Customer Reviews for

Hidden Empire (Saga of Seven Suns Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Space Operas Live!

    There has been some chatter in the science-fiction reading community that space operas are disappearing from the genre's lanscape. HIDDEN EMPIRE by Kevin J. Anderson, THE SAGA OF SEVEN SONS, is a testament that it is not.

    The first book of THE SAGA of SEVEN SUNS; HIDDEN EMPIRE is a creation of a plausable world of characters and aliens existing in the twenty third century. Beginning with all the familiar trappings of day to day life, all the encompassing unseen politics having unwanted consequences that change unescapable destinies. Of course, technologies have changed. Transportation through galaxies, new solar systems discovered, planets explored and settled and new races of sentient beings to share the universe's resources.

    A universe of four cultures are slowly brought into mix and collide, some by chance others by intension. Humans that have gelled into a pseudo monarchy. The Lldirans, a declining empire, finding it hard to adapt to change, put their faith in diverse breeding within a limited gene pool. The Klikiss, an extinct civilization discovered by xeno-archaeologist on an abandoned planet that left a few mysterious functional Klikissoid robots behind. The Hydrogues thriving on countless gas-giant Jupiter like planets throughout the universe.

    You could say there is a fifth civilization that split from the humans monarchy, known as the Roamers. These people live in an unknown location within in an astriod city whose location is a guarded secret. They relish their independence and ingenuity. The Roamers have developed an economy through an agreement with the Lldirans for the exclusive rights to manufacture a rocket fuel called "ekti"

    THE SAGA OF SEVEN SUNS is a tesimonal history of the Lldirans, handed down through the centuries, recording their history to the present day. The saga is always being updated and read aloud by appointees called "REMEMBERERS".

    Anderson's first book of this saga entwines these civilizations into an inevitable conflict that could annihilate all. A plot built on a strong foundation should stand through the this series of seven books. I'm looking forward to having the rest of the series unfold into an outstanding example of a "Space Opera".

    Each chapter of the HIDDEN EMPIRE is devoted to one of the character's present actions within the story. Their past is slowly painted in as the chapters focus revolves around the characters. This technique may seem a little slow and tedious at first when introduced to the reader. But, I found that near the completion of the first book, a well constructed universe had been assembled within my mindseye. This giving me a marvelous world to escape into, while I savor the rest of the books (seven in all) of THE SAGA OF SEVEN SUNS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    New Empire to Explore

    Hidden Empire is fantastic! It is the first series I have really gotten into since Dune. I love all the characters, good & bad, are all delightful and entertaining. The scenes are accurately described and come to life for the reader almost effortlessly. I have read the first book twice now, and I am finally starting to continue in the series, which gets better with each page. I am amazed how seamless the multiple story plots flow together and keep me on the edge of each page. I have always loved Anderson¿s work, but this series is truly a stand alone epic. Cheers & enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    The prose is pedestrian, with dialogue that would be awkward eve

    The prose is pedestrian, with dialogue that would be awkward even in a YA series. The plot developments were predictable. The characters drew attention and sympathy, but were generally shallow and one-dimensional (as if everyone was wearing a white hat or black hat.) And the technology...if you appreciate hard science fiction, aspects of this book will be disappointing at best, and laughable at worst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    To many people

    Just can't get into it. Way to many people and names to keep track of who is who.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Awesome read

    Fun opening to a wonderful series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This giant sci-fi series is made up of seven novels and at least

    This giant sci-fi series is made up of seven novels and at least one short graphic novel prequel. I was drawn to it because the author co-wrote many of the later Dune books. I was hoping to find a similar type of story here. I haven’t decided yet if this saga will be as great for me as the Dune series, but it is an interesting start. The first book started kind of slowly for me. In part, because I allowed myself to be distracted by many other novels I was reading at the same time. Once I focused my attention more on the “Hidden Empire,” it took off for me. I really got into it and its potential. I have begun the second volume, and the graphic prequel. I still think this series might turn out to be greatly entertaining.
    Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel “To Be Chosen”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Long but not boriing

    I thought that I would become bored with the story because of the size of this book and series but so far it has been very entertaining and has held my attention. I am already through half of the second book of the series and still interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Slow, boring, predictable.

    Couldn't get myself to finish this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Great book!

    I am really liking this book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic

    I have read Mr. Anderson's Star Wars books and enjoyed them, but this is on a whole new level. A must read for fans of Epic Sci-Fi / Space Opera.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    Excellent series

    Great characters, fast paced multiple storylines. Series is 7 books long. I am only giving it 4stars because he couldve probably wrapped it up in 6.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    AWESOME

    Great writing, great saga

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    BETTER than Star Wars!

    Like Star Wars but with a sci-fi connection with earth...
    and not a galaxy far, far away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hidden Empire by Kevin J. Anderson

    The first book in the series, let it be the part of the roller coaster where the train of cars is hauled up the slope by the chain... soon to be dropped off a big steep cliff of a track. Get to know the characters in this book, you'll be following their lives through the rest of the saga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    will go for the full saga now

    a very fresh approach for a new SF universe. And a good reflection of some important human qualities

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    Hidden Empire

    I actually didn't get through this book because I found it too complicated. The plot was interestingish, but I was drowning in too many characters to understand the plot! Way too many characters were introduced too soon. There's no way I could've kept track of them and their stories without notecards! I'll probably get the book from the library to finish it, but I wouldn't buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    An Anderson Epic of Great Report

    Kevin J. Anderson has done it again, creating a deeply enthralling science fiction series that will leave the reader begging for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    Paid by the word

    I actually listened to the first three books of this series, and the story is interesting enough. However, I almost wish I had read the hardcopies so I could skip a good portion of each chapter. The recap at the beginning of the book is fine, but not a recap of each character every time the story gets back to them. If he thought it was that important to remember that Jess was a Roamer and had lost his brother and was in love with the Speaker, put that in a glossary - don't retell it every time Jess appears (and the same for every other character). Please assume I can either remember the characters story or am capable of rereading sections of the book if necessary. Then again, since he's probably paid by the word, understand that and keep it in mind - there's on ton of 'filler' that was probably cut and pasted verbatim from prior chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2005

    Wheel of Time....In Space

    I remember when I started reading the Wheel of Time Series. I was excited by the story, the characters, and the world in general. By book 10 I was frustrated and disappointed. Problem is, I felt that way about 3/4 of the way through Saga of the Seven Suns. I'm giving this book 2 stars because I'm in a bad mood today and I won't be picking up the the next book in the series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    The best of all worlds

    Keven Anderson has written books and comics for Star Wars, Star Trek, X-files, Predator, Dune, and some others, and with the saga of the seven suns, it is as if he has taken all the cool things from each of those, and put them into a big soup. This isn't a great literary treasure or anything, but the interesting races and worlds keep the pages turning. The only complaint is there is no main character, and the viewpoints keep changing every 2 pages(not an exaggeration, the chapters are 2 pages long on average)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4