Customer Reviews for

Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

fine historical fiction

In 1769, Father Kunibert demands that thirteen years old Archduchess Maria Antonia called Antoinette to confess her sins by writing them down in a journal. Thus starts a record of her life through her eyes that she maintains until her last entry while residing in Conci...
In 1769, Father Kunibert demands that thirteen years old Archduchess Maria Antonia called Antoinette to confess her sins by writing them down in a journal. Thus starts a record of her life through her eyes that she maintains until her last entry while residing in Conciergie Prison in Oct 1793. Early on at fourteen, she is to save Austria by marrying the Bourbon heir to the throne of France. Over the next two decades she takes lovers, but supports her husband King Louis XVI. When the peasants storm the palace, she is as unprepared as the other nobles especially her spouse. As she realizes they will get their pint of blood and more, she keeps her head up until she meets Madam Guillotine. --- Using real historical events over the latter half of the eighteenth century, Carolly Erickson provides a provocative fictionalized autobiography of Marie Antoinette. Fans obtain a taste of how the royal court perceived life including their take on the peasant class. Though there is too much titillating tease about Maria┬┐s affairs that takes away from the insightful look at the events and misinterpretation of these incidents that lead to the downfall of royalty, THE HIDDEN DIARY OF MARIE ANTOINETTE remains a fine work of historical fiction. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I'm a huge fan of historical fiction and, though a history buff, I can ignore historical inaccuracies for the sake of a good story. However, this was, quite possibly, THE WORST story I have ever read. The plot is simplistic and trite, the characters are all unsympat...
I'm a huge fan of historical fiction and, though a history buff, I can ignore historical inaccuracies for the sake of a good story. However, this was, quite possibly, THE WORST story I have ever read. The plot is simplistic and trite, the characters are all unsympathetic and I was quite glad that Erickson's incredibly evil National Assembly condemned them all to death. She ignored the complexities of the people and the time period and instead chose to invent characters and events that were incredibly inane and were much more boring than what actually happened. The author very obviously did not bother to do much research and her account of the French Revolution reads like royalist propaganda. Robespierre, who historically was a soft-spoken idealist called 'the Incorruptible' shows up as The Source of All Evil, whom we are supposed to hate because he has pockmarks 'he didn't' and he blames Marie for quite rightly conspiring with Austria. Marie herself is horribly unsympathetic and I wanted to hit her over the head with a shovel. She is stupid, vapid, irritating, and selfish. It is remarkably easy to make Marie Antoinette sympathetic. Who wouldn't feel sorry for a 14-year-old princess taken away from everything she holds dear to the very bewildering court of Versailles? However, by zeroing in on the flippant, frivolous twit who ramped up the national debt because she just *had* to have a new diamond necklace, Erickson made Marie Antoinette one-dimensional and thoroughly boring when she wasn't thoroughly irritating. Erickson offers no motivations for any of her characters' actions, offers an incredibly vacuous view of a highly complicated time and completely ignores historical people and events for invented, trite, boring, and incredibly stupid characters and actions that she made up entirely. This was a terrible, terrible book, and I hope Carolly Erickson will learn to a. research before attempting an historical novel, and b. learn that people have motivations for actions and are seldom one-dimensional. I wish I could have a refund, and/or give this book zero stars. It was really that bad.

posted by Anonymous on October 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    I'm a huge fan of historical fiction and, though a history buff, I can ignore historical inaccuracies for the sake of a good story. However, this was, quite possibly, THE WORST story I have ever read. The plot is simplistic and trite, the characters are all unsympathetic and I was quite glad that Erickson's incredibly evil National Assembly condemned them all to death. She ignored the complexities of the people and the time period and instead chose to invent characters and events that were incredibly inane and were much more boring than what actually happened. The author very obviously did not bother to do much research and her account of the French Revolution reads like royalist propaganda. Robespierre, who historically was a soft-spoken idealist called 'the Incorruptible' shows up as The Source of All Evil, whom we are supposed to hate because he has pockmarks 'he didn't' and he blames Marie for quite rightly conspiring with Austria. Marie herself is horribly unsympathetic and I wanted to hit her over the head with a shovel. She is stupid, vapid, irritating, and selfish. It is remarkably easy to make Marie Antoinette sympathetic. Who wouldn't feel sorry for a 14-year-old princess taken away from everything she holds dear to the very bewildering court of Versailles? However, by zeroing in on the flippant, frivolous twit who ramped up the national debt because she just *had* to have a new diamond necklace, Erickson made Marie Antoinette one-dimensional and thoroughly boring when she wasn't thoroughly irritating. Erickson offers no motivations for any of her characters' actions, offers an incredibly vacuous view of a highly complicated time and completely ignores historical people and events for invented, trite, boring, and incredibly stupid characters and actions that she made up entirely. This was a terrible, terrible book, and I hope Carolly Erickson will learn to a. research before attempting an historical novel, and b. learn that people have motivations for actions and are seldom one-dimensional. I wish I could have a refund, and/or give this book zero stars. It was really that bad.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Disappointed

    This book was a complete disappointment. It wasn't until the very end that the author decided to acknowledge it's fabricated. I knew some of it would be imaginative, but believed most would be based on fact. It was a waste of my time and money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Fiction ('fiction' being the operative word) Novel.

