meet my expectations and oftentimes was downright depressing. The romance between the two main characters took too much of a backseat to the all too recent trauma of the heroine. This book was too dark and too sad for this series and romance overall. I understand romances don't always have to be perfect and without issues/drama/concerns to be enjoyed. In both her Game and Dark series' there is often trauma, but she normally doesn't allow it to so completely overshadow the romance of the main characters. For anyone new to Christine Feehan, I wouldn't recommend this book to start(if at all). Pick just about ANY other Feehan novel for a great experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    Did not enjoy, too much violence

    I have all of Christine Feehan's books and usually enjoy her stories, unfortunately that was not the case with this one. There was just too much violence. I finished it because I had to, but it was not enjoyable in the least. The rape and the violent scenes spoiled the book for me, and honestly left me feeling a bit sick. There are ladies I work with that now read Christine Feehan because I recommended the Dark series, but I recommended that they not read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    Oh My Goodness

    This is the worst book in the Drake Series. I waited since last year to read this book and was so disgusted and disappointed. The Drake Sisters have had their share of problems true, but rape. I was so horrified I couldn't even finish the book. Reading it made my stomach hurt. DO NOT WASTER YOUR TIME.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2