Customer Reviews for

Hidden Currents (Drake Sisters Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 301 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(184)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Dark but good

This is the final book in the Drake Sisters series (one of my favorite CF series, I might add). Although this wasn't what I would consider her normal type of story - this was definitely a good closing for a fantastic series. Elle and Jackson were so needy of each other ...
This is the final book in the Drake Sisters series (one of my favorite CF series, I might add). Although this wasn't what I would consider her normal type of story - this was definitely a good closing for a fantastic series. Elle and Jackson were so needy of each other - their love was poignant and just a beautiful thing to read about. I loved that we finally get Jackson's story - we've known all along that he had been held prisoner against his will and we finally get to see how that affected him and makes him the quiet, brooding man that he is today. Elle's experience was just as heart-wrenching and unfathomable as his. They are kindred spirits who used those negative experiences to help heal and eventually make them a force to be reckoned with. Warning! (Very dark, very sad dealing with rape). This book is not for the faint-hearted. "Hidden Currents" exposes dark aspects of human nature and a deviant subculture that exists within our society of which most are unaware and many more wish to so remain.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed; Does Elle, a beloved character and virgin, have to be raped and tortured just so her & Jackson understand each other and have more in common?

I have read all of Mrs. Feehan books and this one I am disappointed and disgusted that she would to resort to rape and torture of a beloved character (who is a virgin)to make a plot! Would a women who was beaten and raped repeatedly over a month really have sex two days...
I have read all of Mrs. Feehan books and this one I am disappointed and disgusted that she would to resort to rape and torture of a beloved character (who is a virgin)to make a plot! Would a women who was beaten and raped repeatedly over a month really have sex two days after being rescued? In all the books the sisters are extremely close yet you don't feel it in this book because she puts distance between herself and them. The ending is short and forced, especially since this was the last book.

posted by 911585 on July 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    TMI

    TMI again, especially for some people who have had hard traumatic life experiences. PTSD show its face on reading this. No one can recover this fast from such trauma physically and emotionally (even for a piece of fiction). Concentrates too much on rape, torture and viciousness. Spreads out too thin on all the sisters and their fiances. Traumatic reading. Leave this book to people who never had bad experiences in their life. It may bring them to new consciousness. After reading to the last third of the book, I spot read it only, because I wanted to get a general feel for the ending of the series. The good of the end did not make up for the much too realistic horrors of the beginning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    Certain scenes may be difficult for some readers

    I've enjoyed reading the Drake Sisters Series, and this book did a good job of wrapping up their story. HOWEVER, I would like to warn anyone considering buying the book that there is a very graphic rape scene, which may be disturbing to some readers. While most fans of Christine Feehan know that her books are sexually explicit, this particular scene went beyond anything I'm used to reading in a romance/paranormal romance, and I almost had to stop reading the book.

    That being said, the relationship between Elle and Jackson is particularly moving, and I'm glad that I finally got to know these two characters better.

    The suspense created around the main villain really fueled the story, but the ending felt a bit anti-climatic, after all that build-up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    hopefully not the last one.

    I am a fan of Christine Feehan's series, especially the Drake sisters (as you could probably tell by my pen name.) I like the Carpathian series just fine, although I think she might be overstretching herself plotwise, less of a fan of the Ghostwalkers, but still enjoy them. I like the Drake sister series because it had a finite number to it: seven. Seven sisters, perfect number for a series about a family. But having read the last one, I hope Feehan is not ending on this traumatic note. The story was shocking, out of place for the mostly serene Drake sisters books. The plot seemed a bit more along the lines of her Ghostwalker series, which tends to be more brutal. I see where Feehan wanted to go with the story: the most powerful sister is nearly broken and needs the strength of the family and her love, Jackson, to help her bring the pieces back together. However, the need for torture and rape seemed a bit extreme. Yes, her physical wounds can heals fast with the help of pshycic healing, but what about the emotional wounds? Another issue I had was that there was not nearly enough of the sisters and their men for a final book. I'm hoping that she will revisit the cozy seaside town of Sea Haven once more for a reunion novel, hopefully without the terrorizing trauma.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hidden Currents

    Okay, I think I can say that I have pretty much read any and all of Christine feehan's books. I have been waiting very impatiently for the final book in the drake sisters series. Elle has been one of my favorite characters since the beginning and unfortunately it was the most hardest to read. I can say I was greatly disappointed with her being raped. I felt that It was too much and not very accurately portrayed with real life sexual assault. I just can't see someone being abused for so long turn around and do some of the things she did. I have read a lot of books when sexual assault occurs, some with very detailed description in them and obviously they disturb you. But something about this book was almost too much. I guess I wasn't expecting Christine Feehan to go this route. I can't say that this book was bad. It was upsetting and hard to read at times, but it also had great parts through most of the story. I just hope that Christine doesn't to this again to such a beloved character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2