    This was a really good fiction novel however was completely innaccurate to the point that it actually made me wonder if the writer knew anything about Marie Antoinette and for that matter the French Revolution. As a complete work of fiction I found it really good but I also think that it's important for a fiction novel based on actual events to be accurate. Two of the things that bothered me the most was her portrayal of Louis XVI as a simpleton rather than a reluctant King, the explosive arguments between Marie Antoinette and Madame Du Barry which never happened because Marie Antoinette prided herself on never speaking to the woman until she was forced into it by Count Mercy and her mother, Louis-Joseph died of tuberculosis and was never diagnosed has having a curvature of the spine. This is just a few inaccuracies the ones which bothered me the most. Over all it's a good book not one I would recommend for someone looking for a fictionalized novel based in fact.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review from www.pagese.wordpress.com

    I'll be the first to admit that I don't know much about Marie Antoinette. And, what I do know probably comes from the movies. She usually isn't portrayed very kindly there. I had built this image of a young women who liked parties, clothes, and basic extravagance. This book took an extreme opposite view. It touched on the rumors surrounding the Queen, but I never got a good feel for how the Queen felt about this. The book seems to down play all of that, when in fact that malicious gossip eventually made the people of France hate her. She had to have realized that but she seems really detached from her people and her country. I'm sure the truth lies somewhere in the middle. Although, I'm sure we will never know the whole truth surrounding all the gossip.

    I did really enjoy the format of the book. The diary entries made it seem like more of a possibility that this was who the Queen really was. I learned a few things I did not know. Plus, it made me want to read more historical fiction about Marie Antoinette. Some seem to complain about some characters being made up, but I able to take that in because I know it is historical fiction. I know that not everything is fact. Overall, and interesting read, but I feel it's steeped more in fiction than in fact.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very, very good book.

    I think this would be for 6th grade and up (I read it in 5th, but whatever) This book has very serious issues, along with very true and good characters. The (more or less) fictional life or Marie Antoinette is very interesting. Here comes the famous guilitine (probably didn't spell that right) watch out Marie...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine historical fiction

    In 1769, Father Kunibert demands that thirteen years old Archduchess Maria Antonia called Antoinette to confess her sins by writing them down in a journal. Thus starts a record of her life through her eyes that she maintains until her last entry while residing in Conciergie Prison in Oct 1793. Early on at fourteen, she is to save Austria by marrying the Bourbon heir to the throne of France. Over the next two decades she takes lovers, but supports her husband King Louis XVI. When the peasants storm the palace, she is as unprepared as the other nobles especially her spouse. As she realizes they will get their pint of blood and more, she keeps her head up until she meets Madam Guillotine. --- Using real historical events over the latter half of the eighteenth century, Carolly Erickson provides a provocative fictionalized autobiography of Marie Antoinette. Fans obtain a taste of how the royal court perceived life including their take on the peasant class. Though there is too much titillating tease about Maria¿s affairs that takes away from the insightful look at the events and misinterpretation of these incidents that lead to the downfall of royalty, THE HIDDEN DIARY OF MARIE ANTOINETTE remains a fine work of historical fiction. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Carolly Erickson is known for her historical works, including st

    Carolly Erickson is known for her historical works, including stories about Mary, Queen of Scots, Catherine the Great, and the many wives of King Henry VIII.  In this novel, she turns to Marie Antoinette, once Queen of France and victim of the French Revolution.  The story itself is richly told, from before her marriage to the Dauphin of France all the way to her final days.  If you enjoy history or are just looking for an incredible read, you will like this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Mediocre, at best

    Glorifies the French monarchy, which was oppressive and (underLouis XVI) inept. The revolutioaries were murderous and were rezponsible for years of horror. I'm zurethat Marie Antoinette wasn't as sympathetic as she'sdepicted here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Best book i ever read

    Amazing.. truly amazing. Please read you will not be dissapointed. Great emitional depth and character development. Hands down the best i have read and my official new favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    This is a work of highly fictionalized history, but I couldn't p

    This is a work of highly fictionalized history, but I couldn't put the book down. This was a fun read and got me interested in learning more about the actual history behind the story. I would definitely recommend this book and I look forward to reading it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Nadia

    Another great book that held my attention from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    highly recommended

    i loveeee history and marie is one of my favorites .this book put a new understanding to her and i loved it .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Enjoyable, educational

    I enjoy the story of Marie Antoinette, so I enjoyed this book a lot. It was suspenseful and was hard to put down. I read through it very quickly. We all know how it's going to end, but the meat of it was extremely detailed and kept my attention. I learned a lot about Marie Antoinette and how she must of felt at any given point in her life. I like how it is written in actual diary entries, it makes a fun and easy read. I would highly recommend this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    One of the Best Books I've Ever Read

    This book is one you won't be able to put down!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend!

    If you love history and don't mind that this is a true yet fictional story. What I mean is Marie Antionette never had a diary, however all the events in the book happened as they are described.

    I personally love this book-it is one of my favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    Loved it

    I very much enjoyed this book. This is one that I will keep and read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    Felt like it was Marie Antoinette talking

    Carolly Erickson's books are always great. She did an excellent job as usual describing Marie's feelings during her life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!!!

    The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette is my all time FAVORITE book!!! It's an amazing read! I just love the book and the author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting perspective...

    This book gives the reader a whole new perspective on a well-known character in history. While a novel, it makes the reader think of Marie Antoinette as more of a person with feelings and dreams, than just of a doomed character in history. While she may have made mistakes in her short life, she was still a young woman in a role of postion and influence. Most people are quick to judge and maybe not as aware of her insecurities as a woman. A very good and well written story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    marie antoinette

    I was a little dissapointed with the detail in this book. After reading some of the author's Tudor books I was expecting a more in depth historical account of marie antoinette's life, but it was all in all a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7