Customer Reviews for

The Hidden Flame

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Vibrant Book

    Inspired by true accounts of early Christians, the followers of the Way of course being those who recognize Jesus as the Messiah, is a fiction book of events that quite possibly could have occurred during that time. Written both beautifully and demonstrably, Abigail is an impressive and brave woman. Bunn and Oke mix affection and knowledge, bereavement and awakening into a charming and memorable book that you can lose yourself in.

    I'm a big fan of historical fiction, especially those that are about the early church. I very much enjoy reading plausible stories of what may have happened during those times. Reading about the apostles and other Biblical people through Bunn's & Oke's words, as well as the characters imagined, was a bit like being there myself. In addition, I learned more about the culture at that time in history, adding to the knowledge I already had.

    Seeing that this is actually the second book in the 'Acts of Faith' series by Bunn & Oke (the first being The Centurion's Wife) I did not find myself confused in the least. This book is able to stand on its own, and seemingly has its own plot - obviously many of the characters are the same, but one is not left disconnected and honestly unless I had known there was another book in the series, would not have guessed there was a previous one penned. The Centurion's Wife is definitely on my to read list know as I found the characters in The Hidden Flame were both thoughtful and animated.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Hidden Flame

    Great sequal! Loved the first book and this one is just as good...can't wait to read the next book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    loved it even more than the first!

    I did not want to stop reading this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great read!

    The Hidden Flame takes you back in time to the early church. You can feel the heat of the day and the cobblestones under your feet as you walk through the streets of Jerusalem with Abagail. She is a quiet, unassuming, gentle lady who has two suitors vying for her hand in marriage. The history of the early church comes alive. You feel Abagail's joy and pain as she experiences celebration and hardships during the growth of the early church and the beginning of persecution of the followers of The Way. I love the way Bunn & Oke show the traditions and daily lives of the Jews using both fictional and Biblical characters.
    This narrative explores the lives of the early believers in ways I'd never thought of. Who were the families of Ananias and Sapphira? Were they angry at God and Peter for the death of the couple? What about Stephen's family? Were they proud of his sacrifice or confused by what God had asked of him? As the authors explore these questions in this fictional story, they present many truths and make the characters come alive.
    The Hidden Flame is the second in the Acts of Faith series. I haven't read the first book The Centurion's Wife but do plan to pick it up soon. However, it is not necessary to read the first in the series to be able to follow the story in this book. It was a book that was hard for me to put down. I'll be looking forward to reading more in this series!
    *Thank you to Bethany House for providing this book for me to review. All opinions expressed are mine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Ok..but...

    .....lagged

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Excellent Christian Fiction

    After many years of reading secular fiction, I wanted to read something that was better for my faith. I really enjoyed this book. I see my own struggles with my faith in that of the main character. I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Couldent put it down!

    Amazing book cant wait to read th third one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Great Series

    I loved this e-book. Go with the followers of Christ in this amazing journey of diciples. The road was paved with much joy, but to be a follower of Christ was not as easy as today, it was a road filled with trials and tribulations. I was sad when I had completed the three books, wish their could have been more books in the series. I will certainly read them again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Good reading

    It was a good book to read but I would have done a different ending, but Iknow there is another book so it might fit when I start to read it. Overall it is very good series to read and follows the bible very close.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    An interesting fictional view of what the every day life of the early church could have been.

    A delightful novel in every way!!I had a pretty good idea of what a regency story is, and assumed this would be just another historical novel with the typical ups and downs. However, the highlight of this book is that the author makes it all new and surprising, so enticing that it is very difficult to put down.
    Twists, intricacies, fears, hopes and discoveries are ever present; nothing is as I expected, and that is always refreshing; I even want to read it all over again - I do not want to miss any detail!! With rich descriptions of places, streets, busy kitchens, woods, gardens... it all becomes even better; one could relate the locations with different moods and times within the main plot. Besides that, the author uses citations from other books that help the reader understand the social role of governesses, as well as the proper behaviour she must conduct herself with; this enrichens the story even more, and has even put into a different perspective other books that have become a staple in literature.
    Lastly, I would like to comment that there are moments in which the characters have to make difficult choices, and the lessons learned invite us to see others with different eyes, with compassion and forgiveness, despite the consequences it may have for us. It is a rich story that I enjoyed reading very much and would not hesitate in recommending, even to those who are not drawn to this kind of stories.
    A free copy of the book was provided by Bethany House Publishing for review, but this did not bias my opinion at all; if I had not liked the book this much, I would say it as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Detailed Historical Accuracy Meets Engaging Characters In First Century Israel

    I grew up reading Janette's Prairie romances. I loved the epic family dramas and happy endings though I was too young to realize that in our modern society these were merely fantasies that would likely never come true. I still cherish some of the dreams those stories built in my imagination and enjoy escaping through story worlds as I read. Now Oke has joined with Davis Bunn in another collaborative series which has been above and beyond the expectations built by their earlier Song Of Acadia collaborations. This new Acts of Faith series is based off the early church in Israel as their numbers grow and persecution by Jewish and Roman authorities becomes increasingly rampant. The historical accuracy and detail weave a rich tapestry for fictional characters throughout this era of birth for Christianity. In the second installment, The Hidden Flame, Oke and Bunn bring us back to Jerusalem and the followers of the Way as Alban and Leah have fled for safety during the final moments of their marriage celebration. Abigail and Stephen become the central followers in this portion of the story as two outsiders vie for Abigail's heart though neither of them manages to capture it. Eventually Abigail and Stephen's paths intersect more closely through their service among the community of followers and the need to protect Abigail from these suitors who are not proper mates for a woman of faith. How will Abigail and Stephen view their arranged marriage and can they both survive the increasing persecution by the local authorities? Will the community also continue to thrive despite the scattering necessitated by that persecution? Thanks to Bethany House for a review copy. Don't forget to read Leah and Alban's story in The Centurion's Wife (Book 1).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Refreshing Biblical Account

    I awoke this morning eager to pick-up where I left off on the fourth CD of this 6 CD audio book. Bunn and Oke had me hovering in my kitchen thinking of more tasks that I could do just to stay near the audio drama brought to my ears.

    This is the second book of the Acts Of Faith series authored by Davis Bunn and Janette Oke. They have taken Biblical accounts found in the book of Acts and woven them together with the fiction of their imaginations to create a story that brings life into characters of old.

    Never before have I thought about how people must have spread rumors saying that Peter killed Ananias and Sapphira; or thought of how the women must have felt when treated with loving respect by transformed men.

    This audio book allows you to step back into time and use your imagination to be there when God shows His power through miracles and His peace through a martyr's death.

    The account of firm faith, deep betrayal, and overwhelming loss will keep you riveted and give you a great appreciation for what our Brothers and Sisters went through in the early years of the Church.

    * * * * *

    The original book is published by Bethany House a division of Baker Publishing Group. This audio copy for review has been provided by Oasis Audio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3