BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Hidden Man (Jason Kolarich Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

What a surprise

I happen to be at Barnes and Noble and Mr. Ellis was speaking to a group of people. I do not usually pick up thrillers, murder mysteries, or crime novels. I decided to give his book a try and I was pleasantly surprised. The characters are magnificent. The plot wasn't pr...
I happen to be at Barnes and Noble and Mr. Ellis was speaking to a group of people. I do not usually pick up thrillers, murder mysteries, or crime novels. I decided to give his book a try and I was pleasantly surprised. The characters are magnificent. The plot wasn't predictable. He doesn't go in to long, drawn out descriptions and really gets to the point. He created deep, powerful characters with few words. I was a bit disturbed by the premise of the story - a man murders the man who murdered his sister - but I found it to be very easy to read. I tried to get his other books, but they were not available in the store (I ordered online). This is an author to follow.

posted by 1896918 on September 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Hidden Writer

As much as I liked the plot of The Hidden Man, the writing disappointed me. The author writes in a very workmanlike fashion- one word follows another, but there is little artistry or cleverness of technique. He has an annoying habit of starting multiple sequential sente...
As much as I liked the plot of The Hidden Man, the writing disappointed me. The author writes in a very workmanlike fashion- one word follows another, but there is little artistry or cleverness of technique. He has an annoying habit of starting multiple sequential sentences with "I." So, my hopes are that he will produce something with the same good plot line, yet show a little more creativity in portraying it.

posted by KenCady on October 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2009

    What a surprise

    I happen to be at Barnes and Noble and Mr. Ellis was speaking to a group of people. I do not usually pick up thrillers, murder mysteries, or crime novels. I decided to give his book a try and I was pleasantly surprised. The characters are magnificent. The plot wasn't predictable. He doesn't go in to long, drawn out descriptions and really gets to the point. He created deep, powerful characters with few words. I was a bit disturbed by the premise of the story - a man murders the man who murdered his sister - but I found it to be very easy to read. I tried to get his other books, but they were not available in the store (I ordered online). This is an author to follow.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great thriller!

    Jason Kolarich,a troubled young criminal defense lawyer,is hired to defend
    his boyhood best friend on a murder charge.But the case goes much deeper,
    and Jason,a tough former football star,finds himself caught in a web of
    lies,betrayal,and violence.David Ellis has crafted one of the year's best thrillers,fast-paced and suspenseful,with a strong story,well-developed characters,and some nice twists.This is a terrific debut for a great new
    hero.Men,action fans,and thriller addicts will love it!More Jason Kolarich,David,please!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    UUUMAZING

    Okie let me get this out of my system while I still can, WOW!!!! That word alone basically cover's my review for this book. I had my doubts but as usual, I was wrong. This is a new series by David Ellis staring Jason Kolarich, a broken man who to top it all off is a lawyer. When Audrey, who was abducted twenty seven years ago, vanishes from her home, it left her family and close loved ones very distressed. The person who was presumably her murder was killed by non other than her older brother, Sammy, who also happens to be Jason's childhood best friend. The book was like riding a rollercoaster, each turn it took was unexpected and honestly left me in pure awe! The characters were phenomenal; you have the jock turned lawyer with the troubled past, the brother who's life is a little off balance and the oh so mysterious Smith, who's real name we don't even know. Throughout the novel I could feel myself connecting to Jason just because of his situation. All throughout high school, he was reffered as the star or the hero, when in reality he felt anything but. This novel is mostly written in Jason's point of view, with occasional shifts to third person from Smith's perspective (although it happens very little). This book was really beyond awesome! You should def check it out!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fast-paced and action-packed!

    Truth be told I bought The Hidden Man by David Ellis because a local bookstore was going out of business and they were having a great sale. It is the first book I've read by David Ellis, but it won't be the last. I enjoyed both his writing style and his down-to-earth dialogue. Action-packed from the beginning, David Ellis tells an intriguing story. Little Audrey Cutler is taken from her bed one summer night and that is the beginning of a downward spiral for her big brother Sammy. Jason Kolarich, Sammy's best friend, remembers that night as any child would. Now over 20 years later, Jason, an attorney, is forced to face the truth about his friend Sammy, the truth about his memories of that horrific night, and the truth about what lengths some people will go to hide a secret. Sometimes, it is a matter of life and death, but who lives and who dies is the question!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Good Read

    surprising ending

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great read

    I came across this book by chance and glad i gave it a try. Great thriller but also witty and humorous. You get to know jason throughout the story in way that adds to the overall story without distracting from it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Highly Recommended!!!

    A very good book to read, supenseful, a good plot!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1